We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for honeymooners or anyone who is looking for value for their money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Darwin, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not for honeymooners or anyone who is looking for value for their money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Me and my partner booked honeymoon trip to Hawaii for 13 days and stayed in the Aston Waikiki Beach hotel. Booked the Ocean Front room. We had especially informed the hotel in our a booking information that we are on our honeymoon and I was expecting a bottle of sparkling or something nice in the room. Called down to the reception and asked if they got the message and they said we don't do bottles of sparkling but we have a box of cookies we give to the honeymooners but absolutely too busy to bring it up..:( Ended up not receiving the cookies. Next thing what we had been looking forward to was the pool (looking gorgeous in the hotel's website) but noticed there was no sun shining to the whole deck area until around sunset for an hour or so. So we didn't even bother swimming in the cold pool with crappy looking deck chairs, again which were not looking like that in the Website photos! Breakfast is not worth the thought of 'free breakfast included" and is served until 8.30 when the sun is not even out yet, and people are on their holidays and would like to sleep in.
It was not what we expected for the price paid and would not recommend especially for honeymooners.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. I am sorry and disappointed to hear that you were not impressed with your stay here. Regarding the honeymoon amenity - we have so many guests that do not consume alchohol, that we decided to go with sweets instead. I am sorry that did not seem to meet your expectations, and further if you did not receive the amenity at all, its totally our fault. Any one of our Front Office Staff can run the amenity upstairs at any time, and we normally have Bell Staff available as well.

The Pool Deck begins to receive direct summer sun at approximately 10am. The sun is out until approximately 6:30pm in the evening during summer, and the sun rises at approximately 6:30am. While our pool chairs were not purchased this year, they are in good shape as well.

We have numerous guests that line-up for breakfast when we open. We understand that with the jet lag, most visitors are operating on time zones other than Hawaii time.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review us and we certainly hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    1,075
    552
    184
    113
See reviews for
668
1,056
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lincs, England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I took my husband to Hawaii for his 5-0 birthday. This hotel was in an excellent location at the end of Waikiki near the park and zoo. Close to bars, restaurants, shops etc but not in the thick of it.
we had an ocean front room, if you are travelling to one of the most famous beaches in the world, splash out an have an ocean front view. Our room was 1232 and on check in we had the choice of this one on a higher floor with 2 double beds or a lower floor with a kingsize. The helpful lady on reception offered to change our room the next day to a high floor/kingsize but once we got to the room we decided to stay where we were. The room was a good size altho the bathroom was rather small but I dont know about you I dont travel to the other side of the world to spend a great deal of time in the bathroom! Mini fridge was good for keeping my wine cold! Balcony was big enough for a chair and table but would have been better to ditch the table and have 2 chairs to sit and watch the sun set romantically!
I had read the reviews on here and the thing that stood out was the Yanks moaning about the lifts. What's the problem? I thought they were very effiecient. When in the lobby you swipe your room key against the lift and type in your floor number, the display then tells you which lift to take. This ensures that you dont end up in a lift that stops at ever floor. When going down to the lobby to just press the star key and the same thing happens.
Coolbag provided for breakfast which is served around the pool. An earlier poster mentioned that you were only allowed to go in once but this was not the case when we were there. There were rolls, croissants, pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, juices and hot drinks on offer every day. Pool area got rather busy at breakfast time and it was sometimes difficult to find somewhere to sit.
There was a bank of computers for those people who cant switch off and have a proper holiday and a couple of kiosks where you could book tours. A small shop downstairs at street level and a seating area. Pool was small but when the Pacific ocean is across the street i dont see that as a problem. Pool area also provided towels.
While in Hawaii we did a seaplane tour of the island (v good) we visited Pearl Harbour (had to be done but standing over the Arizona was disappointing - expected to be able to see more) a day trip to Big Island (we went with Roberts - if you have to visit Big Island (ugly huge lump of lava) book your own flight and hire a car. We were on the bus for ages and made stupid stops at places like a chocolate factory and whizzed past beautiful beaches and waterfalls) We took the green trolley tour which does a loop of Diamond Head. The driver gives you 5 mins to take pics if you dont want to get off for a proper look around. LOTS of shopping - (Waikele outlet was excellent value you can get a bus from DFS for $5, Ala moa shopping centre also good but not set out as "user friendly" way as Waikele, dont bother with shopping centre up near Diamond Head - not much there)
We had a lovely time and would reccommend this hotel to friends. Dont think we will be back tho - the travelling is a nightmare from the UK.

Room Tip: Make sure you book ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Aloha and thank you for staying with us! We look forward to your return.

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Comfy bed, free braodband and good food served with a smile

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for the positive review , and certainly thank you for staying with us! I hope that you will stay with us again, and let us know if you wish to be away from the music. We will place you on the Diamond Head side of the property.

Aloha,

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011 via mobile

I was a little hesitant about staying here after reading some of the negative critiques, but I decided to book a reservation for 7 nights anyways. I couldn't resist the price and the location. I booked an ocean front room and requested a high floor. I must say I was very pleasantly surprised with
everything. The location is superb, the view is outstanding and the staff is friendly. Check-in was fast and easy. The elevators are pretty easy to figure out(it ain't rocket science). You just scan your keycard
before you get to the elevators and it tells you which elevator to take. It's that simple and very efficient.
The free breakfast offers a huge selection of pastries, fresh fruit, juices(guava, pineapple,etc), yogurts, rice and miso soup, plus they have a waffle/ omelette station
for a charge. The tote they give you a check-in is large enough to stuff many food items in. And although it seemed overwhelming with so many other people they had more than enough for everyone. It helps to get there early to save a table. I ordered a refrigerator for the room and it was well worth it.
The room was big enough for two as was the balcony. I usually stay at the Hilton, but without a doubt I will be staying at the Aston Waikiki on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilmar, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This was my first trip to Hawaii. My overall impression of the hotel was good. Clean room, beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean. However, our room was 4 stories above the hotel's nightclub. Loud music pulsed into our room until about 11 pm every night. After a long very busy day with small kids we really could have used some peace at that time of night. Although the beach is within walking distance, mostly the area is known for shopping/tourist traps. Next time I will stay somewhere quieter, where I can enjoy the peaceful nature of Hawaii.

Room Tip: Not above the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

The check-in was very quick and the room had an awesome view. We had a great view from the balcony as well as from the front of the room.
Breakfast was included in the rate and it seemed to be very popular with people lining up by 530-6am. People were eating by the poolside as well as taking the breakfast to-go. There are some nice eateries just walking distance from this hotel. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Aloha and thank you for staying with us! Hope to see you again soon.

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin3
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Aston is at the end of the strip of hotels on Waikiki, but since the strip isn't that long, you're only a short stroll from everything. If you can get a room with an ocean view, do it, as it is worth being able to sit on your lanai, and listen to the ocean in the morning (at night yoou'll most likely hear the music from the hotel patio bar).
The hotel is across from the beach, and they provide chairs and towels starting at 6:30am. There is also the cooler bag that comes with your room for "Breakfast on th Beach", a really great idea. You can stock up at the continental breakfast, then head across the street to start your day! The hotel also has a small pool, which we didn't use, but always seemed to be crowded by the afternoon.
Oh, the breakfast is my only gripe. While the selection was decent, the coffee was standard hotel watered-down fare. Terribly disappointing. Don't know what I was thinking; expecting to get good coffee. Not like I was in Hawaii!!
Other than that, a great place to stay while in Waikiki.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDemello, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Aloha and thank you for staying with us! I understand your comment about the coffee at Breakfast on the Beach. We have diversified our offerings with flavored coffees - vanilla macadamia nut, and toasted coconut as well as kona coffee. We have met with negative comments when we tried to brew it darker, however. We certainly hope that you will be returning to our hotel soon!

Mark Demello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel

Address: 2570 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 645
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking one of the world's most renowned beaches, the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel provides an oceanfront experience at surprisingly accommodating rates. The Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel is the ideal vacation headquarters for couples, families (children stay free) and groups seeking the ultimate Hawaiian experience. The vast majority of our 644 guest rooms offer a private lanai and stunning full or partial ocean views. Diamond Head rises majestically on one side of the hotel, while legendary Waikiki Beach stretches out from the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Beach Hotel
Aston Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Beach Hotel
Resortquest Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii
Aston Hotel Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.