We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Let's Be Direct
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
210 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good option in Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Booked via BW (when it was still part of that chain) for 135$ + tax. This one is located on the outskirts of the main drag in Waikiki, but still in walking distance from the superb beaches of Waikiki. Late check in , courteous staff and all, fast and efficient.

The room I got overlooked the canal and mountains, so the morning view was quite nice. The room had a pastel green motif, with 1950s vibe, yet modern. Good queen bed, nice little kitchen corner efficiency, shower bathroom, free wifi...makes for a pleasant stay.

The gym itself was small with older equipment, elliptical making a grinding noise, not conducive to exercising. Pool was smallish, but given your 10 minutes walk from the pacific, not a necesity. Valet parking was around 26$. The breakfast provided was usual BW fare (waffle, cereals, fruits, pastries, toasts....) but all free.

Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha Lubiere,

A very warm greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel!! We thank you for providing us your feedback on your recent stay. While we never want to hear that someone’s stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services.

We sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience of not being able to accommodate you with the more up to date fitness equipment and that it did not work as it should. We are glad that you were able to wake up in the morning to a nice view. I will definitely communicate your feedback to my management staff to see how we can enhance our offerings we now offer in the near future.

Lubiere, once again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that we were not able to exceed your expectations and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    650
    138
    31
    10
See reviews for
338
890
150
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, NZ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Coconut Waikiki was a stopover en route back to mainland US. It is convenient to the airport, quieter than many of the hotels right on the beach, and very pleasant.
They upgraded our room, and we had a suite, which was pleasant.
WiFi was free and easy to use.
The continental breakfast was supplemented with fresh fruit.
I probably would not recommend for a long vacation but this is a fine place for a shorter visit, and handy to all the Waikiki attractions.

Room Tip: The higher the better! "Mountain" views are cheaper, and have nice outdoor porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Aloha Peter A,

A very warm and lovely greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We are delighted to receive your positive feedback in-regards to your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read positive feedback from our valued guests, thus; we are glad that we met with your expectation during your short stay. Indeed, an upgrade to a suite is always great and we are glad you were able to enjoy it.

Peter A, once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your beautiful feedback, hence; choosing us the Coconut Waikiki for your overnight stay on Oahu. The entire team is definitely looking forward to welcoming you back to the Waikiki very soon once again.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is not the best in the world but the personel sure make up for it. There wasn't one person that didn't gree you with a smile and a friendly comment. the breakfast could be inproved but was reasonable. Had a great holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha KATRINA M,

It is always a pleasure to read beautiful feedback from our valued guests. Indeed, our staff was part of your holiday and turning it into a memorable experience.

While we acknowledge the positive feedback, we would also like to thank you for your view in-regards to the breakfast on that it could be improved and surely we will look into this on how we may enhance our offerings.

Mr. KATRINA M, once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your beautiful feedback, hence; choosing us the Coconut Waikiki for your holiday escape. The entire team is definitely looking forward to welcoming you back to the Waikiki very soon once again.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent just one night at the hotel and we just didn't like it. It was old fashioned, noisy and not that clean. Our view from the room was nothing like hawaian tropical paradise but a crowded street with a lot of cars and a green canal. The breakfat was horrible. The only plus is the balcony and that the hotel is at a walking distance from the center. If in Honoloulu again, I would book a room in a hotel on Waikiki beach directly or, better, in the northen-east side of the island (near Hanauma Bay for instance). I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Aloha miccinil,

Thank you for your honest feedback from your recent stay at Coconut Waikiki Hotel!. It is disappointing to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and I will share your feedback with our management so that we may explore ways to enhance our offerings. I truly apologize that our rooms were not to your liking and that you were inconvenienced by the traffic noise. I can assure you that we handle feedback from our guests very serious and will look into new ways of improving our product. We pride ourselves of the utmost level of service. Thank you again for your review and comments. If you have any additional feedback in regards to your stay I would welcome to hear it. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
166 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
555 helpful votes 555 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when a storm was blowing through Waikiki. I booked a mountain view room specifically because other reviewers said they were quieter than the city-facing ones. Unfortunately, the wind was coming from the mountains, and it shook the glass on the sliding doors all night. It sounded like someone was trying to get in. As a result, I got very little sleep before my 20-hour flight home the next day.

The hotel was recently renovated but already things are looking tired. The sliding door on the closet came off the track, one of the table lamps was broken, and there were a few other niggles.

This isn't a bad hotel, and it's definitely less expensive than most. The front desk was good, from what we could tell -- we had limited contact with the staff because we left very early the next morning.

But the construction and renovation are not first-rate, which I'm sure contributed to the noise issues. If it had been a calm windless night, I would probably have rated this hotel higher. We recently stayed in.a Joie de Vivre hotel in San Francisco that was much better, and the contrast added to our disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Aloha Skyetraveler,

A very warm greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel!! We thank you for providing us your feedback on your recent stay. While we never want to hear that someone’s stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services.

We sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience of not being able to accommodate you with the most up to date windows in this case you had to experience an unpleasant shaking of the windows and sliding doors. I will be communicating this critical feedback to my management staff to see how we can find a permanent solution for this unfortunate inconvenience. I can assure you that our staff if encountered would have enjoyed an opportunity to assist are making your residence with us much better than you had; we pride ourselves on providing the utmost in guest services as well as a quality experience.

Skyetraveler, once again my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that we were not able to exceed your expectations and we hope you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This Hotel was everything that we expected it to be, and more! We travelled to Honolulu over the Christmas holidays. We booked this hotel based on very positive reviews and also the price for our stay! The complimentaty breakfast also came in handy as well. (Unfortunately waffles aren't served anymore but it really wasn't a huge loss!) We loved the staff there, they were incredibly accomodating to our needs. We stayed on the 9th floor in room 902. It was awesome! It was considered a city view but to our left off of the lanai we could clearly see the ocean and to our right we could see the Ala Wai Canal. It was so perfect. Ala Wai Blvd is a fairly busy street but the noise wasn't a problem at all for us because of being on the 9th floor. Clayton at the concierge desk in the lobby was wonderful. Set us up for snorkling at Hanauma Bay which was a highlight of our trip and a must do for everyone! All in all, this hotel was suited very well for our needs and it's only a short walk to the beach and an even shorter walk to the main streets in Waikiki!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut W, Manager at Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Aloha Janelle R,


A very warm and lovely greeting from the entire team of the Coconut Waikiki Hotel! We are delighted to receive your beautiful feedback in-regards to your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to read beautiful feedback from our valued guests, thus; we are glad that we met with your expectation during your stay. Indeed, our staff was part of your holiday and turning it into a memorable experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your snorkeling at Hanauma Bay.

Janelle R, once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your beautiful feedback, hence; choosing us the Coconut Waikiki for your holiday escape. The entire team is definitely looking forward to welcoming you back to the Waikiki very soon once again.

Mahalo,,

Sean Gabriel
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coconut Waikiki Hotel is a refreshing blend of high-tech and mod design, our colorful Art Deco hotel offers a peaceful and playful vibe one block from shopping and only three block from Waikiki Beach. The hotel features a delightfully hip lobby and the following complimentary amenities: WiFi access in-room and throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, 40" or 42" LCD TV's, wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. A small, intimate pool area with wrap around deck and fitness center are available to all guests. Free continental breakfast is available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western Coconut Waikiki
Aqua Coconut Plaza
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.