We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aqua Waikiki Wave to your Saves list
Aqua Waikiki Wave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #49 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights in room 412. It was a bit outdated and facing a carpark but was comfortable enough since we spent the majority of the day out. It was noisy - loud music at night and the early morning garbage truck - but it didn't bother us. We still managed to fall asleep easily without using the complimentary earplugs.

Reception staff and our housekeeper Imelda were fantastic. The free wifi was good but sometimes was super slow, I think due to too many people using it.

The location is really great, so close to everything in Waikiki and on the main strip that all the buses stop at.

I would stay here again if the price was right but if not would try a different hotel.

One more thing! They really need to get a fan in the bathroom, even with the aircon on and door wide open the mirror still got all steamy and foggy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    874
    329
    141
    62
See reviews for
624
746
173
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here with a friend in September. Is off the beachfront but is an easy 10 minute walk to the beach & shopping area. Lots of eating options very close by. Not the fanciest hotel ever, but well-priced & large rooms. Bed was really comfy, bathroom was ok (definitely clean), the balcony was nice to chill out on. Hotel staff were super friendly & helpful, was noisy at night, but generally quietened down by midnight. Microwave in the room came in handy (when eating leftovers from the enormous meals at the Cheesecake Factory).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent room (we were in the suite), excellent location and very helpful and friendly staff. If possible, try to get a room at the end of the corridor (not in front of the lifts) which will help to reduce the level of noise. The hotel is located right in front of the international markets, and very close to the 'Trade Centre' which is where most tourist buses and local buses depart from. Will definately be returning to that hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was at the very end of the corridor in the corner, which had a great view and was not noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

The walls are very thin. The couple next door had a great time and were non stop, if you know what we mean. They had ear plugs in the room and had a pre printed note that said if you need additional to call the front desk. Garbage trucks come early and well that woke us right up. We only were here one night waiting for our time to come available. The location is close to everything, especially if you do not have a car. Parking is a premium and the spots are very small. The hotel is musty smelling. Elevator is Inadequate and it stops on every floor. The room is typical size and set up. Our view was the parking garage next door and the lower level roof from the balcony. Room had fridge, coffee make and microwave. Gym on site was small and not adequate. No treadmill. No pool on site but beach is within walking distance. There are alot of choices so look for another one.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. Our response to put earplugs in the room is to assist our guests to sleep more comfortably. For some, the city and nightlife doesn't bother them and for those that it does, we are happy to move to higher floors, give earplugs and if needed, relocate to a sister hotel. Of course, we need feedback from the guest to be able to assist them.

If having earplugs in the room offend you, then perhaps a big brand hotel on the beach on Kalakaua Avenue may be a better match for your expectation. Our hotel is a great value with friendly service and I realize we may not be the perfect match for every guest.

Thank you again for your review.


Lynette Eastman
Area General Manager
Aqua Waikiki Wave
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during thanksgiving for 5 days. We had a great time as the three queen bedrooms well met our expectations and was roomy. It is in a good location close to Waikiki beach and shops. There are lots of restaurants for food near the Teddy bear world. If you are planning to use bus which we did it is very close to bus stop. Hanauma bay, ala moana center, chinatown are about 30 to 45 minutes from here one way. Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. I gave 4 stars because the travel agent in the hotel was not very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Pros: Two blocks from Waikiki Beach and easy access to great shopping and restaurants...anything from the outdoor market to Macy's and high end retailers. Super variety of restaurants all around. Luggage storage after checkout. Very fast check in/check out. Friendly staff. Clean room, updated furnishing and linens, microwave, minifridge, coffee maker, blow dryer, free wifi access. Comfortable bed. We were on a higher floor and enjoyed coffee on the balcony with an obstructed but still nice view of the beach and immediate area. Fantastic price as compared with other hotels in the area. Good sized room, larger than average. Good pre-cruise option.

Cons: Tub/shower surround looked dingy, low water pressure in shower, and slow drains in sink and tub. Low lighting in bathroom. Slow wifi speed, not worth trying. Beware of scammers who call rooms and try to get credit card information from guests. They have information warning guests about this next to the room's telephone. Also, elevators are a little slow. Be sure to look for the elevator in small alcove to the left of the main bank. You can push buttons for both sets and stand in the doorway of the alcove to watch which one will open first.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Diamond Head side with a balcony. Can't see Diamond Head, but that's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Rooms are relatively nice inside, except for the rusty old tub and bathroom. Rooms seemed relatively clean.Rooms seemed to be renovated in the last coupe years. Rest of the building seems dated. Lobby extremely small for size of hotel and fronts busy street. A place to avoid when a tour bus arrives.
Location of hotel is extremely busy. Lots of street noise, especially at night. I get the feeling that this could be considered "the red light district" of Waikiki Beach, as both nights I stayed there were women screaming in the alley below. Can only guess what that was about. Night clubs and lots of late night noise.
Pool access is strange. Like entering a prison. Down the alley, up some stairs through a locked fence gate. Cement walls on all sides. Not very appealing.
Access to Waikiki Beach through the MarketPlace is a short walk.

Having stayed at literally 1000 of hotels I rate this one a 2.5 out of 5.
Place to sleep. Bring your ear plugs (or ask front desk for some) and you will be fine.

Room Tip: Do not take a room facing Kuhiu/Diamonhead. Try to get a room on the beach end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Wave

Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Waikiki Wave 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Waikiki Wave is a contemporary boutique hotel featuring spacious rooms with a hip decor located 1 block to the beach. The beachy-urban vibe and stellar location will make you feel like you're living the dream. With affordable accommodations, staying at Aqua Waikiki Wave is the way to experience life in Hawaii. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Waikiki Wave allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll have access to the business center, activities desk, retail shops, convenience store and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Wave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.