We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kitchenette ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Pacific Monarch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Pacific Monarch to your Saves list
Aqua Pacific Monarch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2427 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aston Pacific Monarch) (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% in 2015!
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best kitchenette ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I just finished a "stay-cation" here and really had a good time. Everything in Waikiki was within walking distance and if you are a local, the scent of Korean BBQ across the street will just make your stay better. Spa and pool were great, surpassed only by the view from the pool deck at sunset. If you like to cook a little to save money, this unit had the best equipped kitchenette I have ever seen. You can cook almost any meal with what this little kitchen has; just no baking :) We were right next to the elevator but never heard a sound from the hall or elevator.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    81
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
72
45
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

An error in arrival date forced us to look for another hotel that could accomodate my family from April 19-28, 2015. The search led us to this hotel which is nearer to the beach than the first one who could not accomodate our request of an earlier arrival date.
Aside from a weak AC unit in our room, everything else is A-okay from the time of our arrival with the hospitality and friendly smiles of the hotel staff. Danny, Maria, Cherlotta, and the housekeeping staff were very accomodating and helpful. Will definitely return for another stay based on this very nice and warm experience.. Aloha!!
Btw, the first hotel charged us a day even though the cancellation fell within their "free cancellation period". For the record and in fairness, we cancelled because they could not accomodate us arriving a day earlier of the booking date.

Room Tip: choose one on the upper floors at the corner facing both the ocean and city/mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is the 2nd time we stayed at the Pacific Monarch and we chose this hotel for our 2nd trip because we were very pleased on our first stay. We had friends stay at this hotel with us this time based on our first recommendation and they were impressed as well. The employees are very friendly and go out of their way to assist. It nice to hear "Aloha" with a smile every time you enter the lobby. The roof top pool provides amazing views in all directions. The hospitality room is a fantastic surprise when compared to other hotels' hospitality rooms.

I had family staying in another hotel close by and they paid more $/night, their rooms were outdated and the hospitality room ended up being half the size of their room with a couch & bathroom...while ours was half of the floor with windows all around, large couch with 2 chairs, large tv, several sets of table & chairs as well as 2 bathrooms and a separate shower...no comparison!! (especially if your flight doesn't leave until the evening). Once a week, the hotel has a Manage's reception in the hospitality room where you get a chance to talk to other guests and staff and enjoy a drink with munchies.

Our room had a little kitchenette which worked out great for snacks & lunches. Even though there isn't a restaurant in the hotel, it's located just a couple of blocks from the main street where most of the restaurants and shops are. The location is just far enough from the action for peace & quiet but close enough to the action for access quickly at any time.

We are already planning another trip to Hawaii and plan on staying at the Pacific Monarch again! It's not a 5 star hotel with a restaurant & spa...but it is clean, has a great location, the staff is the best, the price is competitive and when you really think about it...how much time are you going to spend in your hotel room in Waikiki compared to the time you are going spend out on the beach enjoying the fantastic weather? Save all your money for shopping and excursions

Room Tip: ask for a room on the court side...it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You are greeted by friendly smiles and an overwhelming response from staff to meet your needs as soon as you step inside the hotel. Every staff member acknowledged your presence daily and the service from all staff was exceptional. It is a home away from home where the staff became part of your family. The rooms were comfortable and spacious and cleaned to a very high standard. The location was central to all amenities and you never had to walk a far distance to get to where you needed to be. The beach was a hop, skip and a jump away...very handy indeed. Free shuttles were provided to take you to the shopping mall and the shuttle drivers were very friendly and helpful. I will never forget how my soul felt when I left this place...replenished and vitalised by the powerful energy of aloha that surrounded me while being there. I also felt saddened when we left and was so grateful to Raymond Yoshimura (guest services manager) and Kauika (Aquarium Monitor, Luggage Handler, Reception etc) for saying goodbye while our shuttle left and waving to us as we were leaving. The experience I had there was magical and empowering. Thank you Aqua Pacific Monarch

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelsManager, Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha!

Thank you for staying at the Pacific Monarch Hotel. We appreciate your kind words on the hotel and our staff. I am truly delighted that you had an enjoyable time. The aloha spirit is very important to us at the Pacific Monarch so we want everyone to feel at home.

I am glad Raymond and Kuaika was able to see you folks off. Please visit us again when you're ever in the islands.

If there is anything we can do to assist you in the future, please feel free to give us a call.

Mahalo,
Sandra Hashimoto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua District, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The true value of a hotel is the "experience" while you are there and the staff without exception demonstrate "aloha" every day. We could not recommend this hotel enough from the check-in to the free Aqua shuttle drivers, the manager and the managers reception, the front desk staff to our cleaners, it is the holiday experience you never want to end! Great location and the rooms themselves were exactly like the pictures not that we spent a whole lot of time in there!
At the risk of missing someone out we have to say a special thanks to Uncle Raymond, Koaika and Danny who were always there to save the day with a million dollar smile and always a helping hand. These people are golden!
Nga mihi aroha ki nga kaimahi o Aqua Pacific Monarch.
Aloha, a hui ho!
The Maori girls from the land of the long white cloud...Aotearoa New Zealand xox

Room Tip: I guess the higher floors have the better views and less street noise but if you are there to experi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelsManager, Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha!

Thank you for staying at the Pacific Monarch Hotel. We appreciate your review and the nice comments on the hotel and the staff. I actually remember you folks. The 3 of you came to our Managers Reception and it seemed like you folks had a really good time. If there is anything we can do for you in the future, please don't hesitate in giving us a call.

Mahalo,
Sandra Hashimoto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's been 24 years since I was last in Hawaii and booking a hotel was a little scary not knowing what we were going to get. Well we got exactly what we saw in the photos plus more and the view from our 26th floor apartment was breathtaking, ocean, city and mountain views all from the one lanai. The complex was clean, our room was nice and really close to the beach and shops. The rooftop pool and spa was a hit with the kids and us big kids also although of course the actual beach is the best thing about Waikiki, oh and the shopping. Some good food places around and also some bad. We liked the California Pizza Kitchen and would highly recommend. Don't bother with La Cucaracha which is just across the road from Pacific Monarch as the food is appalling. We are having a fabulous holiday. Can't wait for Germaines Laua tomorrow night.

Room Tip: Get a floor above 21 with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelsManager, Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha!

Thank you for staying at the Pacific Monarch Hotel and for the kind words on our hotel. After 24 years, I am glad you took a chance and chose the Pacific Monarch for your hotel. The location of the hotel cannot be beat since it's only a few minute walk to the beach itself. I'm glad you folks enjoyed the rooftop pool. The view is amazing up there.

We appreciate your feedback and if there is anything we can do for you, please feel free to give us a call.

Mahalo,
Sandra Hashimoto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here 7 years ago with 2 kids aged 11 and 9 and I'm so glad we returned last month for 10 days with the kids aged 18 and 16.We have been back to Waikiki 4 times in between and the Pacific Monarch is right up there with the best of them.A hidden gem 2 streets back from the main part of Waikiki beach ( Dukes Statue ) behind the Hyatt.5 minute easy walk to the beach.I booked direct with Raymond and got exactly what I asked for as Ive stayed before-a 1 bedroom kitchenette ocean view on a high floor.Rooms clean,spacious and well maintained.Daniel on reception was so nice.Nothing was a problem.Everyone very attentive.Cheaper resort fee than others and wi fi not a problem.3 lifts all very fast.Nice roof top pool and spa.There is no gym.Seroiusly you cannot go wrong with this Hotel.Highly highly recomemmended.Cant wait to r

Room Tip: As everyone says,pay a little extra for a ocean view.Views from every part of the room.Yes,corner su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaHotelsManager, Manager at Aqua Pacific Monarch, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha!

Thank you for staying at the Pacific Monarch Hotel and for the kind review on our property and the staff. We appreciate you coming back to stay with us. I'm glad Raymond was able to assist you with your reservation. Feel free to call on us if we can be of any future assistance.
We appreciate all of your feedback and hope to see you folks again.

Mahalo,
Sandra Hashimoto
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Pacific Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pacific Monarch

Address: 2427 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aston Pacific Monarch)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Pacific Monarch 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki, the renovated Aqua Pacific Monarch is located just 2 short blocks to world-famous Waikiki Beach and steps to the area's best shopping, dining, and nightlife. The hotel features spacious studios and one-bedroom suites, a restaurant, rooftop pool, jet spa, sauna, sundeck and coin-operated laundry facilities. Aqua Pacific Monarch embodies true convenience for beach life. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Pacific Monarch allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, each room comes with a mini-refrigerator, microwave, kitchenette with granite countertop and stovetops, and 32-inch LCDTVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Aqua Pacific Monarch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Pacific Monarch Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Pacific Monarch
Resortquest Pacific Monarch Honolulu
Pacific Monarch Hawaii
Resort Quest Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Pacific Monarch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.