We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-all. Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Save Saved
You added Aqua Waikiki Wave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Waikiki Wave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 15%!
Ranked #45 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over-all. Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My three children and I had a very nice stay at this hotel.
The room was big enough for us to spread out and move around. The bathroom was small but efficient. Our maid was great and consistently cleaned our room early. We didn't have to ever worry if we got back before our room was re-vamped. Great for when you have kids! The kitchenette was very convenient and perfectly located. The TV was small but efficient: the DVD player made up for it.
Beds were vary comfortable, however, but bring your own pillow.
The noise level was high during the weekend shows. Thankfully, usually ended by 10:00pm. So if you were watching a movie you didn't notice it. Nothing too bad. Location was PERFECT! Udon restaurant across the street, worth the wait.

Room Tip: This hotel is good bang-for-your-buck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    766
    862
    318
    136
    62
See reviews for
617
734
170
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. We paid for an upgrade and were glad we did. The room has spacious and neat but the floors were questionable. We met some ppl at the hotel who said they saw cockroaches. We didn't buy heard loud noise all night from the near by club. There were hookers outside of our hotel as well. They didn't bother the guests, but did make the place seem shadier. It was across the street from the udon noodle place which was nice. And the international market was next door. The location was quite good as Waikiki is quite small. If you're looking for a great hotel, this is not it. But it is a cheap alternative to shady looking hostels which may orate not be meth labs. To be fair though even some of the "nicer" hotels in Waikiki weren't that nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed there while visiting Oahu. It was the cheapest place that popped up on our search engine. We decided to stay there due to location.
This hotel is located in the centre of waikiki so it is quite easy to access restaurants, bars and of course the beach. It is on the less fancy street of the area but still it is decent. The first couple of nights we were staying in a very large room that was on the 2nd floor just above the bar that is in the hotel. That can be disturbing if you are planning to sleep early. We decided to change room, and it was done very easily. We moved on the 12th floor where the noise was less but not 100% eliminated.
Rooms were clean and quite comfortable. The elevators need to be replaced.
No breakfast.
In general i would say that it is a fine choise if you want to stay low on budget. Most of the other hotels look much nicer than this one.
The staff was really helpful and willing to solve any of the problems that might occur.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at many places in Waikiki of various quality levels and I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of Aqua Waikiki Wave, particularly for the price. Other places I've stayed at a similar price were not nearly as nice. I was given a very large corner room with 2 lanais overlooking Kuhio Avenue and the mountains. The room was very clean, the furniture, carpeting, etc. appeared to be fairly new. While the bathroom wasn't high end it was spacious, clean and functioned well. I tend to avoid hotels with less than a 4 Star rating because the quality can be unpredictable, but because prices were high I took a risk on the Wave and was not disappointed. For the price I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during spring break and we have a great time. The rooms are clean and modernized. Impressive central Ac.we paid under 100 dollars a day, so I think this is a great deal. Only complaint is u have to climb high stairs to the lobby and bell desk is under staffed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was my first time staying in waikiki. So I needed I decent hotel within my budget. Well I found it here. Hotel was clean and nice. Room was big and spacious. However the bathroom was a little small, but clean. They had light snacks for us in the lobby in the afternoon. Some part of the night it got a little loud, but I think that's because your right in the middle of everything. Every thing is within walking distanceof the hotel, even the beach!! I will definitely be Back!

Room Tip: The higher you go the nicer the rooms get!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel was booked blindly by using Hotwire. So my husband and I were not expecting anything great. We originally booked at a high end expensive hotel and in trying to stay on budget and be able to do more activities, we decided to forego all the extras you pay for at those place (which after thinking about it, we weren't going to use anyway). We booked here. The room was same size as the other hotel, just as clean, as close to the beach as well. Yes, our room was right ear the main strip and there was noise at night.But honestly, after all our daily activities we had no problem sleeping. YOUR IN HAWAII FOR GOODNESS SAKE! EVERYTHING IS AWESOME! By booking here, we saved a few hundred dollars to spend on what we wanted to. We were there 5 nights and enjoyed every one of them.

Room Tip: No pool. Who needs a pool when you have an ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Wave

Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Waikiki Wave 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Waikiki Wave is a contemporary boutique hotel featuring spacious rooms with a hip decor located 1 block to the beach. The beachy-urban vibe and stellar location will make you feel like you're living the dream. With affordable accommodations, staying at Aqua Waikiki Wave is the way to experience life in Hawaii. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Waikiki Wave allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll have access to the business center, activities desk, retail shops, convenience store and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Wave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.