We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under rated hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Pearl

Save Saved
You added Aqua Waikiki Pearl to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Nahua Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #40 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Under rated hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were travelling as a group for a roller hockey tournament so my expectations were not high as it was a "budget" hotel. We arrived very early (too early to check in) but Harry gave us a parking permit and a great recommendation for breakfast. We returned to the hotel about 12:00pm to find our room ready with everything we needed to freshen up. The rest of the stay was great with all staff friendly and obliging. This hotel is only 5 minutes from the beach, has a convenience store across the road and is great value for money. For anyone with allergies (my youngest has a peanut allergy) we can strongly recommend Chillis (around the corner).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    364
    135
    39
    27
See reviews for
252
256
92
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Brought back memories of 1970s beach holidays in Australia with my parents. Really to stay here is to take a step back in time, when hotels had bigger rooms, all outdoor corridors, no pools, simple lobbies, simple decor, a slightly shabby appearance - when the world was a simpler place.

Let me say the hotel is none the worse for its plain presentation. Staff are very obliging, we were upgraded into a large two roomed apartment, albeit with a rather peculiar layout, perhaps courtesy of the fact that this hotel used to be an apartment block, before it was converted into a hotel about 10 years ago. The location is very convenient, the rooms were large, it was quiet and good value for money.

It felt comfortable, like a favourite pair of slip-on shoes.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview NB Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We came to the Waikiki Pearl to move from our original accommodation plan.Our over all experience was very positive with a few minor exceptions.

The staff on the front desk,Harry on days and the night representatives were quick efficient and direct even when they were not able to do all we asked. They were always happy and pleasant.

The cleaning were flexible and saw that our room was proper.Louellen and the staff treated us well.
The location is in central Waikiki with a very active night life which added to the night time and morning noise.These issues are beyond the control of the management and staff.
If you wish 24 hour silence another area of the city might be more appropriate. On the other hand if you want to be in a secure place in the close to everything that makes Waikiki a place to be, at a reasonable price, the Aqua Waikiki Pearl, is worth a serious look..

Room Tip: No restaurant or pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was travelling alone and with a mobility scooter, and found this hotel perfect for me. It was easy to get to and from my room with the scooter and I found the staff very helpful. My room was large with a fridge and microwave which was great. It is in a great position, close to everything- International Marketplace, Starbucks, Dennys, Food Pantry (supermarket) as well as public transport and shops and beach. The airconditioner was noisy but I just turned it off because the weather wasn't too hot. There was a bit of noise from other guests running excitedly along the corridor but that was fine too! I found all the staff really helpful and enjoyed the breakfast and afternoon snacks(if i was there at those times) provided in the foyer. I really enjoyed my stay and thought it was great value for money - I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Pros:
Spacious room. Comfortable beds. Maid service was very good. Location - 1 block away from the Food Pantry and few other good restaurants. Just a 5 minute walk to waikiki beach. Major bus stop 1 min down the street on Kuhio. Friendly and helpful desk clerks. Internet (wi-fi) was O.K. and the speed was reasonable.

Cons:
The A/C was a bit louder then I would prefer. View from hotel room is either facing parking lot or the street with another hotel. You will probably end by closing curtains as you don't want to be watched.

The main problem is noise. If you are sensitive to loud sounds at night, stay away from this hotel. Soundproofing is definitely required!

Conclusion: We got very good price (100$/night) so I shouldn't be complaining too much. If you don't plan to stay a lot at hotel room than and You're not a light sleeper than it's a definite go. Otherwise try other option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very friendly staff, checked us in very early in the morning after a long flight from New Zealand. Good location near Waikiki beach, International market place and restaurants. The room was clean, no view and no pool. Coffee and muffins every morning. We found a special on the net, so it was reasonable for this location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

this hotel is in the best spot for trolleys, walking distance to the beach and the other way to the shops. staff is lovely, rooms very comfortable. Highly recommend. only one drawback for me was no pool, but no big deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Waikiki Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Pearl

Address: 415 Nahua Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Waikiki Pearl 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Waikiki Pearl is a renovated mid-rise hotel tucked into the heart of Waikiki. This location showcases the vibrant city, near shops and restaurants. Located just 2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, this comfortable hotel offers spacious accommodations, large balconies in most rooms, a refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffeemaker with full kitchens in suites. You'll also enjoy the on-site sports bar, Legends, with multi-screen TV's, as well as various retail shops and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hotel Honolulu
Aston Honolulu Prince Hotel
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Aqua Waikiki Pearl Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;