We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Waikiki at reasonable rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
surrey, british columbia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
“Good stay in Waikiki at reasonable rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed four nights at the Coconut Waikiki Hotel from April 18 to 22, 2013. Located at the corner of Lewers Street and Ala Wai Boulevard (approximately five easy to walk blocks from Waikiki Beach), I found the Coconut Waikiki Hotel to be a pleasant surprise.

My room was a 5th floor “Mountain View King”. It was a corner room, facing the Ala Wai Canal. With tax and the $26 per day parking fee, the total cost was $702.00 for four nights (without parking, my average nightly cost was $147.50, all tax in). Although small, my room was clean. The King sized bed was very comfortable, the linens and towels of noticeable quality, and the 40 inch flat screen tv appreciated. The room included a microwave oven and small fridge. The lanai (balcony) was extremely small (with two chairs), as was the washroom that featured only a shower (sorry gals, no tub here). There was plenty of road noise from busy Ali Wai Boulevard that fronts the hotel, which I drowned out by leaving the loud 1970s vintage air conditioner on at all times. One can tell that the hotel has been recently “refreshed”, no doubt as a result of the Joie de Vivre (“Joy of Life”) hotel chain taking over management of the property.

Pros:

1. Inexpensive by Waikiki standards if you get a Joie de Vivre “special rate”.

2. Small but comfortable rooms in an older property that has been recently “refreshed”.

3. Walking distance to everything Waikiki has to offer. You do not need a rental car, but if you do get a rental car for excursions outside of Waikiki, parking at the Coconut Waikiki is “valet only” at a cost of $26 per 24-hour period, plus tips. There is no free street parking near the hotel.

4. Friendly, young, front desk and valet staff.

5. Free in-room Wi-Fi internet, as well as four computers (with internet connectivity) in the front lobby area for use by guests.

6. Basic breakfast included in room rate.

7. Large, modern, flat screen televisions, with plenty of channels to watch (if one is inclined to watch tv while on vacation in Hawaii).

8. Neighborhood appeared safe.

Cons:

1. Tiny pool on the south side of the property, about the size of a hot tub at most resorts. I dare say you cannot call it a swimming pool - too small to swim in. Kids will not notice, but not an adult oriented or sun tanning pool.

2. There was plenty of road noise from busy Ali Wai Boulevard that fronts the hotel. Room windows and glass balcony doors need to be replaced with modern, thick, noise blocking glass.

3. The ancient 1970s era in-room air conditioners need to be replaced with quiet, modern, energy efficient, air conditioners.

4. Lack of a proper swimming pool for lounging and sun tanning.

5. No bar or restaurant on site.

Conclusion:

Overall, I give the Coconut Waikiki Hotel two-thumbs up and a score of 7 out of 10. I definitely will stay at the Coconut Waikiki Hotel again, especially if staying on Waikiki Beach is not a priority.

Room Tip: Be aware that Ala Wai Boulevard is busy 24 hours a day, and a room fronting onto Ala Wai Canal will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all of the amenities that we have to offer. As a Joie de Vivre property, we are constantly working on improving our amenities in order to suit our guest's needs and to ensure a smooth and pleasant stay.

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    589
    122
    29
    8
See reviews for
311
818
143
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The room was smell, but otherwise I would say there was little to complain about... All was very well kept and we'll cleaned, the staff seemed nice (though the concierge was not helpful about finding a nearby lite fare restaurant), and the price was right. Good rate for a not large but very nice room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our housekeeping staff works hard to keep everything fresh & clean and appreciate your recognition.

I am sorry to hear that you found the room to be small for your needs. We offer several different room categories which comes in different sizes and bedding types. If you come stay with us again it would be a good idea to opt for a larger room.

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, CO
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights while at a conference with my wife and 12-year old boy. It was an easy 5-7 minute walk to Waikiki Beach with free internet and a decent, but not great complimentary breakfast. In looking at the room options, we opted for an Executive Suite. For about $25 more a night, there was a lot more room than one of their standard rooms, and traveling with a 12-year old, it gave us all more room and extra bathroom. Good value location, but not on the beach. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more and get the executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear that you were able to utilize our complimentary amenities that we have to offer here at our hotel. The executive suite is a great option when traveling with children because it is so much roomier for only a small price difference. I hope you and your family had a great time with us and hopefully you can return for "strictly" vacation one day!

Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great hotel, they did more than they should to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Breakfast was just the right size for the days activities and the weather in Hawaii. It always featured fresh fruit and pastries. There was always hot coffee, tea and chilled water available at the breakfast bar. The tea is made with pineapple, so it is a little bit different it you are use to southern sweet tea. Coffee drinkers will enjoy the coffee at the hotel. I made a trip down to the lobby each morning around 4 AM to get coffee and I took the large cup from the room for my coffee.
The décor is dated but it reminds you of the original Hawaii 5 0. You can just picture yourself living in Hawaii while they are filming Hawaii 5 0. We had plenty of towels and they were changed each day. The bed is comfortable and there is plenty of space to walk around it. The room had a lot of conveniences such as a microwave, coffee maker and dishes. You can bring back your meal to the room and relax after a long day of sight seeing while eating.
The concierge helped us greatly. He made arrangements for transportation, gave us directions and suggested places to go.
The hotel staff made numerous arrangements for us and all of them fell into place without a hitch.

We were on the 6th floor and the noise level was not bad. Honolulu is a town that does not sleep so you have traffic and other noises nearly 24 hours a day. But the room was quiet and peaceful.
I highly recommend this hotel for either a couple of family.

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct and let them know what type of room you want. The higher floors have the bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for your very nice review detailing your stay at the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! Glad you enjoyed your stay and had a few Hawaii 5-0 memories envoked!

We're happy you enjoyed the conveniences of the room as well as the decor and location. However, we are especially appreciative of your very kind words of our staff! We pride ourselves on our service and dedication and are very happy your stay was more enjoyable for it! Our concierge is a very knowledgeable individual and it's great he was able to assist you in planning activities and making suggestions! Mahalo for your very nice words - we'll be sure to share them with the rest of the staff.

Take care and if you find your travels bringing you back to Hawaii, we hope to see you again!

Mahalo,

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Made our reservation as a Best Western hotel; surprised by change. All worked out OK and our group of six people in three rooms was given a hospitality room to clean up in after checking out but before going to catch a late flight. Our room was very small but comfortable and restful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha,

Thanks very much for your review. It's great to see the recent changes had no effect on your trip and that you enjoyed your stay just the same. We were happy to have been able to accomodate you and the others with a hospitality room so you could enjoy a bit more time at the beach on your last day!

Mahalo for staying!

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

after a lot of research we booked coconut as we hoped it would be a good midrange hotel given that in honolulu if you want nice you really have to pay for it!
however on the whole we were disappointed
the valet parking is really quite expensive ($26) and there is no off road parking nearby.
of the 6 electric sockets in the room we could only get 2 to work, no main celling light so room was lit by only two lamps which made it very dark
breakfast was about what we expected, toast and mini muffins
main saving grace is that is is central but set back fro the road which does assumedly reduce the noise
staff were helpful on the whole, there is a trip organiser who sits in the lobby who we never ourselves used but he seemed to have a constant supply of smiling customers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It's unfortunate to learn you were disappointed with your stay.

We're sorry to learn of the trouble with the electrical outlets in your room - that is an issue we will be sure to correct immediately. Our valet parking may seem a bit steep, but it is actually on par with surrounding prices for self-parking. We find it a great value compared to the public parking garages charging about the same price with time limiations.

We are happy to hear you did have a positive experience with our staff and enjoyed the location of the hotel.

Once again, we apologize for your disappointment but we truly appreciate your feedback!

Mahalo again and take care.

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Away from the hustle bustle but within a short walk to the beach. Perfect hotel and location to tour from. Exceptionally clean, quality linens ie: toweling and bedding and very comfortable, well lit guestroom. A solid 3.5 star hotel well priced for Waikiki. The photos are exactly what you get and the art deco uplifting and refreshing. What makes this hotel so special is the wonderful guest service ...professional and friendly. I highly recommend it and very suitable for couples and seniors.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal and mountains provide a lovely view...beautiful breeze on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Aloha,

We are thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! It's great to see your high marks on everything from location to value to cleanliness! Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the staff - we try our best to offer a personal, memorable stay. We love what we do and hope it shows through our interactions with all of you!

Mahalo for the recommendation, for staying with us and all of your kinds words!

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coconut Waikiki Hotel is a refreshing blend of high-tech and mod design, our colorful Art Deco hotel offers a peaceful and playful vibe one block from shopping and only three block from Waikiki Beach. The hotel features a delightfully hip lobby and the following complimentary amenities: WiFi access in-room and throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, 40" or 42" LCD TV's, wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. A small, intimate pool area with wrap around deck and fitness center are available to all guests. Free continental breakfast for all guests will begin September 1, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western Coconut Waikiki
Aqua Coconut Plaza
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.