We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Waikiki Wave to your Saves list
Aqua Waikiki Wave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #47 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was my second stay at the Wave. Last time was 4 years ago. Decided to re-book based on my last experience but we weren't there on a Friday or Saturday night last time. We were on the 7th floor along side the parking garage. The noise was unbearable! You could hear word for word conversations from the street at 4am. The other nights were fine. The location is great. Close to the bus, the beach , shopping and restaurants. The staff is super helpful. One of the front desk members even loaned us his ipod charger as we forgot our adapter.

We reported that one of the bed lamps didn't work but it was never fixed. The bath ran continuously the whole time. You just couldn't turn it off! We kept the door closed so it didn't bother us too much. What a waste of water!

The free wi-fi doesn't work too well. Kept dropping out and couldn't make a voice skype call.

When I booked 4 months ago I noticed the reviews about the lifts being replaced. I figured it would be complete by the time we got here. But no.... What a nightmare. We were allowed to use the staff lift but it has a seperate set of buttons. So everybody requested both lifts and got into the first to arrive. But the other lift would then go to the requested floor anyway. So don't be in a hurry!

I would still consider staying at the hotel again. The beds are comfortable and the rooms spacious.It's a great location and the staff are wonderful. I'd think about which nights to stay, NOT Friday or Saturday.

Room Tip: Stay High up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    893
    340
    144
    66
See reviews for
636
762
176
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Was there late 2011 with friend after long flight from Australia was great to come to such a friendly laid back and inviting accommodation.Brilliant friendly staff and room was immaculate!Aloha from Newcastle Australia!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed at Aqua Waikiki Wave for 7 nights, Nov 27 to Dec 04. It is very central to everything including the International Marketplace and many good restaurants. My room was on the 12th floor and at the back of the hotel so didn't experience any noise at all.
The price was very reasonable also.
Staff were always friendly and accommodating.
The only negative is the lifts were very slow but are in the process of being modernised.
Thank you Aqua Wave for making my stay so enjoyable and will stay again if I return to Honolulu.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors at the back has minimal noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forresters beach nsw
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Made us feel very welcome and comfortable during our 5 night stay.
A bit noisy only because of the prime central location.Young man who greeted us daily at the front door is worth more money.
Great value.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

People who post that it is noisy are not realizing that it is the same everywhere in Waikiki....stay a little higher and the noise is NOT an issue. This is a wonderful hotel, geographically in the centre of Waikiki. The staff is AMAZING. We love everyone, Bell Captains, Front Desk, Housekeeping. Too many to name, they should all be listed but I don't want to leave anyone out. Te rooms are large and the beds are sooooo comfortable. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Waikiki.....the staff at the Wave are our Waikiki Ohana!! We miss you all!! See you in less than 10 months...xoxo

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor on the Dukes Lane side and the International Market end.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the Aqua Waikiki Wave the night before our cruise and we were very happy with the location. It is very central to many good restaurants, the International Market and Waikiki Beach. The accommodations/lobby/common areas were in need of renovations (and to be fair they were doing some!) but the staff was very friendly and again the location was great. For one night stay, it was perfect but I don't know that I would stay here for multiple nights for a relaxing or romantic vacation.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if your suite will have a beach view (that would be on the south or south west sides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here for 7 days, understanding this was reviewed as a 3 star hotel. The first 2 nights were NOT GOOD. The first room I noticed in the first 5 minutes there was roach problems which freaked me out. They seem small so probably just hatched some baby uglies.We immediately left and requested another room which they provided to us same floor on 3rd fl. When we complained about the problem, the person at the front desk said they can move us to a better higher floor room for a additional charge of $25 per day. I thought that was ridiculous when we just saw roaches. The excuse was this is Hawaii Im sorry but we have roaches. Um...I dont think so. Im from NYC and there are roaches in everywhere too. Its up to the buiding to properly terminate critters and prevent them so this is no excuse. I have also traveled to much poorer hotter climates and have never seen this type or problem.

Another problem was there was no cold water. The shower was skin burning. When we complained they said it would be fixed by the time wen we come back. That evening it was not fixed. After 2 days of noise, terrible elevator issues, burning/drying skin from the hot water, and the fear of critters, I had enough. This time I spoke to Issaac who was very understanding of our problems, especially knowing we were stayin 7 days. He immediately fixed our problems and upgraded our room and floor to something more quiet and a high floor. His customer service skills were superb and did not just apologize to us because this is his job. He really solved our problems and saved our vacation.

This hotel has a lot of issues. Noise, crowded, elevator problems, outdated, etc. But the location you cannot beat. Centrally located it has so much potential

Room Tip: Stay in higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Wave

Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Waikiki Wave 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Waikiki Wave is a contemporary boutique hotel featuring spacious rooms with a hip decor located 1 block to the beach. The beachy-urban vibe and stellar location will make you feel like you're living the dream. With affordable accommodations, staying at Aqua Waikiki Wave is the way to experience life in Hawaii. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Waikiki Wave allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll have access to the business center, activities desk, retail shops, convenience store and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Wave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.