We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Montreal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife, 5 year old son and I stayed here for 4 nights in November and we were very pleased and we really don’t have anything negative to say. Here are the positive points:
- The staff were really friendly and helpful, even before our arrival with their prompt answers to a few emails.
- The room was great and included a “mini kitchen” area, ie sink, cupboard, microwave and fridge).
- The valet parking (only option available) was quick and efficient.
- The continental breakfast exceeded our expectations. We only expected muffins, juice and coffee but they also had waffle makers, cereals, eggs, sausages and pastries! That or perhaps I underestimate what a continental breakfast includes.
- The wifi worked very well and the hotel also provides free access to four computers connected to a printer in the lobby, so you can check in online and print up your boarding passes (assuming you don’t do this with your smart phone)
- The building, lobby, rooms, etc are up to date and have that “boutique” hotel look and feel to it.
- The concierge is very helpful and can book a number of different items for you.

There is also a pool but we never tried it as we were out all of the time during the day.

Location wise is pretty good too, only needing a 5 to 10 minute walk to Waikiki Beach, along with all its stores and restaurants.

We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    589
    122
    29
    8
See reviews for
311
819
143
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in November 2012. It was just my husband and I in the standard room with a king bed and the room seemed so tiny. It was nice having a fridge in the room, but the pictures of rooms I had seen didn't show how cramped they were. Maybe our room was just a smaller one, but we would pay more to stay somewhere else. It was nice to have a free breakfast, but I have had better continental breakfasts when staying in other hotels. A good thing was that the staff was pretty nice, but it did take them a while to help us when all we wanted them to do was call us a cab for the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

During our last trip to Waikiki, we stayed at a few different places. We stayed here because I wanted to use up our frequent flyer points. Would have been better to just paid because it took all our points. Anyway we stayed 4 night and only paid for one (cash). Whoever decorated this hotel sure had an imagination, loved the colours and patterns. Rooms are comfortable with large bed, little kitchette, nice seating area, balcony, and a tiny bathroom. Felt good to hang around. Rooms are attended to daily & even though we asked for a complete cleaning daily, only the bare essentials were done - clean towels, coffee packets, and the bed was made. Cleaning could have been more thorough. WiFi in room worked perfectly & there is free computer use in lobby. Morning breakfast was great but sometimes ran out of sausage which upset my husband. Location is nice & area is fairly quiet however, for me, too far from the beach. My husband did walk to the golf course so he was happy. Front desk staff are great and they even give you a towel that you can take to the beach. Pool clean just a little too cool. For the most part our time here was pleasant and we were happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, b.c.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in November 2012. We and our family had 2 rooms booked and the air conditioners in both rooms were really noisy! We turned the air conditioner off then the room was too hot- so we turned the air conditioner back on and put up with the loud noise- our sleep was TERRIBLE. The rooms also could be a little updated. For breakfast, they ran out of some food items 2 hours before the end of breakfast and didn't replenish! However the positive side that the staff was friendly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

An excellent hotel for any type of Waikiki stay. Good clean rooms, a great view over the canal and golf course towards the mountains, breakfast included in tariff, and also free computer access. It's a few minutes walk to the main tourist areas and the beach; but this helps to keep things a little quieter overnight.
Very helpful and happy staff were always ready to advise or assist with any request; thanks to Raquel and the rest of the team at "The Coconut".

Room Tip: Rooms with their balconies overlooking the canal would certainly be the better ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coconut Waikiki Hotel is a refreshing blend of high-tech and mod design, our colorful Art Deco hotel offers a peaceful and playful vibe one block from shopping and only three block from Waikiki Beach. The hotel features a delightfully hip lobby and the following complimentary amenities: WiFi access in-room and throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, 40" or 42" LCD TV's, wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. A small, intimate pool area with wrap around deck and fitness center are available to all guests. Free continental breakfast for all guests will begin September 1, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western Coconut Waikiki
Aqua Coconut Plaza
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.