We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location in center of Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Waikiki Wave

Save Saved
You added Aqua Waikiki Wave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Waikiki Wave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 15%!
Ranked #39 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
372 helpful votes 372 helpful votes
“Location in center of Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at the Aqua Waikiki Wave hotel in early November 2012 for 10 nights. I can agree with most other reviewer's that the best feature of this hotel is its' location in the center of Waikiki near the International Market Place, beach, restaurants and shops. I arrived at HNL and took a Robert's Hawaii shuttle for $20 round trip. I made the reservation and paid for the trip online and they were in the airport baggage claim area when I arrived and picked me up at the hotel on time when I departed.

The room included a small very poor quality flat screen TV, DVD player, coffeemaker, refrigerator, microwave, some toiletries (shampoo, conditioner and lotion), hairdryer and a safe in the closet. There is a workout room, some parking under the hotel and central air conditioning. There is no pool if that's important. The bed was comfortable with good linen but in my opinion the pillows were very mushy.

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel because of the location and the friendly and helpful employees. What I didn't like was the street noise that I was easily able to hear from my 12th floor room especially on the weekends from the nightclub just across Kuhio Avenue. There was no room-to-room noise just street noise thru the sliding glass door leading to the lanai. This is the only hotel I've ever stayed at where they supply earplugs nightly for all guests. I read reviews from others about this hotel before I made my reservation and I'd agree that the Aqua Waikiki Wave does have the slowest elevators of any hotel I've ever stayed at. Currently they are in the process of modernizing them so in the future this hopefully won't be a problem.

There was a good Chinese restaurant in the lobby, a do-it-yourself laundry and a great bakery in the same block in addition to restaurants, nightclubs and stores nearby. Being on Kuhio Avenue there are numerous TheBus (yes, one word) routes available to easily take you to Diamond Head, Sea Life Park, the Ala Moana shopping center, Arizona Memorial, downtown Honolulu and Hanauma Bay for only $2.50 or a 4 day unlimited ride pass is available from any Waikiki ABC store for $25.

The room, especially the bathroom, was slightly dated. I had an upper floor room (above the 8th floor facing west look over the office building and not into the parking structure) that was still very noisy. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel as a safe choice if looking for an affordable place in central Waikiki.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    767
    871
    313
    134
    63
See reviews for
611
727
169
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apache Junction, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to all - right in the "heart of Waikiki," close to the beach, restaurants, shopping, activities and really enjoyed all of the amenities at the "Aqua Wave."
The staff was very friendly and respectful. The housekeeping was amazing and we really had a clean and wonderful room. We tremendously enjoyed our stay and would stay here next time! :-)
--

Room Tip: Our room was located on the 3rd floor and we only heard the music from the International Marketplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Hotel was on a busy strip two blocks from the beach and was extremely noisy. In the Evening there was to many ladies of the night(prostitutes) would walk in front of the hotel and bother guest as they walked back into the hotel. Staff at the hotel said they could not do anything about the noise or the prostitutes.

Room Tip: The higher the room the less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, california
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

hotel is in a good location (close by to beach, restaurants, shopping, nightlife). staff was friendly. building was sort of old looking and came with ridiculously slow elevators but clean enough. price was decent enough. nice udon place right across the street. next to international market (with a food court).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great Place To Come To For A Vacation. If I Ever Come Back I Will Always Stay Here The Hotel Staff Are All Great. Everything That You Would Want To Do Is All Around Here. For Shopping And Eating You Don't Have To Go Far

Room Tip: They Are All Good I Stayed On The 9Th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashcroft
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Had a great 3 week stay during October celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. All staff friendly and approachable, good service and great happy hour tues. afternoons.
Guest service manager George went out of his way to make our stay memorable as did Michael,Treena, Kisha, Darryl at front desk and James helping with luggage and directions. Letitia, our housekeeper did a fine job keeping the suite tidy and well stocked.
Hotel is well situated- this is our second stay there.
Thanks to all of you- we'll be coming back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise and east side good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have returned to the Aqua Waikiki four times. The hotel is a boutique hotel centrally located with a very short walk down Dukes lane 1 block to the beach. There is on site parking with over flow right next door. The rooms are large and clean with nice Lanai's. room is equipped with fridge and micro . There is a pastry shop and 2 Starbucks within a block so having a quick breakfast is easy. Note that rooms on lower floors on the international market side can be noisy. The gym although small is spotless and functional. Note that there is no pool however we have never missed it. The big differentiation for this property are the staff who go a mile out of their way to accommodate your needs. Little touches like the coffee and iced water with watermelon in the lobby, the weekly aloha party and assist with local recommendations for restaurants etc really make a difference. A special shout out to Darrel and Michael on the front desk!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Wave

Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Waikiki Wave 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Waikiki Wave is a contemporary boutique hotel featuring spacious rooms with a hip decor located 1 block to the beach. The beachy-urban vibe and stellar location will make you feel like you're living the dream. With affordable accommodations, staying at Aqua Waikiki Wave is the way to experience life in Hawaii. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Waikiki Wave allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll have access to the business center, activities desk, retail shops, convenience store and two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Wave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.