We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near the canal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct, get 20% off
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Phuket
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near the canal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, with a great continental breakfeast, you can even make your own waffles, which I have not seen before.
Free coffee, pineapple tea and cucumber water available throughout the day.
Room was good with a queen size bed, nice kitchenette if you wanted to microwave or make a coffee.
Only negatives I could think of the wifi was slow at some points, but they did have free computers in the lobby which worked quickly.
Free towels for beach use and they did have a pool we did not use. It always seemed to be windy around the hotel due to the canal, but as soon as you walked to the beach it was hot and calm.

Would reccomend the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    599
    123
    29
    9
See reviews for
313
826
143
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for five nights for Thanksgiving 2012. The hotel is clean and the hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast area is right in the lobby and was kept clean throughout the morning. Their is a sign in the breakfast area that says something like "All food must be consumed in the breakfast area", which made me feel like I was going to get in trouble for taking breakfast up to my room each morning.

Each floor has 10 rooms and the hotel has 10 floors. The _05 rooms have a view over the canal. From the hotel floor plan, it looks like the _08 rooms are the largest. There are steps from the 10th floor that go to the penthouse, which I didn't see bookable online.

The location is about as far away as you can get from the beach within Waikiki, but that also means it's away from the crowds. It's a short walk to the beach and several restaurants. We will definitely consider this hotel for our next (8th) trip to Waikiki.

Room Tip: There is a shuttle service in the hotel just down the street (towards the beach) that offered a ride...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife, 5 year old son and I stayed here for 4 nights in November and we were very pleased and we really don’t have anything negative to say. Here are the positive points:
- The staff were really friendly and helpful, even before our arrival with their prompt answers to a few emails.
- The room was great and included a “mini kitchen” area, ie sink, cupboard, microwave and fridge).
- The valet parking (only option available) was quick and efficient.
- The continental breakfast exceeded our expectations. We only expected muffins, juice and coffee but they also had waffle makers, cereals, eggs, sausages and pastries! That or perhaps I underestimate what a continental breakfast includes.
- The wifi worked very well and the hotel also provides free access to four computers connected to a printer in the lobby, so you can check in online and print up your boarding passes (assuming you don’t do this with your smart phone)
- The building, lobby, rooms, etc are up to date and have that “boutique” hotel look and feel to it.
- The concierge is very helpful and can book a number of different items for you.

There is also a pool but we never tried it as we were out all of the time during the day.

Location wise is pretty good too, only needing a 5 to 10 minute walk to Waikiki Beach, along with all its stores and restaurants.

We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in November 2012. It was just my husband and I in the standard room with a king bed and the room seemed so tiny. It was nice having a fridge in the room, but the pictures of rooms I had seen didn't show how cramped they were. Maybe our room was just a smaller one, but we would pay more to stay somewhere else. It was nice to have a free breakfast, but I have had better continental breakfasts when staying in other hotels. A good thing was that the staff was pretty nice, but it did take them a while to help us when all we wanted them to do was call us a cab for the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

During our last trip to Waikiki, we stayed at a few different places. We stayed here because I wanted to use up our frequent flyer points. Would have been better to just paid because it took all our points. Anyway we stayed 4 night and only paid for one (cash). Whoever decorated this hotel sure had an imagination, loved the colours and patterns. Rooms are comfortable with large bed, little kitchette, nice seating area, balcony, and a tiny bathroom. Felt good to hang around. Rooms are attended to daily & even though we asked for a complete cleaning daily, only the bare essentials were done - clean towels, coffee packets, and the bed was made. Cleaning could have been more thorough. WiFi in room worked perfectly & there is free computer use in lobby. Morning breakfast was great but sometimes ran out of sausage which upset my husband. Location is nice & area is fairly quiet however, for me, too far from the beach. My husband did walk to the golf course so he was happy. Front desk staff are great and they even give you a towel that you can take to the beach. Pool clean just a little too cool. For the most part our time here was pleasant and we were happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coconut Waikiki Hotel is a refreshing blend of high-tech and mod design, our colorful Art Deco hotel offers a peaceful and playful vibe one block from shopping and only three block from Waikiki Beach. The hotel features a delightfully hip lobby and the following complimentary amenities: WiFi access in-room and throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, 40" or 42" LCD TV's, wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. A small, intimate pool area with wrap around deck and fitness center are available to all guests. Free continental breakfast is available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western Coconut Waikiki
Aqua Coconut Plaza
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.