We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and helpful staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aqua Waikiki Wave to your Saves list
Aqua Waikiki Wave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #49 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
MELBOURNE
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location and helpful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel was in the perfect position for my time in hawaii, only two minute walk to waikiki beach and the most fabulos coconut and almond waffles at the westin moana surfrider.
The only problem with this hotel and most hotels in honolulu or waikiki is the noise.
Earplugs and sleeping tablets are an essential items when booking in and make sure your on the right hand side of the building, as the automated carpark will keep you awake all night.
All that said, i will make this hotel my hotel of choice when next in hawaii, which is real soon i hope.
Also the staff are incrediably helpful. Job well done.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    874
    329
    141
    62
See reviews for
624
746
173
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We booked this vacation through Westjet vacations who provided FREE shuttle service to the hotel and airport. The hotel was absolutely GREAT. The staff were very friendly and very accomodating to help you with whatever needs you had. The rooms are very spacious room, clean and the hotel is in a GREAT location. The beach is in walking distance with many great restauants and shopping close by. As we didn't rent a car this was perfect. Should we go back we will stay at this hotel again. Thanks Darryl and staff for a great vacation and awesome weather!
Sylvia and Mel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Great location, amazing staff! All the guys on front desk, bell desk & the beautiful, ever smiling,hard working & kind Terry from house keeping.
Can def be alot of noise from bars etc but guess that's what u get being in the heart of Waikiki.
Great location,bus/taxis always easy to get.ABC store right next door & 1 min walk to Ross Dress for Less!
Always feel at home , beds so comfie, feel safe walking around the area, even with the colourful crowd!
Will be back Aloha

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our room was as advertised and it was clean everyday. The staff was very nice and helpful. Michael at the front desk was helpful as was George. The room was great. The beds were very comfortable to us. We slept very well even if there was noise. The hotel does provide ear plugs. The hotel is close to a lot of eating places, the food court, etc. I would definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it to friends and family. The only two things that happened that might have delayed some people were that the elevators are being worked on so only two elevators work and are kind of slow; also you need to get to the parking garage early if you want to park in there.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from the street and garage. They do provide ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Wave. Although, as mentioned the lift was being serviced at the time, so there was a little wait for the lift. Apart from that the location is perfect, close to bars, shopping bus stops and the beach. We travelled as a group of six so had 3 rooms all on the same floor. Staff very helpful and friendly. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel is a little dated but does the job for a good price. The staff, specifically Iassac and Dexter are GREAT!!
Just to be fair, my review is a bit tainted by a terrible experience on my first night. Our room was directly across from the garage. Some kids were fighting there for what seemed to be an hour to two, cursing, yelling, screaming, and choking each other. I'm not a light sleeper but this kept me up and disturbed, at best. However, Iassac was VERY accomodating. He upgraded us the next day to a higher floor and even had our bags moved. This really helped me enjoy the rest of our trip.
I'd also like to single out Dexter. We rented a car and he suggested some places that we should visit. He was always very friendly and accomodating.

Other then the amazing staff, the hotel is just ok. The location is close to eveything but I would have preferred to be right across the street from the beach (like the Aqua Surf Hotel). The garage and alley behnid this hotel really turned me off.

Hotel gets 3 stars, staff gets 5!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel had everything we needed, a great bar next door, International Market Place right there, so many stores very close by and a very close walk to the beach! The ONLY negative comment would be that the elevators were VERY slow, they are working on them, also our veiw of a arking garage was not pretty but we were gone most of the day anyway and at night you didnt pay attention to them. I have read many comments about the noise from outside disturbing peoples sleep, I have to say in our 5 nights there not once did we find this a problem, we slept just fine. The staff is very friendly. Overall we truly enjoyed our stay and loved that our room had a great belcony! Yes we would go back, great rates and nice stay!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Wave

Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Waikiki Wave 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Waikiki Wave is a contemporary boutique hotel featuring spacious rooms with a hip decor located 1 block to the beach. The beachy-urban vibe and stellar location will make you feel like you're living the dream. With affordable accommodations, staying at Aqua Waikiki Wave is the way to experience life in Hawaii. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Waikiki Wave allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll have access to the business center, activities desk, retail shops, convenience store and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Wave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.