We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #52 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“good location good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

right in WaiKiKi super location, staff was very friendly! water dispenser and coffee/tea in lobby. There was some kind of continental type breakfast but i did not cheque into it? The room was comfortable,nice size with a couch and microwave,fridge and sink also coffee pot. Bathroom was fine the room as been updated however I would suggest to update the showerhead! Clean no problems with air con. The only down fall was WIFI not in room only in lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha "Travelapple",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We are working on getting free Wifi in our guests rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    475
    234
    76
    52
See reviews for
203
499
145
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crescent City, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We love it here. we have tried many places and this is the best.The location is great !!!! We especially love being next to Food market as we can make economical purchases there. Quiet location near the canal. Yes it is warm in the room but that is because the hotel is ENERGY CONSCIOUS and turns off the a.c. when you're not in the room -very smart idea!!! No reason to whine about the heat. It cools off before you know it. We didn't do the breakfast deal- we did our own thing. anyway we will definately stay here again. Friendly staff too!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Aloha "laladeanlee",
Mahalo for coming to stay with us at the Aqua Aloha Surf. Thank you for mentioning our energy saving system in our rooms. we have been awarded the Governors Green Business Award for the initiatives we have taken to save energy here at the property. We are a leader in Aqua when it comes to being Green. Aqua is committed to preserving our environment and being a good environmentally minded business.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki from Sept. 4th to Sept. 10th with my wife and 3 year old daughter. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean (with microwaves and fridge) and had a nice balcony. There is a USD 20.00 per day to park the car (I was informed about this as soon as I arrived, so no problems with it at all). I didn´t use the swimming pool and the fitness center, but they seemed to be ok. If your package does not include breakfast, the price is of USD 6,00 per person, but there are a lot of restaurant and marketplaces in the neighborhood. Also, the towels to take to the beach were clean. Finally, this hotel is very well located and I do recommend Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki whether you travel alone or with your family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Aloha "Carlos_Moraes",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I just got back from staying at Aqua Aloha Sure Waikiki.
I was very impressed the instant I arrived, at night.
Everyone was friendly and helpful, and I loved the way things were decorated in the lobby.
My room looked exactly like the one in the photo, no disappointments.
Very clean towels, and bathroom.
I dont know what type of mattress they have there, but I want one!
The breakfast included with the room was delicious, the people serving were friendly.
(that means a lot to me)

The view from my balcony was stunning when the sun came up every morning.

I was on the 10th floor, and could see the canal, and downtown.
My walk to the beach was 3 or 4 blocks, with plenty of stores and places to check out
that I may have not seen otherwise.

My swim shorts blew off the balcony, and landed 9 floors down, over the entrance gateway, and they were nice enough to get them for me, after I told them I did not need them back!

The best thing was the price!.. I used the AAA discount and was very pleased with what it cost!

Room Tip: I got a corner with balcony high up, the view is amazing! See photo of one of the views from my roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Aloha "Berlin523",
Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Our goal is to provide our guests with a good value in an atmosphere that is relaxing and fun. I am glad we were able to achieve that goal for you. The mattresses we have are Aqua Bliss. from Simmons. Also known as Simmons Felicity Two Eurotop mattress. They are great. I have one at home.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel this year from July 26th-Aug 4th, I did my research beforehand and knew what we could possibly be in for because of the open lobby etc. As long as you keep your food/drinks covered etc they aren't a problem. There were several things that I did not like in the room we stayed in. First our sink became clogged after calling maintenence it was never fixed, there is no actual bathroom door, there is just a pocket door that slides and doesn't lock (not a problem for us as this was a romantic/couple trip) but it might be a little awkward for others who are traveling as friends etc. I also would recommend keeping atleast some of the blinds shut if you are staying on the front side of the hotel as it faces the Sand Villa directly across, we had the misfortune of waking up to see a couple having sex directly across from our room with their blinds wide open......And if we could see them they could see us... (LOL) The pool is very small and there is no hottub which was a big disappointment, as this a boutique hotel they are limited on space but it still was a disappointment. Lastly the daily breakfast buffet that was included in our room was less than desirable, We stayed there for 9 days and we ate the buffet 7/9 days. The only thing that changed on the menu was muffins going to a breakfast type cake and vice versa. After staying here I never wanted to see a pancake again. The daily breakfast menu consists of pancakes, boiled eggs, muffins, donuts or breakfast type cake, (depending on what day it was) white rice, sliced pieces of ham (very salty btw so beware) oatmeal, dry cereal, powdered milk, toast, water and what I thought was orange juice but tastes more like really bad tang. After all has been said I would recommend this hotel and if you aren't partial to the possibility of eating the same breakfast everyday go for it! I would stay here again but I would not partake in the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Aloha "KerisaM",
Thank you for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf.
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel. I appreciate your feedback about our continental breakfast. It is a continental breakfast so it is not meant as a full breakfast buffet. We have added items to the continental breakfast to make it a little "more". Like boiled eggs, Ham, fresh pancakes, etc.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo and Aloha,
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schifflange, Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have upgraded my room Bud the reserved room was to smal for two peoples Cleaning service Not the best reception Fine and Great
The Swimmingpool Pool is Berry smal Bud is ok

The Westjerusalem was Great an all the People ON the Island are Berry Nixe

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Aloha "Philip",
Thank you for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights and it was the best service and breakfast we had. Helene at the front desk even helped with directions. Other hotels we stayed in were fancier, cost more and gave less value. It was a short walk to the beach but was right beside the canal. If you are looking for value for your $, this is the one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Aloha "AngelOnMyShoulder",
Thank you for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for mentioning Helene at the front desk. She is fantastic.
We hope you return to visit us again soon
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our $15 hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.