We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not satisfied” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #53 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Loddekopinge, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not satisfied”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We arrived at noon. We were met by a nice lady. Very strict and professional. But nice. Waiting for a couple of hours before we got our room.
The room was a chock. Very small, no visitor's chair, no balcony, really bad view out of the window.
Breakfast next morning was also a chock.
Chinese style. Very bad logistic. Very bad coffee. Birds in the restaurant!! Not enough with seats.
Free wifi in the lobby.
The slowest elevator ever experienced.
There were a shop and a bar/restaurant.
Both were closed.

No, this hotel was really not good

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Aloha "thoMlca",
Thank you for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor. I am not sure what "chock" means, but I am guessing it's not good. Our goal is to provide our guests with a good value in an environment that is relaxing and fun. I am sorry we were not able to achieve that goal for you.
Best Wishes,
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    479
    238
    79
    52
See reviews for
205
501
146
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Ditto the review by KimAust.
Highly recommend this hotel. Repeat customers is a great recommendation.
Beds are very comfortable.
Water pressure for showers very good.
All staff and help are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms along the canal are my choice with the mountains in the background. Higher floors have better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Aloha "Claire7765",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am Glad that you and KimAust enjoyed your time here with us. We hope you will all come back and visit us again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Considering how expensive Waikiki can be this place is fantastic value. The building isn't new but it is kept very clean and the beds are so comfortable. The staff are so friendly and helpful and lots of guests stay here regularly (a good sign!!).
Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Aloha "KimAust",
Mahalo for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Aqua Aloha Surf is located a few steps from Waikiki Beach, with lots of shops around. Our top floor room was very spacious and comfortable, with amazing, 270 degree view over Honolulu. There was no breakfast offered by the hotel, you can buy buffet access in the lobby but this is served by another company. Hotel staff was not amazing, maybe due to the high season and lots of traffic. Overall, good choice in great location.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the premium rooms on the top floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Aloha "Malinowynet",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Please come back and visit us again soon.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

great staff at this hotel, Kalai was accomodating and friendly. stayed last year well and enjoyed our stay. Great beds and very clean. Location is good. Near to everything but on a quiet street.
Lobby nice place to sit and relax. Only problem with the hotel is there is no wi-fi in the rooms. you have to go to lobby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Aloha "833Pat59",
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of January.
Booking process was a major hassle. We had contacted their Sales team to get a government rate, since this was government travel. Their Sales Manager contacted us and offered us some great rates, but after that it went downhill. It was like pulling teeth to get a confirmation, then it was done wrong, then we never knew if the reservation had been made or not. We ended up booking the room ourselves and cancelling with the Sales Manager, and again, we never received a cancellation confirmation email from her.
We ended up booking a package that included breakfast and some drink vouchers. When we checked in, the Front Desk had to be reminded that we had the package. No drink vouchers available. Conflictive information in how to solve the problem.
Rooms were pretty nice, modern but rather small. There is no privacy as you have a building right across from you. The room however was clean and the daily housekeeping was excellent. The room also had a refrigerator, microwave and dishes.
There is no wi-fi in the room, only high speed internet in the room, but the internet was extremely slow. Wi fi is offered for free in the lobby, but since this is the only place with wi fi, there are tons of people there and the internet is very slow.
The hotel offers free coffee, tea and water 24 hours, nice touch.
Gym is a joke, as it is part of the lobby and it has 3 work out machines.
If you book directly you have breakfast included. Breakfast is served in a restaurant that is in the hotel, but privately operated. The staff there was not extremely friendly and the restaurant can clearly not handle the amount of guests trying to have breakfast.

Overall our stay was not bad, the staff was very friendly, specially Helene at check out.

Aqua Aloha Surf is perfect for budget conscious travellers, who don't need all the amenities that other hotels offer.

Parking is offered in their underground garage at $20 a day.

We would probably have a better opinion of this hotel if the reservation process would have been more satisfying and the check in process with the package would have been better resolved.

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Aloha "Nola76",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I am sorry for the challenges you had while trying to make your reservation. I appreciate your persistence and really appreciate you staying with us. We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo for mentioning Helene in your comments. She is one of our Stars!
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here and the beds are heavenly! Got a small, regular room for $90 on Priceline.
The lobby is nice, open and the staff Are friendly.
Location: right across from the canal, yet 3 short blocks from the beach, just up from kings crossing.
Food: $6 all you can eat buffet downstairs. Home cooked basic food. Had oatmeal, eggs, ham as oranges with coffee for $6. Deal!
You have to check out the cool bar across the street at the Surf. They have a continental buffet (a little more upscale)breakfast for $12.00.

Only downside is their windows are the old hawaiian style slates, so you can hear all the noise. Bring earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Aloha "MortgagedivaBC",
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Waikiki. I am glad you enjoyed your experience with us.
Please come back and visit us again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our $15 hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.