We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Pacific Monarch

Save Saved
You added Aqua Pacific Monarch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Pacific Monarch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2427 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aston Pacific Monarch) (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 10%
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Last minute booking...didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised. Rented a corner unit that had a balcony table and chairs which was really nice .. Had meals there. The one bedroom was not huge but with 2 kids we made it work. Clean and close to the beach. Good rental

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    54
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at the Aqua Pacific and found the staff, rooms and service all excellent. We had an ocean view room which gave us just that, a great view of the beach with a welcomed breeze each day. A 2 min walk to the beach, shops and transport made our stay very enjoyable. I Would stay here again.

Room Tip: The ocean view was well with it and the view from the roof gave you a good view of the size of Waiki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I did a staycation over Labor Day weekend and had no issues. I read a lot of the reviews and I agree that the AC is not the greatest. I had a West facing room so I got the afternoon sun. I kept my curtains closed during the day and the AC on high in the afternoon, and low at night with the ceiling fan running constantly and the room was very tolerable. The room was very clean and did not have any strange smells. The kitchenette was great, complete with plates, silverware, pots & pans, coffee maker, corkscrew, etc. The fridge is small, but perfect for a short stay. There is a PS4 as well, I didn't use it, but I thought it was a great touch for those who have kids. The room was spacious with a couch on one end, a table with four chairs in the middle and two single beds on the opposite end. A desk and chair with swivel flatscreen TV. There is also a dresser for clothes. The people across the hall from me blasted their TV, but I was only able to hear it when I went onto the hall. With the AC running, I heard very little going on outside or around me and was able to sleep very well. The lanai is very narrow, but in the winter months it would be great to open the giant glass doors and just sit an enjoy the breeze. The pool is on the top floor and there is a spectacular view and breeze. There is also a nice room to relax just one floor below with a big screen TV, tables, and couches which also has a great breeze.

The only negative is the AC is a floor level, not ceiling level so it is hard to get the cool air to circulate (and it blasted the bed closest to it) and I had a room with twin beds (although I used Hotwire and did not specifically request double/queen/kind).

If you use a 3rd party (IE Hotwire, Expedia, etc) to book the room, pay close attention to your charges. The desk clerk wasn't aware that I had already paid at the time of booking and almost charged me again. No biggie, just something to know about.

The location is amazing. You are one street back from the Waikiki Strip. Literally a 5 min walk to the beach. There are places to eat, shop, party, and walk all around you.

Room Tip: Choose a high up, non-East facing room (no morning sun/less street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in August and must say the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room wasn't ready on arrival however there was an oceanview room that was available and we could be upgraded to that for an extra $20 per night plus taxes which we agreed to. We were on the 27th floor - very high but the view was amazing - could see out to the ocean. This resort has been refurbished and we found the room to be very nice and the bed was super comfy. Great location. The only negatives I would say would be the air con was quite old and noisy to try and sleep and the lift was slow. I would stay here again and is very affordable.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the Diamond Head side high up so you get a good view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we chose the aqua pacific monarch mainly for location, one stone throw away from Kuhio beach, 3 minutes distance from Duke's statue. The hotel is just behind the Hyatt, on the higher floors it definitely has the same view as the hyatt... with a totally different and more approachable budget. we had a "1bedroom ocean view & kitchen" on the 31st floor, it was supposed to be renovated, the furniture in the room and kitchen looked new enough but the bathroom not at all... but all amenities were there, wifi, beach towels etc. I think that it is a fantastic location and an ok hotel to be for somebody who wants to stay in waikiki.

Room Tip: definitely the high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were there for almost 2 weeks in July 2014. The room felt cramped; we didn't feel they maximized the best use of their space. The A/C in our room didn't work very well, so we sweat all night and all day. The A/C leaked water all over our stuff. We used our bath towels they gave us to clean up the mess. We called the front desk to replenish the towels. they brought us wash cloths and hand towels. They made our beds every day, but rarely cleaned. The floor was always filthy, bathroom and bathtub filthy before we arrived and it stayed that way throughout our trip. We had to ask for coffee replenishment every day b/c they didn't refill it when they "cleaned" our room.
The fire alarms went off at 3:00 AM frequently. They also went off during the day, but that was less troublesome. But, like the "boy who cried wolf", if there was really a fire, I don't think I'd leave b/c I've gotten used to the fire alarms going off.
The housekeeping staff was very friendly when we'd see them in the hall. The front desk was less than friendly. They acted like they didn't have time for us. once when I went down to tell them their washers took more money than is advertized on the washer she shrugged me off. I told her they should put a sign on them so people know to bring more money (b/c there's not a change machine where the laundry facilities are).
Parking garage was a bit small, and hard to get through if there is more than one car trying to park or coming in opposite directions. be careful because they WILL tow.
The pool and upstairs meeting room was pretty nice! We didn't use these areas though, because we stayed so busy.
The hotel is only a few blocks from the zoo and a few blocks from the beach, so the location was nice. (besides the police having to shoot someone half block away.)
All in all, if I had to do it all over again, I probably would NOT stay here. It was reasonably priced, but I think I'd pay just a tad bit more for a better hotel and better service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and I love the central location. Rooms were a great size with a kitchenette. The view from the rooftop pool is one of the best in waikiki. Staff were very helpful and polite. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the city side of the building to avoid the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Pacific Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Pacific Monarch

Address: 2427 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aston Pacific Monarch)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Pacific Monarch 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki, the renovated Aqua Pacific Monarch is located just 2 short blocks to world-famous Waikiki Beach and steps to the area's best shopping, dining, and nightlife. The hotel features spacious studios and one-bedroom suites, a restaurant, rooftop pool, jet spa, sauna, sundeck and coin-operated laundry facilities. Aqua Pacific Monarch embodies true convenience for beach life. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Pacific Monarch allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, each room comes with a mini-refrigerator, microwave, kitchenette with granite countertop and stovetops, and 32-inch LCDTVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Aqua Pacific Monarch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Pacific Monarch Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Honolulu
Aston Hotel Pacific Monarch
Resortquest Pacific Monarch Honolulu
Pacific Monarch Hawaii
Resort Quest Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Pacific Monarch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.