We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct, get 20% off
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Kelowna
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights of April 2013, in a city view room with two double beds. The room was small, with a very bathroom, but was decorated nicely. The bathroom was nothing fancy, but was clean and functional. The room is equipped with a key card that must be kept in to keep any AC on when you leave, which was okay for us but not possible with one key obviously. The beds were comfortable but not luxurious. Again, functional. The products in the bathroom were actually great. I'm not sure what brand they were. The location was great! It was within a block of bus stops and about a 5-10 minute walk to Waikiki Beach. In terms of beach location, this is one of the farther hotels, but it is a bonus to avoid the hostel crowds and the other busier locations. The breakfast consisted of boiled eggs and underripe fruit, with a few pastries. Don't count on it for multiple mornings. The coffee was, however, fantastic. Much better than any other coffee we had the entire trip! The free wifi was spotty, but at many other hotels I have had to pay $25+ for wifi, so it was a bonus. Free computers and printers downstairs in the lobby. Good service. Free towels to bring to the beach. We offer no downsides to this hotel with the exception of the food at the continental breakfast, and the fact that the pool was in the shade all morning. I reccommend it based on value alone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your review. Im glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel being centerally located in the middle of Waikiki, yet off the beaten path. A lot of guests find it more relaxing to be away from the crowded streets on the main strip.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced spotty wifi during your stay. We are currently working on inputting routers into every guest room which will result in stronger connections and increased speeds. Unlike other hotels, we will continue to not charge a resort fee for our amenities, they will remain strickly complimentary.

Thank you again!

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    599
    123
    29
    9
See reviews for
313
826
143
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston Metro
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Three blocks down from Waikiki Beach in a good location, a recently renovated former Best Western, fun and whimsical decor, valet service, friendly and helpful staff--all that is great. But....the rooms and bathrooms are TINY (even by European standards); the in-window air conditioners are so close to the bed that they blow right on you from 3 feet away and are noisy because they are in your ear; turning them off leaving the windows open--even on the top floor--the traffic noise kept us awake all night long. A Continental breakfast is served, but is very limited in items and sub-standard to the usual. These negatives might be a trade-off for a cheaper price, but paying over $200 per night plus $26/night for parking is unacceptable to us.

Room Tip: With balcony doors open, even on a high floor, we had a hard time sleeping due to night time traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your review and for recognizing the great personal service that our staff has to offer. I am sorry to hear that you found your room to be small and not up to your standards. We do have several room options such as our Executive Suite that may have been closer to the size that would have been more suitable for your needs.

I am also sorry to hear that you were not happy with our complimentary continental breakfast. We are currently working on phasing it out so that we can focus on improving and adding other amenities that our guests desire under the Joie de Vivre brand.

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Coconut Waikiki for four nights. We had been on an 18nt cruise from Sydney and this hotel ticked all the boxes for us. The staff cannot do enough for you. The hotel provides a small continental breakfast in the morning, perfect to get you started. Fresh mint water and juice is always available throughout the day. We took advantage of the free wi-fi, given the prices on the ship we seldom used the internet and the Hotel have 4 computers with printers to print your flight details, tours etc. The pool was perfect for a quick dip, however we chose to grab a complimentary beach towel and walk 5 mins to the beach. We booked a city view room with king size bed and found the room size to be awesome. Our view was to the canal and street which was fine for the time we spent in our room anyway. The bed was very comfortable, ensuite clean and well lit and we had a little balcony (lanai). A great place to eat is the Thai Restaurant next to the ABC shop just up from the Hotel, the best Thai we can honestly say we've ever had. Being Aussie, we're not used to having cream in our coffee, so we bought fresh milk from the ABC store. Loved the Hawaiian Kona coffee, complimentary sachet every day for the coffee machine and the lovely cleaning lady cleaned the machine for us, thankyou Coconut Waikiki for a great stay. We hope to come back to Oahu again and will definitely recommend your hotel to our friends and family. Mahalo.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a king size bed as the rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review of our hotel. It is great to hear that all of our amenities came in handy. The free wifi can be very helpful while on vacation. I am excited to inform you that we are currently upgrading our wifi system so that each room will have its own router which will result in better connections and faster speeds! This installation will also upgrade our televisions to offer High Definition channels. Thank you again and we appreciate your recommendations to your family and friends!

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrence KS
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights the end of April. The service was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. We needed a place to sleep and this fit the bill. The only complaint I have is the breakfast. It wasn't much, but I'm pretty happy with coffee. It was a little bit of a walk to the beach, but we enjoyed the walk and the people watching.

Room Tip: We had a room under the pool on the south side. Didn't notice any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have recieved many compliments on our beds in the past with people actually wanting to purchase them! I'm glad that you found it to be quite comfortable as well.

Thank you for recognizing our staff and their great service, it is greatly appreciated.

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great little hotel a little off the main drag - which makes it nice and quiet. Used our points for a weeks worth of stay - for some reason, alot of adverts indicate this hotel as still part of the Best Western chain, although it has been no longer associated for over 6 months.

This hotel is a great place to put your head down at night. To be honest, we would be gone by 9 in the morning and not return until 8pm most nights. This hotel is not a 5 star all inclusive, so don't expect it to be. Instead, its location down one of the side streets off the main drag, makes it an ideal short walk to get away from the downtown hustle and bustle of the tourist area.

The rooms are very clean - and the staff are excellent! Very friendly and helpful!

The continental breakfast was more than adequate, with fresh fruit, assorted muffins, croissant, toast, hard boiled eggs,and of course coffee, tea and assorted fruit juices. No complaints. There was continuous staff on hand replenishing the food during the breakfast hours.

The concierge was extremely helpful and knowledgable - I recommend using this great resource to find out, and quite often, book activities - makes it all the easier, especially for first timers to Hawaii.

I would have stayed at this hotel for our second week, but we were obligated to stay with a larger group we were travelling with at the Ohana East - I prefered the Coconut Waikiki for its location, cleanliness,and very friendly service. We plan to return again, and will book to stay here again!

Room Tip: no restaurent or bar in this hotel, but lots within walkign distance. There is a pool - but unfortun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review of our hotel. We appreciate all of your compliments about our property, amenities and our staff. They are continuously striving for excellence which is motivated through encouraging words such as yours.

I am sorry to hear that you were unable to stay with us for the second week of your vacation, but when you do return to Hawaii, we will be here to welcome you again!

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I where there for 2 weeks, and enjoyed are stay very much. We had a room on the 10 floor over looking the pool. We found very little road noise in are room.
The room had a microwave and small fridge with coffee maker. But you can get coffee in the lobby anytime. A nice breakfast comes with the room. The safe was great to store my laptop and cash. Bathroom is small, but very clean. Staff is very nice and will help out with almost anything.
We found it safe to walk back to the Hotel and night.
It's a easy walk to the beach, we found the Fort DeRussy Beach great, with lot's of room to set up. Also you have the park just behine the beach to play or kick a ball, or cool off and read a book. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your kind words pertaining our staff. From the front of the house to the housekeepers, I am glad to hear that they all contributed to your great stay! It is also great to hear that you were able to utilize all of the amenities that we have to offer. Our guests find that the 24 hour beverage services consisting of coffee, pineapple tea and cucumber mint water is especially refreshing after a day out in the sun.

Thank you for the great tip on Fort DeRussy Beach and Park! Our future guests will greatly appreciate it!

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel 3,5* with an outstanding staff!! Rooms are not big, but are very clean. The AC is quite to old and noisy so we prefered to sleep with open window!! Get a high floor awat fron Ala way ave because of the high traffic on it. Breakfast needs to be improved very poor choice of food. 5-10min walking from the beach we didnt use the pool, because its quite small and seems to be in a windy place... Would stay again and recommend. If you dont want to pay USD 26,00 a day you can park on ala way ave for free if u are lucky or you can pay USD 15,00 for 24hour parking only 3 blocks away the hotel in a private parking lot in front of the royal windham hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your review and for recognizing our staff! I am happy to hear that they were able to make such a great impression on your stay. Some of our rooms are on the small side, but our Housekeepers work hard to impress our guests with their cleanliness of the rooms. If you do return to Hawaii and stay with us again, you may want to check out our other rooms that we have to offer as some of them are more spacious. Please feel free to give us a call for more information as we always welcome our returnee guests!

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coconut Waikiki Hotel is a refreshing blend of high-tech and mod design, our colorful Art Deco hotel offers a peaceful and playful vibe one block from shopping and only three block from Waikiki Beach. The hotel features a delightfully hip lobby and the following complimentary amenities: WiFi access in-room and throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, 40" or 42" LCD TV's, wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. A small, intimate pool area with wrap around deck and fitness center are available to all guests. Free continental breakfast is available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western Coconut Waikiki
Aqua Coconut Plaza
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.