We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Waikiki Wave to your Saves list
Aqua Waikiki Wave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #47 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was very impressed by the friendly attitude of every staff member we interacted with. It's not a fancy place, but it's a great location and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    893
    342
    144
    67
See reviews for
636
762
178
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed one night before flying out of Honolulu in June, 2013. The hotel was easy to find and parking under the hotel, so very convenient in proximity to hotel. We weren't quite sure how to get into the parking garage but a quick phone call to the hotel got us right to the location. The hotel clerk was VERY friendly and helpful over the phone, as well as at check in. Our room was very clean and the bed, very comfy. We had a GREAT view of the city from our 11th floor balcony, as well as a view of the ocean off to the east. We we a group of women and felt very safe in the hotel. We'd definitely stay again.
It's a perfect spot shopping for souvenirs at the International Market right next door to the property. There are plenty of restaurants close by and a lot of souvenir shopping on the same block.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My experience at the Aqua Wave Waikiki Hotel was great. I would recommend this hotel for folks who don’t mind an active night life. This hotel is on a busy street (almost all the hotels are on a busy street) and on weekends it can get pretty noisy but if you are ok with that then this is a great affordable place to stay. The rooms felt very safe and clean. The housekeeping staff where very friendly along with the front desk staff. It is a nice little stroll to the beach…not more than a 5 minute walk. There are lots of places to eat that are super close to the hotel so if you are hungry all you have to do is walk in any direction a few minutes to get food. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room you should call and ask which ones are quieter than others and see if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Thank you Aqua Wave! We stayed 15 nights, May 29 - June 13, 2014. Absolutely loved the staff! They were so helpful,friendly, & considerate. We felt at home here! Treena, Jamar,James,Mikko,Robbie,Will...were so nice as was everyone else even though I didn't mention names. But I really wanted to bring our housekeeper Alma, home with me! She had such a sweet "good morning, m'aam & sir" every day! The Aloha spirit is present here! Great location. Also got a great foot massage by Josh.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here for two nights, June 8 and 9, 2013. Great little hotel. This is an older property, but we were very comfortable and had everything we needed. The staff is very nice and helpful. I'm not sure how far it is to the beach, but we walked back and forth numerous times per day. The location is great at one end of Waikiki, and close to the canal for a quick run/speed walk. Two coffee shops (Starbucks) close by, as well as a great little taco place and of course, numerous ABC Markets. The pool is out of order at this time, or was when we were there, but the beach is walking distance.
International Marketplace is right outside the front door. The only downside was the "club" next door that lets out at 4:00 am...sounded like a mob riot even on the 9th floor. This is obviously not the hotel's fault, but keep it in mind.
I would definitely stay here again on my next trip. Good value, good service, and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

While not on the beach, easy walk, close to lots of shops, international market and lots of restaurants. Older property and no fancy amenities but clean, good rooms and beds. Staff was friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Lower rooms on South side may hear bar band(s) from Intl Market..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamborine, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed for over a week & felt like Family by the time we left. The staff couldn't do enough for you, no matter how big, small, or strange the question, they were willing to do anything at anytime. Couldn't fault the Lovely Staff, we were blessed. Perfect position in the middle of everything, literally, nothing was more than a 10 minute stroll. It may have been an older building but our rooms were fresh n newly refurbished. The bed was cloudlike at sleeptime, no matter the day. Even though they didn't have a pool, there was a big ocean a short stroll away. I used the gym almost everyday & found it a great amenitie. We were on a higher floor & had a great view. Will recommend them to my friends & family no hesitation. A great find, in lots of aspects!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Wave

Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Waikiki Wave 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Waikiki Wave is a contemporary boutique hotel featuring spacious rooms with a hip decor located 1 block to the beach. The beachy-urban vibe and stellar location will make you feel like you're living the dream. With affordable accommodations, staying at Aqua Waikiki Wave is the way to experience life in Hawaii. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Waikiki Wave allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll have access to the business center, activities desk, retail shops, convenience store and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Wave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.