We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Save Saved
You added Aqua Waikiki Wave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Orbitz.com
and 12 more sites!
Aqua Waikiki Wave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 10%!
Ranked #34 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Renovated boutique hotel , centrally located, great beds , large room, just a relaxing walk to the beach 5 min, can be a little noisy on fri or sat night, from late night clubs nearby , but is good value for money , staff are very helpful and friendly, we have stayed their four times and it has been great everytime, love hawaii.

Room Tip: stay up high away from busy street towards beach end
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    760
    847
    296
    129
    60
See reviews for
593
713
162
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The service was very good. Especially the bellboy James W. He was very helpful and always good to talk to.
The hotel was a bit on the older side, especially the toilet but it was good for people who are just in Hawaii to party. We really liked how it was a non smoking hotel and smoking even on the balcony was not allowed.
The hotel is in a great located and you can occasionally hear noise from the street. No where near as bad as what some other reviewers have said. There was a group of us and we were probably making the most noise without any complaints.

The lift however was a bit slow. One of the lifts were under maintenance and although we got to use the service lifts they were still very slow at times.

Hotel is recommended for couples and groups of friends. Maybe not so much for families as it may get noisy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

my wife and i had 15 nights at this hotel and are more than happy with the service from the desk staff to the cleaning staff going out of there way to make our stay a very memerable one and would not hesitate recommending aqua waikiki wave to anyone and cant wait to come back to the aqua waikiki wave

Room Tip: the higher you go the better theview we stayed on the 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We flew from North Carolina to Hawaii and could not get into the condo we rented until the following day, so we checked into the Aqua Waikiki Wave. The atmosphere was welcoming and warm the minute our tired bodies stepped into the lobby. The front desk staff made an extra effort to let us know about the area and invited us to have a complimentary light breakfast the next morning. Everyone was so friendly.

Our room was clean and all our needs were attended to. It was delightful to hear the soft sounds of the city outside our balcony, and to watch people walking back and forth from the beach and shopping. However, the hotel provided earplugs in case any noises bothered us.

If I ever have the opportunity to go to Hawaii again, I would definitely stay here again. The price was affordable and we had accessibility to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a highrise room with a balcony to see all the sights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to stay at the Wave after hearing great things about it from my sister who travels to hawaii every year. The rooms might not be as modern as others but nothing beats the location! To be quite honest, the rooms were not bad at all - our room was clean, had free wifi, and the beds were comfortable. The location itself is close to everything - 5 minute walk to the beach, right beside the International Marketplace, various eateries (my faviourite is Ono which has delicious and cheap Cheesesteak sandwiches), and about 25 minute walk to Ala Moana Shopping Center. I would definitely stay here again when I return and I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an above average hotel in a great location. This family friendly hotel provided my family of 4 with a great experience.

The hotel is in a convenient location and a short stroll to the beach and shops. The buses for any destination are all very close to the hotel on Kuhio Ave. Lifts have now been fixed and so there should not be any lengthy waiting around in the foyer for lifts.

Whilst there is no breakfast as such in the hotel, complimentary refreshments in the form of muffins, cupcakes, buns and juices are available at reception daily, for the early risers.

Go for rooms on the higher floors if you can, as they are definitely worth the little bit extra you pay for them. Also, being adjacent to the International Market Place means that it can get a little noisy at times, so the higher you are the less you are affected.

Beach towels are provided upon request as is a beach bag, which is a really nice touch. The hotel has no pool but why would you want to be at a pool when Waikiki beach is only minutes away?Everybody at the hotel was very friendly and helpful! Customer service was excellent.

You will not be disappointed with any aspect of this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors. Definitely worth the little bit extra charged. The higher you are the less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Aqua may be in Waikiki, but it's location is terrible. Wedged between two parking garages, it's not worth booking a room below the sixth floor unless you want to deal with headlights in your window all night, and car alarms all weekend. Plus a complete and total lack of privacy, since the garage looks directly into rooms.

The furniture was old and broken (including toilet), and our first rooms (second floor) had cockroaches. The noise from the clubs across the street was awful, as well as the garbage trucks in the alley. The parking situation was brutal, with a tiny inefficient lot. The elevators were barely operational, and I got stuck in one when it broke down. Internet came and went.

The street outside had regular prostitute traffic, and there was an actual police shootout out front during our stay. I'd say it's worth the extra money to go with something a little further up the scale.

Room Tip: Don't bother booking anything below the sixth floor, or else you'll just have a great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha,

I am sorry that we completely did not meet your expectation. Yes we are not the newest hotel in Waikiki, but neither does our rates reflect furnishing and services you may be looking for. Because you could not find one thing positive about the hotel, it is obvious that expectation was mismatched.

I am very excited that 2 of our 3 elevators have completed modernization and our last and final elevator will be returned shortly. I thank the thousands of our guests that know it may be inconvenient are patient and understand the need for modernization.

The police incident that affected Waikiki was an anomaly and certainly not a usual thing or specific to Waikiki Wave. Please keep in mind that Waikiki is still a CITY.

I thank you for your review.

Lynette Eastman
Area General Manager
Aqua Waikiki Wave
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Wave

Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hotel
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Waikiki Wave 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Waikiki Wave is a contemporary boutique hotel featuring spacious rooms with a hip decor located 1 block to the beach and next to the International Marketplace in the heart of Waikiki. This hotel offers the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access in-room & throughout hotel, local & toll-free calls, AquaBLISS pillow top beds, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Additional amenities include a business center, activities desk, retail shops, convenience store and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Amex, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Wave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.