We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for those on a budget & want to stay close to the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Save Saved
You added Aqua Waikiki Wave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Waikiki Wave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 15%!
Ranked #45 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for those on a budget & want to stay close to the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My sister-in-law and I stayed here during our layover(s) to the Philippines. They had great reviews and it was suitable, price-wise, for our wallets! The service was more than welcoming and very helpful. Most especially William! Our shuttle service didn't show up on time and was nearly 30 minutes late. He stayed with us and contacted the shuttle service himself (since we were put on hold for another 20 minutes) until our ride finally came! We haaaaad to book another night here on our way back from the PI, which is exactly what we did!

The location is perfect, too! Located on Kuhio, it's walking distance from most tourist spots: The International Market, Waikiki Beach, one of many ABC stores, The Hula Dog (nom nom nommm!), and across from the Marukame Udon restaurant. Everything you really need is only a few blocks away.

I think the one downfall about this place is that at the time that we were staying there, they were fixing the elevators. So you can imagine that the elevator service was super slow! But in all honesty, that shouldn't stop you from staying here. It's a great place with all the necessary amenities!

Will definitely stay here again during our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    766
    862
    318
    136
    62
See reviews for
617
734
170
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff is very friendly, the location is very good. The rooms were great considering that the hotel is quite cheap if you compare to other hotels on Waikiki.

The hotel does however have two problems right now. They are renovating the elevators so not all of them are working which means that you often have to wait for a very long time to get an elevator, the other problem is a really bad wifi. Having internet access might not be important to everyone, but I'm usually blogging when I'm traveling, and I'm also often looking for places to visit, tips on restaurants etc so I really need a working internet connection. The wifi on Aqua Wave is often very slow, and also completely unavailable at times.

I also stayed a couple of nights at Aqua Surf. The rooms at Aqua Wave is better, and the location is also a bit better. The wifi at Aqua Surf worked better, and they also served breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My friend and I were back at the Aqua Waikiki Wave for 1 week in November this time instead of the usual 2 weeks that we usually do and still had an amazing time. I can not say enough about this hotel or the staff that I have not said before.They are always willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay there as comfortable and memorable as possible. This was my third time back here and it will not be my last time. Being on a higher floor with 2 lanai's is great, the views are unbelivable and you can always see the sun setting over the ocean....it is a beautiful site.
The location of the hotel is excellent, walking distance to the beach, bars and numerous restaurants.

A big ALOHA and MAHALO to George, Wayne, Isaac, Dexter, Jamar, James, Pelle, Kisha, Frank!!!! I look forward to coming back to the Aqua Waikiki Wave!!!

Room Tip: I would always recommend a higher floor, the views are incredible and not alot of noise as some peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Has great cheap rates for decent rooms. My friends and I usually go here for hotel parties and what not. It's clean and the rooms and not so big but not no small either. I recommend to anyone looking for a cheap and decent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Here now and I see why people recommend it. The staff are great and the location is perfect. Clean rooms at reasonable rates...within walking distance to EVERYTHING. The hotel is at full capacity all weekend so that says something....waiting on our suite for Monday :). Come on down to Waikiki and hang loose baby!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Well you get what you pay for. Staying in Waikiki is generally expensive so $1450 for 9 nights is way down on the average though I was expecting more. Our room is old we are on level 2 viewing the multi level car park next door and comes with complementary ear plugs! There are painted patches on the ceiling, the ac is thick with dust/lint and makes the room smell, not as clean as other places - bed sheet pulled off and there were lots of hairs on the mattress protector, one lift broken for 5 days making for crowded lifts and long wait as we are only on level 2 it is not far down the steps, no pool here location is good though. Enough said

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

the hotel is centrally located, although $20 parking a day is considerably pricey. the room is clean, service is good. no breakfast provided but you can easily walk to the nearby International Market Place for some pancakes and there is a bakery next to the hotel too. there was only one elevator that worked when we stayed there, so it took us ages.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Wave

Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Waikiki Wave 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Waikiki Wave is a contemporary boutique hotel featuring spacious rooms with a hip decor located 1 block to the beach. The beachy-urban vibe and stellar location will make you feel like you're living the dream. With affordable accommodations, staying at Aqua Waikiki Wave is the way to experience life in Hawaii. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Waikiki Wave allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll have access to the business center, activities desk, retail shops, convenience store and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Wave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.