We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Waikiki Wave to your Saves list
Aqua Waikiki Wave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #49 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We got a great deal through Hiwaiian Airlines so we decided to try this hotel out for our honeymoon. Got a 2nd floor room - very bad idea. The whole room would vibrate at night because of the night club right next to us. But they were nice enough to put us on the 9th floor next day and everything was great. The parking is $20.00/night and there is no way to get out of it but we wanted to take off and explore the whole island so the money were well worth it. This hotel is close to the beach, diamondhead hike and good restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    917
    365
    148
    72
See reviews for
656
787
183
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

After reading a lot of different reviews on this place I was expecting something much, much worse. We had a king room on the 10th floor and it was perfect for our Kama'aina stay of one night. The room was very clean and as our room faced the parking garage it was well above it and noise wasnt an issue either. If you are here on vacation perhaps you will want more out of a hotel but you arent going to find it for the price they charged (approx $100. night)

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on a high floor if you are concerned about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Treena was very helpful and welcoming. Everyone else was also very friendly and generally concerned about their guests' aloha experience. And it's a five minute walk from the beach, next to the Int'l Market, and a block from the main shopping strip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The other reviews are correct -- this hotel is a great bargain in the heart of Waikiki... great restaurants right outside the front door. The public spaces are slightly old around the edges, but are kept up well enough; the rooms themselves were fully updated. Upgrading to an upper floor is essential due to street noise around the hotel. Every single staff person we met was a delight... so helpful and informative. Being adjacent to the International Marketplace was nice.

Room Tip: Upper floors are essential due to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Wife and I came back to Waikiki after a 35 year absence hoping to find the aloha spirit. Waikiki has changed over the years and lost most of the aloha spirit. But we found it in this hotel. We had to call for directions and Miko spent and hour with us on the phone. After we found the place and she checked us in with so much love that made us feel welcome.

The staff did an excellent job making us feel welcome. They provided excellent directions to where we wanted to go by bus so we didn't have to move the car.

Even when we had an emergency the staff was there immediately to lend assistance. And they were very attentive days after the incident.

So if you are looking for the Aloha Spirit this hotel and all of the staff has an abundance of it. And shares it willingly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Family of 4 stayed here. Great location to beach, bus depot, and shopping. Clean, good value and friendly staff. Would recommend. Had read it was a bit noisy. We stayed on 9th floor and barely heard music, but our days were filled with fun so we slept pretty good. Frig, micro in room. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at the aqua wave in November of last year I wrote a bad review about the late check in delay we had to wait until 4pm to check in so we were sitting in the lobby for several hours. The second elevator was broken so most people just decided to run up and down the stairs the elevator was broken the year before too. and the hotel places ear plugs on the table due to the excessive noise from about 10pm-430am it was difficult to sleep at night and lead to very restless days. After this review I wrote last year I got a email from the hotel manager George Bermudez saying that the hotel was sorry and if future travels should take me back to waikiki to contact him directly so he could assist me with my hotel needs WHICH WAS USELESS! I tried to contact him through phone several times and by email. I never got a reply back. This hotel is not worth the price you pay every night and I'm not a picky person but I had several problems during my stay and the icing on the cake was really the false promise by the general manager himself which clearly he doesn't intend to keep with his costumers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Wave

Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Waikiki Wave 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Waikiki Wave located 1 block to Waikiki beach is a contemporary boutique hotel featuring spacious rooms with a hip decor. The beachy-urban vibe and stellar location will make you feel like you're living the dream. With affordable accommodations, staying at Aqua Waikiki Wave is the way to experience life in Hawaii. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Waikiki Wave allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll have access to the business center, activities desk, retail shops, convenience store and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Wave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.