We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location in Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 10%!
Ranked #49 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice location in Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We just returned from spending 7 days at the Aqua Aloha Surf and Spa. This is our second stay at the hotel because we like the location and staff there. This hotel is located on the canal side of Waikiki, which means that it's less noisy and busy than being on the main street. The amenities are nice....breakfast, newspapers and Wi-Fi in the lower lobby. Our room was very basic....a view of the condominium complex next door, but it was fine because we didn't spend much time in the hotel. An air conditioner is a necessity on Waikiki; ours kept tripping the circuit breaker but we were able to get it going by resetting it. My only complaint is the $20 per day to park your rental car. We did not know of this fee and were informed by their staff that "all the hotels charge a fee" to park on their premises. This may be true but $20 seems exorbitant and this fee is not clearly stated on their web site. Unless you want to hunt around for street parking this is the only sensible alternative....expensive though it may be. If you plan to park in their underground garage, keep your vehicle small....it can get tough maneuvering in those tight spaces.

All in all.....this is a very nice hotel in an ideal part of Waikiki. On my next visit, I would consider staying there if I couldn't find a place to park less expensively.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Aloha "colt411".
Mahalo for returning to stay with us again at the Aloha Surf. We certainly appreciate your loyal patronage.
Thank you for sharing your feedback here on Trip Advisor. This is a great way to find out the scoop on hotels.
I apologize for the price of parking. $20.00 per day is a lot of money. Parking in Waikiki is very limited and is therefore available at a premium.
Aloha,
Tim Clark, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    469
    229
    74
    50
See reviews for
193
472
136
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mission viejo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

This hotel was just perfect for our trip it was a really great value. We had reserved the least expensive room available and we were pleasantly surprised. We had a kitchenette balcony and the bed was super comfy. We were on the 7th floor facing the main street and with the door closed we didn't hear much noise. The air conditioner in our room worked wonderfully and kept us cool. We were in walking distance of all the big attractions in Waikiki. We had free internet in our room which was super helpful. Everything was clean and the staff were all very nice and helpful except one lady at the front desk. We had a really good time at the managers reception and the drinks were really good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, September 29, 2010
Aloha "goatgoat",
Mahalo for staying with us at the Aqua Aloha Surf & Spa. I am glad we were able to contribute to a great vacation experience for you.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review here on trip advisor.
We certainly try to provide true value for our guests and create some great memories in a fun environment. I am glad you enjoyed the Manager's reception. I am very proud of the "Wipe Out Cocktails" that I make every week.
We hope to see you again soon.
Take Care,

Tim Clark, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

I have been coming to Hawaii since 1978 but in the last year I have made 4 trips
to the Islands and have stayed at 5 hotels and hands down Aqua Aloha is the BEST!!!

From the moment you enter the lobby you are made to feel welcomed and in no time at all you feel very much at home and I can honestly say in all my trips I have never felt that way.

Check in was quick and friendly and unfortunately I didn't get the name of the gentleman
but he took the time to tell me what the hotel offered and where to find everything.
Check out was just as quick and friendly, there was not waiting time as people have mentioned, everything was quick and effiecient.

Upon reading some of the reviews I was unsure of what the rooms or location would be like but I can say everything was perfect. The room was large and very clean and the location was great. Close to the beach and activities but far enough away (about a 5 minute walk) from the beach and the main strip Kalakaua which I have stayed on many times and can be extremely noisy and crowed. And the beds they are so-o-o comfortable
that some mornings were hard to get up.

The extra touches in the room made it feel very homey, a couch and coffee table elimating the need to always sit on the bed to watch TV, The microwave, fridge and dishes allowed you to eat in or have snacks when wanted and helped the budget

The breakfast was great and I don't understand how people say it gets boring because unless you eat everything offered everyday there are at least four days of variety and I can tell you breakfast included in a hotel in Waikiki is extemely rare and if it is, it''s normally
coffee and pastries not the variety offered here.

The Tuesday night Managers reception is a great place to meet other guests at the hotel
and is a very enjoyable hour with music and the Wipeout is fantastic

Last but definitely not least the staff, from the front desk to housekeeping and anyone else you meet during the stay are the nicest, friendliest and most helpful group of people you will ever come across and I must send a Big Mahalo for making this my best
vacation yet and I can't wait to come back, Hopefully in March 2011

Aloha and Mahalo to All

Hope to see you soon

Judy

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Aloha "MontrealIslandGirl"
WOW! Mahalo Nui Loa for the fabulous review. I definitely agree with everything you said! Our hotel is like a Home away from Home for many of our guests. That is the feeling we are working to create. This is our "Home" and we are welcoming you here to stay with us. We want you to enjoy your time here with us. Since we are a small property compared to the beach front properties that average 900 rooms, we have the opportunity to interact with our guests in a more layed back and unhurried way. The way it should be. In a big hotel, you have 1600 guests in house at one time. It is hard to spend quality time with them.
I am glad you enjoyed the new bed. it is great. I have said it before, it is so good, I bought one for my house. I love it!
Take care and we look forward to welcoming you back to your "Home away from Home".
Aloha,
Tim Calrk, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

I stayed at the Aloha Surf for 10 nights. When I checked in they upgraded our room which was a nice surprise. I booked through the hotel website this summer to take advantage of their promotion at the time, of having every 5th night free.

The room was a nice size, it looked like their pictures. There was a couch, coffee table, large bed (which I will add was extremly comfortable). There was a small kitchen area with a fridge and microwave, the bathroom was on the small side, a very small shower, but the water was hot and the pressure was great.

the continental breakfast was great....pancakes, oatmeal, toast, and various store bought pastries. There was always fresh fruit, tea/coffee and iced tea. I will say though, after a few days, you get tired of it, would be nice to have some variety. I wont complain though, as its rare to find a hotel that has a complimentary breakfast.

There was also free wifi, which is a great find as well. I didn't find the rooms noisy at all. I stayed on the side that faced the apartments, that may of been why. There is likely no nice view at this hotel, unless you're on the top 2 floors. But that wasn't important to me.

The rooms appeared very clean, I saw no bugs at all through my stay, and the housekeeping is extremely friendly. However, on our 8th night, we misplaced our safe key. On the hunt for the key, we looked under the kitchenette, surprised to see a broken beer bottle (not from me), and under the bed was the back of a panty liner (not mine).

The desk staff were nice, but a little blunt at times. They were very qick to mention charges when I requested things (parking, replacing the safe key, printing off an itenerary, local phone calls, etc.) . Parking is $20 a day, and I was upset to learn that to replace the safe key was a whopping $50.

The managers cocktail hous on tuesdays was great, the "wipeout" is delicious, the massages are great. I never visited the pool, it was quite small. And surprised there was no nice restaurant or souvenier shop. There is a little "cafe" open certain hours

I will definatly stay here again, simply because of the price, the free breakfast and wifi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Aloha "kay_fitz",
Thank you for staying with us on your ten day visit to Waikiki. Thank you for posting your experience here on trip advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The Beds certainly are comfortable. They are the newest, most comfortable beds in Waikiki. Only three months old! I am glad you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast.
I apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced. I have met and shared them with my Executive Housekeeper. We will use your feedback in our ongoing effort to grow and improve.
Mahalo again and we hope to see you again soon.
Tim Clark, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

On first impressions in a jet-lagged state I was disappointed with my choice of hotel - on arriving I did not find the reception staff particularly friendly or welcoming & found the room extremely noisy on the first night. However, this hotel & the staff really grew on me during my extended stay & I would stay there again. It offers incredible value for money, I paid about 80 US per night for a superior city view room but got upgraded to a deluxe pcv on the 14th floor which is apparently one of the quiter rooms. It was still very noisy as the windows aren't sealed as mentioned in previous reviews so they let in a lot of noise from the street & the other room's air conditioners (these were very noisy). However we learnt to wear ear plugs each night and got used to the noise after a few nights. For the price the location is quite good and close to the Kuhio ave bus stop, restaurants and International market place, the beach is a few blocks down & a 5 or so minute walk. The toilet/shower area in my room was clean but very old but I got used to that too & expected it for the price. The free internet connection, breakfast, coffee and fruit was great as was the manager's cocktail reception including chair massages and a ukulele player. Highly recommend this hotel if you don't plan on spending too much time in your room & want to free up your holiday money for shopping and other activities.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Aloha "TravelBug048",
Mahalo for staying with us on your recent visit to Waikiki. I am glad that you had time to interact and get to know our staff. They do tend to grow on you. I feel you hit the nail on the head. We are not the Hale Kulani. But we don't cost $400.00 a night either. Our goal is to provide true value for our guests and work to create an exciting, fun, and memorable experience. With all of the amenities we offer, our guests do get value for their hard earned dollar. Our reasonable prices allow guests to spend their money getting out and enjoying their vacations.
We look forward to your next visit.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

I can honestly say that the staff at this hotel has made my first trip to Hawaii memorable. Jasmine is super friendly and helpful. Whether providing me with a surf instructor or her impeccable ability to remember names, she makes me feel like VIP. Mark, between ensuring that the plumbing is perfect, suggests restaurants I have fallen in love with. Then there's Nolan. His kindness cannot be described and he is always quick to provide bus schedules. Kalei is awesome to talk to, Aimee's smile lights up my evening, and Keoni is super nice despite all the bags me and my friends made him deal with. If they weren't all this great, I wouldn't have remembered so many names. EVERYONE there is fantastic, regardless of whether I have mentioned them here. I can't wait to return! Oh, and thanks for all the apples!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Aloha "dchieu",
What a nice review. Thank you so much for the kind words about our team members. Jasmine, Mark, Nolan, Kalei, Aimee, and Keoni are all fantastic guest service professionals. They truly know how to care for their guests. What puts them over the top is that they really do genuinely care about our guests and want you to enjoy your time with us. This is what separates them from others. They are looking for opportunities to go above and beyond to help our guests create a fantastic, memorable experience in Hawaii. I am very proud and grateful to be part of their team.
Tim Clark, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

The Aqua Aloha Surf & Spa is a wonderful, smaller boutique hotel on a quiet residential street just two short blocks from the beach in bustling and noisy Waikiki. We absolutely loved the hotel. We stayed for one week in a one-bedroom suite with a gorgeous view of the mountains from the 16th floor.

The staff and service was excellent, and the hotel offered many amenities that larger chain hotels did not, including a daily complimentary continental breakfast (my dad loved the hotcakes and fresh pineapple), a manager's reception on Tuesday with complimentary cocktails & music, free beach towels check outs, free wired internet, and lovely body wash, shampoo & conditioner, and lotion (something most hotels cost-cut, but not at the Aloha Surf).

As for our suite: I loved the fact that bathroom was in the hallway between the living room and bedroom, which made sharing the space very convenient. The suites are quite large with huge balconies. The kitchenette area was stocked with all the essentials too: microwave, mini-fridge, coffee-maker, plates, bowels, silverware, kitchen towel etc. It was very convenient for making a quick mid-day snack.

My thanks to Tim, the manager and Nolan for making my parents' trip to Oahu so enjoyable. They had a wonderful time, and I would definitely return, hopefully, on a vacation of my own without the parental units!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Aloha "filomina",
I am so glad we were able to contribute to the wonderful experience you and your family had in Waikiki.
Thank you for your very positive and detailed comments about your experience here at the Aloha Surf. I will share your comments with Nolan. He took the day off today to go surfing.
We look forward to your next visit.
Mahalo Nui Loa
and Aloha!
Tim Clark, Hotel Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki’s most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. This hotel, where surf style meets urban sophistication, offers the following FREE amenities: in-room Internet and WiFi Internet access in lobby & poolside, daily local newspaper, local & toll-free calls, AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV’s, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and safe. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.