We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay and extremely helpful staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aqua Waikiki Wave to your Saves list
Aqua Waikiki Wave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #49 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice stay and extremely helpful staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

When we arrived, we had been flying all day from the east coast and were looking forward to resting, however the computer system went down at the front desk just as we arrived. Everyone was especially helpful and friendly but Kisha stood out. They stored our luggage, kept us informed and made very helpful suggestions on how to spend our time and arranged for shuttle service to the airport for a connecting flight.
Kisha especially was patient and friendly even though the guests were getting restless.
Once the computer system was up and running George the manager, who was also very understanding and helpful, upgraded our room for our troubles.
One of the ways a hotel stands out is how the staff operates when things don't go well- they were outstanding.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had balconies on two sides giving us a city and partial water view of the bay.
Located next to the International Market and one block from very nice shopping and only a couple blocks from the ocean, this hotel is superbly situated.
The only downside was the lobby seemed a bit old but the rest of the hotel was quite comfortable.
My hats off to the staff and a hearty thank you to George the manager and Kisha behind the desk

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    878
    330
    143
    63
See reviews for
628
749
173
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel; staff was amazing - especially Isaac! The outside noise level was as one would expect in a lively city and we did wake several times during the night; however, this issue would occur in any of the city's hotels (earplugs were provided). Great location - central to many amenities/shopping/beach. Bed was comfortable, room was clean and appealing, balcony views were amazing (ocean in one direction and mountains in the other), was great having refrigerator and microwave (used both, and both were clean), and the price was right.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and may have a little less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and found it very comfortable. The room was a generous size and all staff very friendly. Its location was ideal close to all restaurants, cafes, shops, beach (Waikiki) and International Markets, all within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Aqua a couple of years ago and had no problem choosing it again last week. We love the central location and of course the hotel has all you expect. The lifts are old and slow but they just started to upgrade them. Look forward to returning here in the next couple of years.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Three greats, you can't go wrong. We went with family who had been to hotel before and highly recommended it. This is an older hotel and the rooms are dated but clean and well kept. The hotel staff are so helpful and friendly and the service is wonderful. They were working on the elevators while we were there so getting up and down was an adventure but always great to meet with other tourists while we were waiting. The location is perfect, with a short walk to the beach, the market place so very close, and of course an ABC store, they are everywhere. There was also a bakery right close so that was so great for a quick breakfast. Across the street was a wonderful place for lunch, homemade noodles and there was always a lilne up but it was worth it. All in all a wonderful place to stay, would

Room Tip: They did provide ear plugs as being close to a marketplace and downtown it did get quite noisy at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good value for a downtown Honolulu room. Easy walking distance to shops, the beach and other attractions. The staff were particularly noteworthy for their friendliness and little things like remembering our names from day to day.They are also to be commended for the excellent communication during a tsunami warning where they kept us fully informed throughout the whole emergency period.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have some degree of traffic noise but not sure if others are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Clean, quiet except weekends when groups party in carpark next door. Still worth staying there as everyone very friendly loved the atmosphere.easy to walk to beach, zoo and food pantry great for nibbles late at night

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Wave

Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Waikiki Wave 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Waikiki Wave is a contemporary boutique hotel featuring spacious rooms with a hip decor located 1 block to the beach. The beachy-urban vibe and stellar location will make you feel like you're living the dream. With affordable accommodations, staying at Aqua Waikiki Wave is the way to experience life in Hawaii. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Waikiki Wave allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll have access to the business center, activities desk, retail shops, convenience store and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Wave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.