We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, classic place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Save Saved
You added Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and Save 30%
Ranked #17 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice, classic place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nites........hotel is 2 blocks from the main tourist area. Quiet in the evening. Four computers with printers in the lobby for guest use. Small swimming pool and sun deck. Free continental breakfast in lobby. Rooms are very clean and have 42" flatscreen TV (nice). Valet parking (inside) is $24 per nite. A bit pricey. Clothes washer & dryer ($2 ea. to use) in building (came in handy). Some units did not have a balcony (you should request a balcony unit). Front desk staff was helpful.
Would stay here again!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    758
    544
    118
    26
    8
See reviews for
293
764
134
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

In all, I agree with most reviewers that this a very nice hotel. It's only a few blocks from all of Waikiki's attractions. Breakfast was good, rooms also, only complaint was road noise as our room was on 2nd floor facing the main road. I would stay here again but on a high floor.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we chose Best Western Plus Coconut because of the good reviews on tripadvisor. I agonized about what hotel to choose but when we got there, we found that this hotel was great for us. We paid a little extra and got the mountain view and they put us on the top level facing the mountains. We loved sitting on the balcony when we were there and even though the canal is a man-made waterway, it is attractively set and we loved it. My husband is a runner and he enjoyed running on the canal just a few steps away from the hotel.

I will say that the room and bathroom was not what you would call spacious, but it was adequate, clean, and decorated nicely.

One of the very best parts was the refreshing cucumber and lemon water in the lobby. I can taste it now. It was so good after a walk from the beach. They also had lemonade and pineapple iced tea. Every staff member was helpful and cheerful. The hot breakfast was good too.

The location of the hotel was a little walk from the beach, but not bad at all. We are in our 60's so we aren't really young, but the walk was not a problem.

We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the top floor with the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Loved this hotel, new modern rooms with bar fridge, good tv, nice bathroom, great staff and location good ten min walk to main strip but quiet at night as far away enough to be away from noise. Good breakfast that was free, lovely concierge and front desk staff very nice helped us get to Uni of Hawaii game! Would stay again. Small gym but good enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Absolutely loved this place. My husband and I were staying at expensive hotels and were worried about staying here at first but it was brilliant. It was clean, people were friendly, breakfast was good. The free wifi in the room was excellent and also the free breakfast. I love the location, close to everything but not too close to the noise. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our group of 4 stayed here near the end of September. I booked this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews. The front desk staff were very welcoming, friendly, and ready to assist. My husband and I stayed on the 2nd floor, in a small queen sized room. No view, except for a parking lot, but, we didn't go to Hawaii to sit in our room. It ended up being a good choice, as it was quieter than the street side. The one con was our room did not have a mini fridge, despite having a sink and microwave. We were there for a wedding, and the welcome gift from the bride and groom included some items that needed to be refridgerated. What to do? No problem at all, the front desk sent one up immediately for us.
My parents were on the 4th floor, and had a mountain view two doubles. I can't comment on their room, but they did not have any complaints, as far as I recall.
I had read the comments before we left about the noise of the air conditioner. Yes, it did bother me, because it goes on and off all night and it is quite loud when it comes on and woke me up. So, for the next two nights, we just turned on the fan setting, and although it wasn't as cool in the room, it was ok.
The breakfast....how can anyone complain about the breakfast? My family and I all thought it was great. Fresh waffles, sausage, eggs, toast, pastries, fruit (orange and pineapple slices), cereal, oatmeal, yogourt....
The best thing about this hotel was the juice, water, and coffee available in the lobby. Wow, when you get back from a long day (beach, pearl harbor, diamond head etc) and you can get some fresh cold water right away in the lobby....it was great.
The bed was very comfortable, which is awesome for travelers arriving after a 10-12 hour flight with a 6 hour time difference....
Overall, I would definitely stay here again, but I would pick a bigger room on a higher floor. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends for a stay in Waikiki.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I found this hotel sort of by mistake several years ago. Since, I have brought my family back every year. My sister is a germ phobe... I rented her and her boyfriend a room. She immediately called me after checking in and said the "room was so cute and she was walking barefoot on the carpet! " The whole property is clean and comfortable. The staff has always been extremely helpful and nice. Looking forward to returning again this year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. Location is close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 450 Lewers Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coconut Waikiki Hotel is a refreshing blend of high-tech and mod design, our colorful Art Deco hotel offers a peaceful and playful vibe one block from shopping and only three block from Waikiki Beach. The hotel features a delightfully hip lobby and the following complimentary amenities: WiFi access in-room and throughout hotel, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, 40" or 42" LCD TV's, wet bar, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. A small, intimate pool area with wrap around deck and fitness center are available to all guests. Free continental breakfast for all guests will begin September 1, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
Best Western Coconut Waikiki
Aqua Coconut Plaza
Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Waikiki Hotel, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.