We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we did a fair amount of tripadvisor research before deciding on this hotel. As usual a bit of balancing of feedback did the trick, most comments on this hotel are positive, mixed with a lesser amount of negative. So we went with the majority and feel we got it right, we were very pleased with our choice.
Sure it isn't 5 star but if that's what you want you need to go down the street a bit and spend much more money.
We got good value for money in our opinion, we had an oceanfront room on the 14th floor, the room was larger than many hotel rooms we've had, the bed was great and the view was expansive with no shortage of activities and scenery to take in both day and night.
The lift system was very good and we were happy with the breakfast experience, and while we never went down early we always got everything we wanted as the choices were constantly being restocked.
We walked to and up Diamond Head and back again, and visited the Memorial at Pearl Harbor twice, a very sad and moving experience but so well set out, a great tribute to all those brave souls.
We really enjoyed our 8 days here before moving on to Maui and would happily stay here again when we next return to Hawaii.
Mahalo to all the staff at the Aston.

Room Tip: While we didn't see inside any other rooms I would certainly book oceanfront again if and when w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Aloha and thank you so much for the great review! My goodness, you were able to do a lot when you were here. I agree, even as a local, the Arizona Memorial is a moving experience. We appreciate your staying here and look forward to your return.

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    1,076
    552
    184
    113
See reviews for
668
1,057
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The price and location of the hotel right on Waikiki beach it very good. The rooms are not very big but who really spends alot of time in their room while in Hawaii anyways? The room and hotel itself seemed to be clean throughout. If you plan on renting or parking a car at this hotel be prepared to pay $27 a day (plus tax) for their valet ONLY parking. The TIKI bar connected to the hotel was nice. Good food, drinks, and service. Prices high like anywhere there in Waikiki. The pool always seemed to be clean, but no hottub. The breakfast everymornig was nice, but after a couple of days had to go somewhere else because I got tired of pastries and bread. All in all it was a nice place to stay, just be prepared for the crazy parking prices.

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the beach / ocean get one of the higher rooms. Over the 10th floor. As th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Aloha and thank you for staying with us! We are grateful for your support. I wanted to take the opportunity to let you know about our parking. We charge $27 for valet parking, which is actually reasonable compared to the rates at other Kalakaua Avenue Hotels, which range from $30 - $35. At some of the other properties, self-parking is actually more than our valet.

We appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to your return!

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, VA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel was great. It's at one end of Waikiki and only steps from the beach and the Honolulu zoo. Easy walking distance to shops and restaurants.

The hotel room was small but comfortable. Had a fridge which was convenient. The lanai had a great view of the beach. You could watch surfers at surfer school in the distance, beautiful sunsets, and just enjoy the view.

The elevators only work with your room key. I never did figure out how to get down to the ground floor from my room. I always had to go to the lobby level and then take the escalator down the last flight. Not a big deal.

Breakfast was a normal continental. It's true that you take you blue cooler down, fill it up, and go on your way.

I walked to Diamondhead crater from the hotel...about a mile, then walked up the crater, then walked back. I might take a cab one way the next time, but it's really easy.

I'd stay here again easily.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers have a view of Waikiki, beach and sunset. Totally recommend it.Oceanview is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We sincerely appreciate your support. Glad you liked the elevator system, and there is a way to reach the ground floor without your key. Please ask us about it when you return. And I agree that our location and views are wonderful.

We look forward to your return visit!

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Lovely friendly hotel. Loved the lift system! Very safe ! Enjoyed meeting all the different holidaymakers during breakfast . The hotel location was as promised ... Next to the beach . Zoo just a short walk from hotel which was lovely ! Monkey chorus in the morning.
Enjoyed free wifi at breakfast .. Kept in touch with family!
Staff very friendly , the jewellery stall in the morning a lovely extra. My silver ring is beautiful.
The movie service is a great idea with plenty of choice.
All in all a perfect first trip to Hawaii.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are grateful you spent your valuable vacation time here. I am also delighted to hear that you like our new Amenity Fee - for only $10 per day, you receive High-speed Internet, In-room safe, unlimited DVDs and games through a PS3 Player, and toll-free and local calls. I believe its a great value!

We look forward to your return!

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Devon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was our first long haul trip and from collection by Super Shuttle at the airport to returning to LA for our conecting flight we had a truly fantastic experience. The decor is a bit dated but the rooms are clean and the bed were very comfortable. We were on the 6th floor just above the bar and we were not disturbed by the bar entertainment at night as this finished by midnight anyway, it was much cheaper to sit on the balcony enjoying the entertainment drinking our own drinks. The views were everything we expected and it is really useful to have the various takeaways underneath as eating out can be quite expensive. I was surprised about the amount of homeless along the main Waikiki Beach walk but they didn't trouble us at all. The ABC stores, of which there seems to be at least 1 every 5ooyds, operate a scheme where you save all your till receipts and if you reach a certain total you qualify for a free gift - the more you spend the better the gift!! The bus stop and Trolley stop is outside the hotel and not very expensive, the ding ding of the trolley buses do tend to disturb any mid day siesta's or lay ins but you soon get used to them and who wants to waste a moment in such a fabulous location as this. The hotel provide a cool bag to fill for your breakfast and also have a drinks machine in reception with tea, coffee or juice dependant on the time of day but there are not always cups available, we found it useful to take our own thermos cups so we can take back to the room safely. The lifts are slow at breakfast due to the amount of people taking their food back to the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Aloha and thank you for staying with us! I am glad that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to your return!

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The staff were very helpful and kind which went a long way to making our stay a good one.
We paid extra for a sea side room but the first room they gave us had black mildew spots on the ceiling. I get that it's sea side and this can happen but my husband has asthma so no way could we stay in this room. They were very courteous and changed our room right away. The new room was great but was on a lower floor so the canopy of the hotel entrance blocked the view, unfortunately there wasn't anything else available and we didn't feel like being very pushy so we just took it. It was just too bad because it wasn't worth it to pay extra in the end for sea side. Word of advice: if you're getting a sea side room make sure it's not on the low floors.
Despite this kinda rough start the rest of our stay was fantastic. The breakfast was really good (get there early!) which we often took in our little coolers (provided by the hotel) to eat on the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful at every opportunity (let us borrow towels after hours sometimes! we returned them I promise :) ). Their hospitality desk helped us book some super fun adventures on the island. The room we ended up with was very clean and comfortable. We were there for just over a week and it began to feel like home. We don't drive and this hotel was also at a really ideal location. There's a bus stop right in front that is serviced by numerous routes to take you anywhere you need to go (we even went to the North Shore). We did visit the zoo across the street which was fun. Despite it being a busy stretch of beach the snorkeling just out front of the hotel was really good. It was at the end of the busy strip so you feel like you're part of the action without being too overwhelmed by it. We also went to a lot of really nice restaurants that were all within easy walking distance. Although word of advice on restaurants: don't just go into one, research it first, all the ones we just checked out at the spur of the moment were real stinkers. The Japanese restaurant right at the hotel, Yoshitsune was amazing, we ate there every day. The Aston's restaurant was really good too actually and we enjoyed the nightly entertainment. The pool was nice but we never bothered with it since the beach was right there! Thanks Aston for making our honeymoon unforgettable.

Room Tip: For Sea Side pick a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the first room that you encountered. We would like to follow-up, so if you have a chance, could you please contact me at the hotel and let me know your room and dates of stay?

I am so happy that everything else went well. Congratulations on your marriage, and I look forward to your return!

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Spent three nights at the Aston in early April 2012. The location is quite nice with a great body boarding beach right across the street. The hotel was overall quite nice but the room we had was an ocean front room and it was the smallest room I've ever had for 4 people- the view was fabulous though the balcony was tiny. Barely room for two people. The beds were full size beds, not queens. The worst part was the bathroom had no horizontal surface to set anything on other than the back of the toilet. Try putting in contacts or make-up or otherwise.

The breakfast in the morning was just okay. Waffles and omelets were extra- just carbs were included- no protein other than yogurt. No wireless except on the second floor pool deck. Pool was very cold but since you are in Hawaii, we spent 95% of our time on the beach!

Overall it was a decent value, but we couldn't wait to get to a bigger room. Strange elevators too- you never punch a button for a floor in the vator. You waive your room card in frotnt and tell it what floor and then it schedules and tells you what elevator to get on. Worked great until it got really busy and then it was a mess.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.