We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in the heart of Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Waikiki Wave to your Saves list
Aqua Waikiki Wave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value in the heart of Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you don't want to pay oceanfront prices and still want a decent hotel, this is the place. There have been may attempts to provide economic lodging in the Waikiki area such as the Ohana chain with lots of hotels around this same area (Kuhio Ave) but these people do a great job with friendliness and cleanliness, which are the most critical elements of economic lodging. They are not the lowest priced but are a great value. Not to mention that it is right in the middle of everything that you want to see in Waikiki. Also, there is a "must do" bakery two doors down from the entrance. Some of the best and most inexpensive pasteries and sandwiches in Hololulu. Their bread is simply the best. period.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a corner and the higher floors are best. They are quiet and many have a decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    935
    372
    155
    76
See reviews for
679
800
185
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice hotel , friendly staff great location in town close to everything, only down side is the slow lifts , but they are being updated, great house keeping, close to all amenities - beach shops transport & more

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Unless I'm missing something I don't understand the rave reviews for this hotel. I thought the room was nothing like the photo's shown on their website. They give you the impression that the rooms are light and modern. When in fact ours was very dated and very dark. It had a TV, fridge and microwave and the beds were clean but I would only say this hotel is good for somewhere to put your head down, the security box didn't work which meant I had to carry everything around with me. It has a balcony which can only just be described as this as it's extremely small with a terrible view over a multi storey car park. The location was good with a short walk to the centre of things and the staff were friendly but that's about all I could say about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel from Oct. 30 - Nov 6th, 2012 and found it to be in the perfect spot for anything you would want to do or find. One of the most amazing events I have ever seen is Halloween in Waikki and the unorganized parade that took place! What fun! The hotel is surrounded by shopping, restaurants, convenience stores, the Internation Market Place and a short walk to the beach. The staff was wonderful! We will definitely stay at the Aqua Waikki Wave if we return to Oahu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at the Aqua Waikiki Wave hotel in early November 2012 for 10 nights. I can agree with most other reviewer's that the best feature of this hotel is its' location in the center of Waikiki near the International Market Place, beach, restaurants and shops. I arrived at HNL and took a Robert's Hawaii shuttle for $20 round trip. I made the reservation and paid for the trip online and they were in the airport baggage claim area when I arrived and picked me up at the hotel on time when I departed.

The room included a small very poor quality flat screen TV, DVD player, coffeemaker, refrigerator, microwave, some toiletries (shampoo, conditioner and lotion), hairdryer and a safe in the closet. There is a workout room, some parking under the hotel and central air conditioning. There is no pool if that's important. The bed was comfortable with good linen but in my opinion the pillows were very mushy.

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel because of the location and the friendly and helpful employees. What I didn't like was the street noise that I was easily able to hear from my 12th floor room especially on the weekends from the nightclub just across Kuhio Avenue. There was no room-to-room noise just street noise thru the sliding glass door leading to the lanai. This is the only hotel I've ever stayed at where they supply earplugs nightly for all guests. I read reviews from others about this hotel before I made my reservation and I'd agree that the Aqua Waikiki Wave does have the slowest elevators of any hotel I've ever stayed at. Currently they are in the process of modernizing them so in the future this hopefully won't be a problem.

There was a good Chinese restaurant in the lobby, a do-it-yourself laundry and a great bakery in the same block in addition to restaurants, nightclubs and stores nearby. Being on Kuhio Avenue there are numerous TheBus (yes, one word) routes available to easily take you to Diamond Head, Sea Life Park, the Ala Moana shopping center, Arizona Memorial, downtown Honolulu and Hanauma Bay for only $2.50 or a 4 day unlimited ride pass is available from any Waikiki ABC store for $25.

The room, especially the bathroom, was slightly dated. I had an upper floor room (above the 8th floor facing west look over the office building and not into the parking structure) that was still very noisy. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel as a safe choice if looking for an affordable place in central Waikiki.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to all - right in the "heart of Waikiki," close to the beach, restaurants, shopping, activities and really enjoyed all of the amenities at the "Aqua Wave."
The staff was very friendly and respectful. The housekeeping was amazing and we really had a clean and wonderful room. We tremendously enjoyed our stay and would stay here next time! :-)
--

Room Tip: Our room was located on the 3rd floor and we only heard the music from the International Marketplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Hotel was on a busy strip two blocks from the beach and was extremely noisy. In the Evening there was to many ladies of the night(prostitutes) would walk in front of the hotel and bother guest as they walked back into the hotel. Staff at the hotel said they could not do anything about the noise or the prostitutes.

Room Tip: The higher the room the less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aqua Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Wave

Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Waikiki Wave 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Waikiki Wave located 1 block to Waikiki beach is a contemporary boutique hotel featuring spacious rooms with a hip decor. The beachy-urban vibe and stellar location will make you feel like you're living the dream. With affordable accommodations, staying at Aqua Waikiki Wave is the way to experience life in Hawaii. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Waikiki Wave allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll have access to the business center, activities desk, retail shops, convenience store and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Wave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.