We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect & Practical hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and Save 25%
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect & Practical hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Being our first trip to Honolulu, we were quite worried about finding the right place, after some research on TripAdvisor (no kidding) we booked the Coconut Waikiki. We got a lovely mountain view room and it was ideal. Small, functional and just right considering we would be spending more time outside than in. The TV & Radio kept us company when we were inside, and there were other goodies like a microwave and a little fridge- which turned out to be a blessing because we did end up bringing back a lot of food and eating it later. :) A little pantry with some dishes allowed us to bring in some takeaway and enjoy a relaxed evening inside the room as well. I was quite surprised that each room had a window Aircon. It took some getting used to (in terms of controls) but by the 2nd night I was the airconMaster! Incase one wishes to enjoy the amazing Hawaii Breeze, one can just keep the balcony windows open and you realize that you don't need an aircon.

The staff there were simply AWESOME! Courteous and very helpful!

My only grouse would be the relatively expensive parking, but the ease of the valet and the peace of mind that the car is safe compensated for that price.

Coconut waikiki is located a short walk from most of the restaurants around waikiki- and a walk from the Waikiki beach. While in a car the GPS does take you on a slightly longer route, once you get a hang of the layout, you will just ignore the GPS.

We found the coconut waikiki to be an ideal place to make a holiday in hawaii very memorable.

Room Tip: The rooms with the Mountain views are good, but sometimes to road noise (Emergency vehicles) can cre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha,

We are thrilled you chose us after doing research on TripAdvisor - and especially for such an occassion as your first trip to Honolulu! It's great to see we have lived up to your expectations and maybe your first Honolulu holiday an ejoyable one.

Thank you very much for the kind comments regarding the staff as they love what they do and take great pride in helping each guest to have a memorable stay. We're also glad you mastered our aircons - definitely a great skill to have on a hot Hawaiian day!

Mahalo for your very nice words and we're happy to have been your ideal place for a holiday in Hawaii!

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    560
    120
    29
    8
See reviews for
301
790
137
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a two-night stay at this hotel, coming from Kauai prior to travelling to Asia, and were pleasantly pleased with the property and the hotel ammentites. Our upgraded room was spacious with a frig, microwave, sink, and some dishes and cutlery which enabled us on our last night to enjoy ordered in pizza. The decor was shades of white and lime green which remarkably worked and was repeated in other areas of the hotel. A small balcony opened onto a side alley, but would accommodate smokers (we are non-smokers). There was a huge closet area and a large flat-screen T.V. Wi-Fi was included and a desk with lamp provided to accommodate a laptop. A small area on the main floor is set aside for the complimentary breakfast, more of a continental nature, but with a toaster, yogurt, fresh breads and buns, and small packaged travel cereals. We really appreciated the large glass containers of fresh juices and water that were on offer all day and night. Although it rained for most of our stay, the location was only 5 minutes from the shopping and dining areas - Kuhio & Kalakua, and about 10 minutes from Waikiki Beach. It is a great location for walkers, like ourselves as one can follow the canal around to the Ala Wai Yacht Harbor and the Hilton Lagoon. Perhaps it would be a little far to the beach for a family hugging beach equipment. Our airport transfer and tour company were both familiar with this hotel. It was an unanticipated delight, with good value after a trip mainly focused on the other islands.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your kind words! We appreciate you chose us for your quick layover in Honolulu and took time to write a nice review detailing your experience with us. Many people find the location of the hotel to be an attractive feature as well as the hotel overall to be a great value and we're very happy your feelings were consistent with that. Thanks also for taking the time to mention all the little things such as the amenities, the decor, etc. We try to create a unique experience with a more personalized service

We're very happy to hear of your positive experience. Mahalo once again and we hope to see you back in the future!

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wallerawang
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

we just spent 6 nights at Coconut Waikiki, from the moment we entered this hotel we were pleased with our choice and delighted with our upgrade to an executive suite. This small but modern and clean hotel was a fantastic choice. I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews prior to our stay but I should not have had any reservations as it is rated highly on Tripadvisor for a reason, it is great value for money!!.

Our room was large, comfortable and modern, the room was cleaned daily by dedicated staff , each day we came back to everything sparkling and welcoming.

It is a little walk from the beach but dont let this put you off, as I mean 5 minutes, lots of great restaurants all around and a major bus stop 1 street away in Kuhio Street.

As mentioned by others breakfast is not anything special, however if you just want a coffee and toast or pastry and some fruit it is sufficient. There is a IHop about a 2 minute walk away if you want a more substantial breakfast. Kalakaua Avenue (main strip) is only 2 blocks away and very easy to access. Its a safe area and we had no problems walking back to the hotel from our many tours, shopping and restaurant trips during our stay

Would I recommend this hotel to others, DEFINATELY!! this is a solid 3.5 star hotel, friends stayed at another hotel and were very disappointed as there hotel was old and unkept and needed renovating. Ours was a delight, towels and linen were excellent, bed and pillows were super comfortable.

thank you to Sean the Manager, you made our trip memorable

Room Tip: there is a great restaurant about 300 metres from the hotel called Siam Square, a Thai restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for taking a few moments to review your experiences at the Coconut Waikiki Hotel. To be able to meet your expectations from the moment you walked through the doors to the moment of your departure is exactly what we are aiming for and our goal for each guest!

We're very happy you enjoyed the executive suite as the extra space does go a long way! Thank you for mentioning the housekeeping staff - we agree they are dedicated and work very hard to uphold high standards for our guests' satisfaction.

Your kind words are very much appreciated and if your travels bring you back to Hawaii, we look forward to seeing you again!

Mahalo nui,

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here Feb 18 - 24, 2013 for our honeymoon.

There was a big surfing competition happening in Oahu and it was spring recess for a lot of the kids during the week we were there. The night rates were quite high going on Priceline and luckily I had this reserved as a back-up! Priceline was easily going above 150 for some of the older places.

Front Desk

- The people at front desk were always very friendly and helpful! Always had a smile and helped us with beach towels too!

Breakfast: (5/5 for free continental breakfast)

- They have a small continental breakfast in the morning for the guests
- The fruit was really fresh and had pineapple everyday!
- The staff made an effort to continually stock up the items running low
- There was a spam pastry / bun with egg that was really yummy!


Location (5/5)

- it's located at the back of the major area along ala wai.
- But it's really close to everything. you can literally walk 10 minutes and you could make it to all the big locations or restaurants


Parking (2/5)

- Unfortunately this hotel charges 25 dollars for valet parking
- There's a commercial building just two blocks over with 24 hour parking for just 15 dollars
- Or you can park on Ala Wai for free (Mon and Fri Mornings there's street cleaning). It's also a random luck of the draw if you find a spot or not. We actually got really lucky and got 5 nights of street parking.

Room (3/5)

- Part of Joie De Vivre's strategy, take an old hotel and give it a new coat of paint. i can't complain about the new renovation. Everything was clean and tidy
- The only problem we had was the electronic card that you slot inside your room to turn on electricity was also connected to a room light that wasn't wanting to turn off no matter how we pressed it. In the end we had to pull the card out, luckily the weather was cool enough that we didn't need the AC
- Noise @ Night - i read this on other reviews going down for this trip from Trip Advisor. There were several nights that I heard sirens outside from Police etc ... or some people that were a little drunk and shouting. But luckily, we're both pretty good sleepers and it didn't affect us at all. We got a room that faced Ala wai and the morning sun rise was really beautiful! If you're a really light sleeper, you might want to have a room facing away from the streets.
- Room service and the sheets were clean and tidy every day. No complaints!
- Only thing about our room was that they had one window where you rotate multiple panes to close the window. (Not your common windows you have at home) and I think cause they were not the usual sealed windows that they allowed more noise from the street more.
- Wifi is free and worked great!

Other
- Their pool is really small and it was really windy when we were there. So i dont think anyone used it much.
- I've stayed at other Joie De Vivres, such as Joie De Vire Custom Hotel in LA, and Avatar hotel in Santa Clara. This was definitely one of the best ones I've been to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Aloha,

Congratulations to you newlyweds! We are happy that we had the pleasure to accommodate you on such a special occasion!

Thank you for recognizing all of our staff from the front desk to the housekeepers. Their main goal is to assist our guests in every way possible to have an enjoyable stay and it means a lot to them to receive such great compliments.

We are sorry to hear that you were having difficulties with the Green Key switch. We normally do not have any issues and apologize for any inconvenience that it may have caused. We appreciate your feedback as it will help us in our continuous strive save the environment.

Mahalo,

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I just spent 10 nights at this charming hotel.
We had a big room on the 10th floor. Beautifull view of the mountains and canal and if I craned my neck a bit standing on the balcony I could even see a glimpse of the ocean. The bed was comfortable and we used the practical little kitchenette. They also have free Wifi wich always is a big plus for me.
The only bad thing I have to say about the room is that hotel still has the old fashioned jalousie windows that are not very good a blocking out noise. It was very windy and the wind was able to run through the closed window panes and make a lot of noise that what, traffic noise was also quite loud even though we where on the 10th floor.
The breakfast was horrible in our opinion, and there where nowhere for us to sit and eat it the first day we came down. After that we decided to simply skip eating it and opted for buying breakfast at Starbucks or shopping fruit and yoghurt at a supermarket instead.
This hotel is a couple of blocks from the beach, and the pool area is tiny, so if you are planning to spend all your time by the pool or on Waikiki this hotel is not for you.
If however, you are more of an explorer like me, the hotel is really good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that your room was to your liking and helped you to enjoy the tropical beauty of Hawaii. Being that we are centrally located, it is a convenient walk to the beach, shops and restaurants nearby.

We are sorry to hear that the complimentary continental breakfast was not to your liking. This was an amenity of our prior brand and we are currently in the process of phasing it out and focusing on other amenities to better satisfy our Joie de Vivre guests. All of our rooms contain mini-fridges that sure do come in handy when you need a place to store your store bought items.

Mahalo again for your response,

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here at the Coconut Waikiki Hotel on route to Australia. We really enjoyed the hotel, and being just off the main strip was great, as it was quieter than other places I have stayed at in Waikiki previously. The pool was a little on the small side, but still refreshing! Food was quite good and service up to the usual Joie de Vivre standards. We have stayed at other hotels by the group in San Francisco and San Diego previously.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Front Office Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Coconut Waikiki Hotel. We appreciate your kind words and are very happy you really enjoyed the hotel. We agree our hotel is a bit more off the main strip and, as you've noted, we enjoy a bit more relaxed atmosphere! We've thrilled we lived up to the standards Joie De Vivre is known for.

Mahalo once again for your kind review and we hope you enjoyed your time both in Hawaii and Australia!

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A number of years ago we stayed in a Joie de Vivre Hotel in San Francisco and had one of our most enjoyable stays at a hotel from quality of service to amenities. So even though we used air mile points to stay here for 2 nights enroute to other islands, we were happy to hear that the hotel is now a Joie de Vivre Hotel. But....either San Franscisico was way too good or this one was way too average. We arrived at around 12:30 to a front desk staff who could have been a bit more friendly but no big deal. We were given, which we found out after afterwards an upgrade to a room which was large, had two bathrooms and two small balconies overlooking the canal on an angle and one side of an apartment?hotel? across the street. The room was clean and bed was comfy. Street noise was expected. The first morning when we arrived for breakfast, we only saw cereal, toast and fruit. We then chose to go out for breakfast. The second morning we had already decided to go out and saw people eating hard boiled eggs with their toast. As previous reviewers have mentioned, this hotel so needs to improve their breakfast offerings and am quite surprised that the manager continues to respond to these comments with no evidence of change. Personally if we were going to stay in Waikiki and, not as a stop over, we would choose to stay at a hotel on the beach. Having said this, the hotel is an easy walk to the main streets and beach for those who want to save their money as hotels in Waikiki are expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Aloha Breezy,

Thank you for your honest feedback from your recent stay at Coconut Waikiki Hotel! It is disappointing to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and will share your feedback with our management so that we may explore ways to enhance our offerings. I truly do apologize that our breakfast options have not improved nor met your expectations. I will continue to find different ways to enhance the item options for our continental breakfast. Thank you again for your review and comments. If you have any additional feedback in regards to your stay I would welcome to hear it. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coconut Waikiki Hotel is a refreshing blend of high-tech and mod design, our colorful Art Deco hotel offers a peaceful and playful vibe one block from shopping and only three block from Waikiki Beach. The hotel features a delightfully hip lobby and the following complimentary amenities: WiFi access in-room and throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, 40" or 42" LCD TV's, wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. A small, intimate pool area with wrap around deck and fitness center are available to all guests. Free continental breakfast for all guests will begin September 1, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western Coconut Waikiki
Aqua Coconut Plaza
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.