We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Very Good than Average.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Pearl

Save Saved
You added Aqua Waikiki Pearl to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Nahua Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #36 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“More Very Good than Average.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Make sure you ask for a room with a balcony, although watch out for the pigeon poop. We stayed once on the way to the US and once on the way home. Rooms were clean and comfortable but maybe a little dated. Position - excellent. Price - taking into account that they charged us for each night separately (4 nights & we prepaid) and therefore we had a ridiculous amount of credit card exchange fees not counting the ridiculous transient accommodation taxes that should be built in, the price was okay. The boys on the desk were always friendly and helpful. Internet was good. There is no pool and for anyone who likes a cup of tea take your own travel kettle. Watermelon water at reception was great and for those who like coffee that's also served at reception in the mornings.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room which is a Junior Suite. We were upgraded from a standard, non balcony room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    358
    137
    36
    27
See reviews for
246
249
91
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

First and foremost the most enjoyable part of our stay was by far the outstanding staff we interacted with while we were there. Dexter, Ese and Harry handled all of our needs and questions with a courteous smile and great service.

As is the case with most Waikiki hotels, this is an older building but it seems management has done a decent job at keeping things updated and clean. We were in a 3 bedroom suite on the top floor and had no issues with noise from below or neighbors. Both elevators were running and we never had to wait more than a minute for one to arrive.

Our room was well kept and clean overall. The room featured a full size fridge, stove top, microwave and TV in the living room as well as two of the three bedrooms. There were two bathrooms; one in the "master" bedroom and the other in between the two smaller bedrooms (a Jack and Jill type setup). Overall the room was more than adequate for our needs however we had four minor issues with our room/stay:

1. The sliding glass door going out to the balcony did not have any type of childproof mechanism
2. The room only had place settings for four people instead of the max occupancy of the room
3. The wifi access in our room spotty at best
4. There are a very limited number of parking spots onsite (22 if memory serves me correctly)

The parking issue has been discussed at length so we knew that well in advance and parked in another location for our stay. I was glad to see both elevators were working for our visit and the location just a few blocks from the beach was fantastic. Overall things were more than adequate for our stay. The room more than met our needs and the staff we interacted with were all courteous and gave us the impression they really cared about our experience at their hotel. We would not hesitate to stay at the Aqua Waikiki Pearl again in the future.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for an upper room as many others have suggested. There is a small bar at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Upon arrival the front desk was excellent, both friendly and helpful. This great service continued on throughout the stay. They helped with the tour confirmations and were always great when we had questions. The free beach towel loans and free wifi were nice touches.

The location was great we could walk to everything which helped with all the great food we ate. There are a couple of coffee shops within minutes to grab something quick for breakfast before tours and the trolley stops are just around the corner.

The room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom had plenty of space and the bed was really comfortable.

The only little issues we had were that one day we received sheets with a small tear, the air conditioner was a little loud and the balconies from a neighbouring hotel look straight into the room. These little problems were not enough to offset all of its great points.

We would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a great value comfortable room in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were recent guests of the Aqua Waikiki Pearl. Our stay was very enjoyable and we wanted to recognize two specific employees – Robert Helsham and Dexter Tuigiamala.

Both Robert and Dexter went above and beyond their regular responsibilities to make us comfortable during our stay. They made suggestions about local restaurants and activities, printed maps to all of the locations, had extra towels delivered to our room and greeted us with warm conversation each time we entered and exited the hotel.

A lovely, clean, affordable hotel with wonderful employees that made the vacation awesome!

Room Tip: The second floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel offered great value and location for the money. It's located 10 min walk from the beach and 1/2 block off of the main strip in Waikiki. Harry and the front desk staff were great during check in and check out. They gave us an upgrade and the room was very spacious. The WiFi also worked well in the room and was FREE! I look forward to returning to Waikiki soon and will definitely stay at the Aqua Pearl!

Room Tip: Hopefully you're offered an upgrade too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place is fabulous. The staff are so friendly and welcoming. The rates are really reasonable and it is just a few blocks from the beach. The room was clean and very modern. The shower had great pressure. the beds were very comfortable and had great clean and fresh linen. There is a carpark but you have to pay so we found parking on the street.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel has no great view from the second floor but puts you smack in Waikiki. You can walk to everything. Paid Parking is limited on site and on a first come first serve basis. The offsite parking available is an inconvenience. The bed linens I checked as soon as I got in. They were clean and no evidence of bugs. Great. I left to see family. Came back late and found out that my carpet was really filthy. Had white paper slippers I use to go through airport security in my bag and they were black in about two minutes. I did bring all my issues to management and they responded quickly and appropriately and have also offered me a free upgrade if I choose to stay again. Apparently they are in the process of upgrading the rooms. I hope so because the view may not be great but the staff really is and the location is great. I think from the swift response I received (a few hours from my email) that they will address the issues. The fact that they responded so quickly and have such a well trained staff tells me they are moving in the correct direction. Would I stay again? I am not sure. Some rooms do show "recently upgraded" on the website. I have had a pleasant stay in an Aqua resort before. We shall see. I'll let you all know what happens here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Waikiki Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Pearl

Address: 415 Nahua Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Waikiki Pearl 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Waikiki Pearl is a renovated mid-rise hotel tucked into the heart of Waikiki. This location showcases the vibrant city, near shops and restaurants. Located just 2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, this comfortable hotel offers spacious accommodations, large balconies in most rooms, a refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffeemaker with full kitchens in suites. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Waikiki Pearl allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy the on-site sports bar, Legends, with multi-screen TV's, as well as various retail shops and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel Honolulu
Aston Honolulu Prince Hotel
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.