We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on the way from the mainland to The Big Island. We were told the continental breakfast was discontinued so I'm surprised to see the other reviewers staying at a similar time reviewed the breakfast. The staff was friendly, the rooms clean (but small as others have said). The location is good and I'd stay here again if I returned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you very much for your review. It is true that our complimentary continental breakfast was discontinued as of June 1, 2013. Some of our hotel guests tend to post reviews weeks or even months after their stay which may cause inaccurate information during this transition. I apologize for any confusion that this may have caused. Thank you again and we hope that you return soon!

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    591
    122
    29
    9
See reviews for
311
820
143
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We chose this as a reasonably priced hotel away from the hustle and bustle, but sufficiently close to the shopping and beach. This took 10 minutes to get to the centre.
Our room was on the 9th floor and nice size and clean. It didn't have much of a view, but this didn't bother us as we only used it for sleeping and was probably reflected in the price.
A small continental breakfast was provided and was very nice and sufficient, many restaurants are around in easy walking distance. Staff perfect, we arrived in the early hours of the morning and it was nice to be pleasantly greated after a long journey from the uk. Don't be put off by other comments about the green decor, it is quite pleasing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you very much for your time in reviewing our hotel. It is great to hear that you found the Coconut Waikiki sufficient for your needs prior to your cruise. Thank you for pointing out our staff and their warm welcome extended to you upon your early morning arrival. I am sure that they were able to accomodate you with luggage storage or an early checkin. Thank you again!

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel based on the reviews. Then I realized I knew very little about what it had to offer. Little did I know I was going to be staying at such a marvelous hotel. It is very cute and quaint compared to the massive skyscrapers on the beach and it was only a 5 minute walk to the beach through a vibrant and fun part of town. Room was clean and had a fun design. The view from the room was amazing! We looked over the Ala Wai canal and if you turned around you had the beach. The pool was chilly but if you hit it in the morning or at noon it was refreshing and invigorating. Very good hotel, would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to accommodate you by choosing to stay with us solely based reviews that you have read. I am so happy to hear that you were impressed with our property and that you enjoyed your room. Our housekeeping staff works hard to ensure that our rooms are kept exceptionally clean.

Thank you again for your review and for any future recommendations that you make to your friends and family.

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

At first blush, this hotel presented the impression that it was a somewhat dated and worn older hotel which was spruced up with a selection of vivid colors on the walls and furnishings to look more like a boutique hotel. However, the helpful staff, location, and cost compared to other hotels made one appreciate this facility the longer one stayed.



Pros:
- There may be cleaner hotel rooms, but this one was very acceptably clean and well-appointed.
- Small, but attractive and bright public areas.
- Exceptionally friendly and hard-working staff.
- Free continental breakfast.
- Approximately a ten minute walk to the beach and the hustle and bustle of Kalakaua Avenue.
- Located in a mostly quiet neighborhood on Ala Wai Boulevard and the canal.
- Each room has a private lanai.
- Small outdoor pool and fitness center.
- During a five night stay, no noise was heard from any other room within the hotel.
- A safe is conveniently located in each room.
- “Mountain View” rooms have views of the mountains and the Ala Wai Canal.
- Free Wi-Fi in the room

Cons:
- Some might consider the location too far from the beach.
- Parking is by valet and costs $26 a day.
- The smallest and most economical rooms are called “intimate” for a reason.
- The “City View” rooms offer views of other lanais and apartments which appear to be quite close.
- Although there seemed to be no sound transmission between rooms, sound from the street was significant at times.
- The lighting in the room could be increased.
- The free continental breakfast contains limited choices.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a Mountain View room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and hard working. Their goal is to meet and exceed all of our guests needs and expectations.

I am also glad that you found our location to be convenient. Being centrally located, everything that you need is within walking distance from the hotel. Some of our guests even prefer to not rent a car because shuttles, trolleys and the city bus is always readily available.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again!

Mahalo,

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This former "Best Western" has new owners, and has been renovated in recent months. It has a fresh, lively look compared to the cooler, more sedate appearance of "The Shoreline", its sister hotel a few blocks away.

The staff is absolutely delightful, and the renovations truly give it a small "boutique" hotel appearance. Unfortunately, they couldn't change all the room sizes, so some of the standard rooms are rather small and only have views of their neighbor's balcony, but you can avoid that by getting a "mountain-view king". It's almost a double-sized room, that's been completely renovated in almost every way that you can imagine - refrigerator, wet bar, desk and chair, new shower and sink, good-sized dresser, large TV, Wi-fi, and even new thick drapes to keep out the morning sun (which comes from the mountain side). Oh, and there's even a small balcony where you can sit outside, enjoying the fresh air and beautiful mountain view while sipping your evening cocktail.

The location will make you walk a bit farther than the "prime" Waikiki hotels (it's at the end of Lewers Street, at the Ali Wai canal), but it's still less than 1/2 mile to the heart of Waikiki, and if you don't want the exercise, check out The Shoreline, which has also been completely renovated by the new owners, and is 3-4 blocks closer (virtually in) the heart of Waikiki.

However, if you're in Honolulu on business, you may want to stay at the Coconut after all. The reason: Getting out of Waikiki traffic can be a real problem, but being right on Ali Wai, it's a breeze to drive to either the H-1, or to Nimitz.

Room Tip: Mountain-view king if you plan to spend much time in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your review and for recognizing our staff. It is great to hear that they had a positive influence on your stay. I am also glad that you found our location to be convenient while on both foot and wheels. I agree that with the help of our speedy valet, our business guests experience ease when coming and going throughout the days.

Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again!

Mahalo,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMONTON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Coconut Waikiki in July 2011 when we visited Oahu and day tripped to Maui. It was booked through our travel agent. We're planning to come back in July and I like the look of the Mountain View King room. Our last stay at the Coconut Waikiki had a ton of positives and very few negatives;

This hotel was great because:
1) it's affordable
2) it's right on the strip and close to the beach
3) all tours/activities/points of interest accessible
4) very knowledgeable, helpful, friendly consierge, front desk, and other hotel staff
5) they offer free healthy beverages (all day) and breakfasts consisting of local fruit
6) their air conditioning worked great (good for keeping all the chocolate macadamias we were bringing back cool).
7) free computer to use in the lobby very convenient to check on emails and pre-check into flights
8) comfortable beds and lots of storage, plus locking shelves and a safe
9) allowed us to stay later because of overnight flight back

Very few negatives,
1) Because of so many families during peak AM times, breakfast was chaotic, limited, and not as peaceful as it could have been. Put on sunglasses and retreated outside on patio to eat.
2) Room view was poor. Patio/shower window faced apartments and the people inside them.
3) Noisy bird (I'm serious) kept waking us up early every morning. Garbage trucks sometimes.
4) Room was small. This and the view was the travel agent's pick tho, not ours or the hotel's.

Room Tip: Consider the Mountain View King room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you were able to utilize all of the amenities that we have to offer. We strive to make everything as convenient as possible so that our guests can relax and enjoy their stay. I am also glad to hear that our staff was able to assist you with your questions.

If you do return in July, please give us a call. We love having return guests and we can help you book the room that is right for you. The mountain view rooms have a beautiful view that you can enjoy while sitting outside on the Lanai.

Thank you again!

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Great location friendly staff. Different from other Best Westerns in decor. Ended up getting a great rate online, near to mAny shops and restaurants. Looking forward to staying again, thank you for all your accommodations!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As of December 1, 2012 we are no longer operating under the Best Western brand. We are currently operating as a Joie de Vivre property which has been exciting because we have been adding and improving our amenities to better serve our guests.

I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coconut Waikiki Hotel is a refreshing blend of high-tech and mod design, our colorful Art Deco hotel offers a peaceful and playful vibe one block from shopping and only three block from Waikiki Beach. The hotel features a delightfully hip lobby and the following complimentary amenities: WiFi access in-room and throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, 40" or 42" LCD TV's, wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. A small, intimate pool area with wrap around deck and fitness center are available to all guests. Free continental breakfast for all guests will begin September 1, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western Coconut Waikiki
Aqua Coconut Plaza
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.