We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Clean Room, Hot & Slow Elevators” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston at the Waikiki Banyan to your Saves list
Aston at the Waikiki Banyan
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   201 Ohua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Waikiki Banyan) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean Room, Hot & Slow Elevators”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife, 2 teenage kids and just spent 5 nights here. Our room was a "renovated" room on the 25th floor. The room was large with a sofa-bed and sliding partition for the bedroom. The King sized bed we had was comfortable. The bathroom was nice and it had a bidet, which we had never seen at any other hotel. Our room also had a full-sized refrigerator, full size stove/oven, pots, frying pan, toaster, utensils, rice cooker, plates, bowls, cups, mugs, etc. It was very well stocked.

The sofa-bed wasn't all that comfortable as the mattress on that was paper thin an you could feel the springs. Aside from that, we were very happy with the room.

There are 4 elevators that service Tower 1, where we were located. There's also a Tower 2, but we did not stay on that side. The elevators on Tower 1 are slow, but worse - hot. They are not air-conditioned and if you were not in a full sweat when you entered the elevator on the 1st floor, you would be drenched by the time you stopped a few times on the way up to your room.

The Banyan has it's own parking garage that charged $15 per 24hrs. It is staffed 24/7, and we did not have any issues with the parking garage, other than some of the spaces were very narrow.

The location of the hotel is just 2 blocks from the main strip along the beach. It is on the side closer to the zoo, but still just a few blocks from the middle of the strip. There's a Burger King and McDonalds nearby for cheap food. It's also about 6-7 blocks away from the International Marketplace.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again, even with the slow and hot elevators.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room if you can. The pool is located on the 6th floor. If you get a room very high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We appreciate your comments and happy to hear that you enjoy your recent stay with the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan. Look forward in welcoming you and your ohana back to the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    311
    124
    55
    39
See reviews for
373
107
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Banyan in February 2013 and were overall very pleased! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the hotel/rooms were always clean.

Unfortunately there was a lot of construction going on during our stay so it was quite noisy and there were multiple times during our stay where the water was shut off.

Our room was very outdated, right down from the bedding to the decor. There were some stains on the carpet and the sinks/showers leaked and squeaked.

The view was spectacular and we were within walking distance to Waikiki beach and many shops and restaurants,

We would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We appreciate your comments and happy to hear that you enjoy your recent stay with the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan. In 2014 we are looking to start our room renovations and look forward in welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in Apartment 911 at the Waikiki Banyon. very handy location. Apartment comes with everthing you need for a comfortable holiday. Very clean and tidy. Apartment overlooks the 6th floor pool and Diamond Head.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay on the beautiful island of Oahu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Waikiki Banyan is very well located for getting out and about Honolulu and Oahu. The building is a mix of residents and condominiums available for rent. The rental pool of suits are good, clean and functional; they are not new and yes, they are dated but work fine. The Waikiki Banayan staff are kind and helpful - especially Jonathan. The recreational deck has tennis courts, putting green (not very challenging) a Pool and two hot tubs (one warm one hot). There are also prepared food available on this deck and BBQs available for rent to prepare your own. This is a well run facility - management promptly deals with rule violations, bad behaviour and conflict between users. Great to keep the family busy and the kids with non-stop energy a place to burn it; especially when tropical storm Flossie came by for a visit. We had a 34th floor suit with great Diamond Head and Ocean views. Waikiki beach is not an ideal location for children; but, the location of this accommodation is only steps away from bus service (public or tour) to take you to other locations and attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Jonathan was able to assist you. He is one of our senior employees and definitely takes pride in ensuring our valued guests are enjoyed their stay and returns!

We will share this comment with Jonathan!

Mahalo Nui Loa
!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

"Aloha!" Our Banyan Hotel was great! Yes, "older", but most importantly everything worked. Our Room #2201 had a complete kitchen from forks & spoons to a rice cooker. We had spacious living & dining rooms and our beds were comfortable. A/C kept us us cool and a Sony Flat Screen TV with a Sony playstaion console kept us entertained. We also had great views of Diamond Head and also our hotel activity deck on the 6th Floor (swimming pool, hot tub, childrens play area, tennis/basketball courts and BBQ areas). FYI - there is a manditory daily amenity fee for room cleaning, daily newspaper and 2 daily free movie/game rentals on the 5th Floor - worth it. Laundry facility located on 7th Floor.

Our Banyan Hotel location was also great! Peaceful family setting, away from the crowds on the beach strip. Walking distance to many restuarants (Oceanarium Seaffod Buffet, Marukame Udon, 24/7, Eggs & Things, Me's BBQ, Tiki's Grill & Bar, Blazin' Steaks), shopping (International Market & ABC Stores), tour buses (Polynesian Cultural Center, Grand Circle Island Tour, Diamond Head Crater Hike) & city buses (Bus #13 Rainbow Drive-In & Leonard's Malasadas and Bus #42 Ala Moana Shopping Center & Swap Meet @ Aloha Stadium) and most especailly Waikiki Beach. Already planning to come back again. "Mahalo!"

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We appreciate your comments and happy to hear that you enjoy your recent stay with the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan. We can't wait for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We loved the location of our room - easy access to the beach. We also loved that the private owner of our unit provided beach toys for our use. The Banyan also has its own grocery store and coffee/snack shop on site which was very handy after a long day of playing at the beach. The only downside to our unit was that the sleeper sofa was not suitable for an adult to sleep on. The owner promised that he would soon replace this with a new sofa.

Room Tip: Our room had a great view of Diamondhead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We appreciate your comments and happy to hear that you enjoy your recent stay with the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our 2 week stay on Oahu. We were very pleased with our condo in tower 2. Very clean and nice. Not happy with the fact we couldn't use our lanai as they were doing construction on them. :( Also not happy you had to pay to use grills. We completely understood paying for laundry facilities. But then if you run out of quarters for grills or laundry facilities the front desk wouldn't give us change as we rented condo via owner not resort but they make the money off grills and laundry facilities. That is very dumb. Very convenient that parking is part of rental. Other than the few issues it is overall a great place to stay. Very convenient walking distance to beach and night life on Waikiki. Close to Ala Moana Canal which is nice for a jog or walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BANMGR, Manager at Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We appreciate your comments and happy to hear that you enjoy your recent stay with the Waikiki Banyan. The front desk is managed by the Aston Hotel & Resorts, which unfortunately is not an affiliate of the Waikiki Banyan AOAO which manages the facility. However, we have recently changed our view and now offer now guest change up to $3.00. Just one of the many wonderful services you will receive by stay with the Aston at the Waikiki Banyan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston at the Waikiki Banyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at the Waikiki Banyan

Address: 201 Ohua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly ResortQuest at the Waikiki Banyan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at the Waikiki Banyan 3*
Number of rooms: 876
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a block from the beach, this exceptionally kid-friendly property features one-bedroom suites that accommodate up to 5 people at no additional charge. It has the best recreation deck in Waikiki, complete with children's playground open late, so you can enjoy it after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston at the Waikiki Banyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hotel Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Banyan
Waikiki Banyan Hotel
Resort Quest Waikiki Banyan
Aston At The Waikiki Banyan Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at the Waikiki Banyan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.