We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take care with front desk!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Save Saved
You added Aqua Waikiki Wave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Waikiki Wave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #40 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Take care with front desk!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Good location,but por service. i asked for late check out when i check in, and they told me that i Should ask the moorning my check out Was or otherwise they can give me a hospitality room where i can take a shower or rest before my fly. The day I Was checking out they told me that the all the rooms were sold out which i understand but they told me that the hospitality room doesn't exist!! So it's a total fiasco! Take care about what they tell you in the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    766
    867
    312
    133
    63
See reviews for
609
726
167
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

First timer(s) in Hawaii, and had a wonderful stay. Naturally, the beaches, fresh air and green surroundings can put anyone in a euphoric mood, but the cherry on top was certainly the nice people encountered on our journey. This certainly includes the staff at Aqua Waikiki Wave! The reception desk was very friendly and accommodating! Thanks for the cookies and smiles!

Jamar (I think I finally got it?)... Haha, thanks for the laughs... I certainly won't miss the male bonding between you and my man! BTW, DFS was closed at the airport, never got my bottle of longboard!

Anyway, great people, amazing location and comfortable accommodations! Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Rude people at reception! Noon shift, 2 personnels arent helpful and treat us horribly.. One wasnt willing to aid us with simple request for first aid kit and ring 1800freetoll number, second wasnt kind enough to explain about the bill rundown. Great location spoiled with such abrupt hospitality!!! They dont represent !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at Aqua Waikiki Wave for four nights. Due to our circumstances, we spent a lot of time in the room - it was very comfortable with luxurious beds and bedding, a balcony, fridge and microwave. There were ear plugs provided by the hotel with a note indicating that there is noise from the street at night. I didn't wear the ear plugs and was woken by the noise a couple times but it didn't really bother me.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't try the restaurant so I can't comment on it. I liked that there were a few shops in the lobby and I loved that the hotel was only a couple minutes walk to Waikiki Beach. We scored a great rate online so I'd say the value was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as you can get because there is a lot of noise from the street late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Well here goes. The reasons we picked the Waikiki Wave for our 10 day stay on O'ahu were simple.
1. It has a great central location in Waikiki right on Kuhio one block from the beach. Boom!
2. It has nice CLEAN rooms with adjustable air conditioning, that include a fridge, coffee maker, and microwave. Very useful items, for drinks, food, etc.
3. All rooms to my knowledge have a lanai (balcony). Which is great for getting some fresh air and seeing the town, whatever view you have. If you want a better view like we had, stay higher up in the building by choosing the appropriate room when booking.
4. Most of all it had a high rating among Trip Advisor users with a price that frankly could not be beat. Seriouosly. With parking added for our rental car, it was around $135. Try and beat that.
Now let me tell you what you give up by staying at this hotel versus much more expensive hotels in the same area and you can decide if you care about any of it.
1. No pool. We didn't care about a pool. YOU'RE IN HAWAII! What would you need a pool for? Hawaii has some of the most beautiful beaches on the planet. Period. Lanikai, Kailua, Hanauma Bay, N. Shore, etc, etc. So why pay for a pool?
2. No extravagant lobby area with expensive shops, boutiques, bars, restaurants, etc. There is however a Chinese restaurant in the lobby which we never tried for no particualr reason. We have chinese at home, we opted for "plate lunch", ALL RICE! LOL. If you don't plan on leaving your hotel, which I wouldn't understand being in Hawaii, then maybe you need this amenity. We prefer to get out of a hotel, see the town, eat at local places. In Waikiki, one can literally find anything within walking distance or trolley. So why pay a hotel for providing these amenities. Waste of money to us. You decide.
3. Has only partial views of Waikiki Beach. For us this was perfect. It gave us a taste of what we could walk to in 5 minutes, actually enticing you to get out of your room. Plus for us. You decide.
4. No room service. We don't particularly care about this amenity at any hotel we use worldwide. Why? Because the food is usually less than desirable. The Waikiki Wave is located within walking distance to any type of food you can think of frankly, so no need for room service.
Now we are just a couple, that loves to travel, no kids, and prefer to get out of the room and explore the place we came to, so a hotel like this is perfect for us. Maybe it's not for you. Basically we came to our room to shower, to get changed, and to sleep, and the Waikiki Wave provides all of that in excellent form. The staff is helpful, curtious, and provides beach towels everyday upon request in the lobby. Here's one thing you may find in other reviews, "It's noisy". Yes, this is correct. That's just the nature of being in Waikiki. Not an issue only for this hotel. Never had any issues sleeping. It's usually only noisy in the morning when trash trucks are doing pickups, etc.
Bottom line, if you're a seasoned traveler like we are, this hotel will provide everything you need for a fantastic stay on Oahu. Get out of the room, see the beauty of paradise and heaven on earth because that's exactly what it is. Stay away from tourists trap and tours. Rent a car and get out there. Trip advisor has all the best places to go also ranked and reviewed by users, so there's no excuse. Don't be lazy and get on a tour bus. Get out there and explore! Have fun! Mahalo Waikiki Wave for a great stay. We will be back. Hope this helps other travelers.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room plan for better views. When booking it is clearly explained. We chose de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Have Stayed Here Before And Will Always Come Back To This Hotel All Employees Are Great To Customers And The Hotel Is Located Right Where You Want To Be Close To All Yours Needs Thanks Bill Would Highley Recomend This Hotel To Anybody And Will Alays Stay Here

Room Tip: You Will Love This Place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for ease of access to everything. Buses run frequently in front of the hotel and it's a cheap way to get around. One downside is if you're a lite sleeper it's very noisy. Our room was on the 14th floor so it wasn't a problem. The hotel was clean and the staff was fairly friendly.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floors for more peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Wave

Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Waikiki Wave 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Waikiki Wave is a contemporary boutique hotel featuring spacious rooms with a hip decor located 1 block to the beach and next to the International Marketplace in the heart of Waikiki. This hotel offers the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access in-room & throughout hotel, local & toll-free calls, AquaBLISS pillow top beds, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Additional amenities include a business center, activities desk, retail shops, convenience store and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Wave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.