We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced and comfortable - great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced and comfortable - great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Close to the centre of Waikiki and quite comfortable, especially for the price. The front desk staff were excellent, accommodating our enormous pile of luggage both on our early arrival and late departure. In addition, they went the extra mile and lent us towels for an off-site ocean adventure. Comfortable lobby area with large screen TV, which was a gathering place for guests watching the Academy Awards! Pull-in entrance made it easy to arrange for and catch shuttles to island highlights. The parking lot was small and a bit difficult to navigate, but at least parking for our rental car was an option!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha "BCBusinesswoman",
Mahalo for staying with us.

I'm glad you enjoyed your time here with us. Please come back and visit again soon.

Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    502
    254
    89
    58
See reviews for
212
531
155
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

"Green" rooms require key in place for power. Nice sized rooms, clean & modern enough. Great location, minutes from beach by foot & plenty of bus options. Grocery store & parking lot adjacent. Open lobby & eating areas are pleasant, breakfast options are mostly carbs & weak coffee. WiFi available in lobby but rooms only have wired options. Most rooms are rented out by owners & managed by staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha "Ivy212",
Mahalo for staying with us.
I appreciate you mentioning our Green initiative with the room key sensors. We are working hard to earn our green business certification.
I hope to welcome you back again soon
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is not four star by any means nor is it up to date but it's clean and the staff is friendly but most of all the location is great; couple of blocks from the beach and all the great things to do in Waikiki. Beds were comfy, pillows not. Furniture dated but decent; curtains need replacing and windows are old and some are taped shut but the AC works and the towels/sheets are clean. They do offer a "breakfast" across the street at the sister hotel but it's just toast and juice but it does get you something in your tummy and the lady behind the counter is very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha "Kabina",
Thank you for sharing your experience here on trip advisor. we are going to be remodeling our guest rooms this year. Hopefully when you return we will have a fresh new room for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Considering the location of this hotel (Central Waikiki) it is great value. It is dated but it does the job. Everything is just "fine" about this hotel - although most of the staff were fantastic. For the price you pay to stay here it is what is expected. We stayed 10 nights so the savings compared to other hotels in the area was considerable.

Although one thing that was not expected, which lets the place down was the beds - they are in a terrible state. After three complaints they finally changed our room.. which was only marginally better. At least we managed to get to sleep on it.

If you are travelling solo, the mattresses would be fine - you can choose the most comfortable part to sleep on!

They explained this was going to be rectified in the renovations but in my mind they should never have got to this state in the first place. That one night before we got moved was the most uncomfortable sleep in my life - camping is a better alternative!

Also, I would not waste money prepaying the daily contiental breakfast (you can pay $6 if you want it the odd day out of convenience). It is the most bizaar combination of food I have seen - it is like they haven't thought about how all the options will gel together on a plate.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this place purely because of the standard of the beds. I would consider trying them again after the renovations are complete and I am guaranteed a better mattress.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the traffic noise as you can - higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha "ReneeL",
Thank you for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf Waikiki. I was a little surprised to hear about your experience with our beds. We have Simmons Felicity II Eurotop Beds. We have had many compliments about our beds since we installed them 18 months ago. If there is a bed with a problem we will find it and change it out.
I do appreciate your feedback and I apologize for the uncomfortable sleep.
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Aqua Aloha Surf and Spa is not the Hilton, but it is comfortable, clean with a very polite staff and the general manger Tim Clark is a gem. The Hotel is also close to the beach, the International Market Place and Kalakaua Avenue i.e. where the action is. We really enjoyed the breakfast. For the above reasons Aqua Aloha Surf and Spa has been our hotel for the past 3 years in a row without any complaints. EN Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Aloha "EricN",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki during your recent visit to Waikiki.

I am glad we were able to contribute to a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Wishes,
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stay at the hotel back in Nov 2011. It was a bit of a walk to the main beach as it was along the channel. My legs got a little tired walking back and forth but i'm just a little lazy that way. The room was on the smaller side. We requested a room closer to the pool which was on the main floor. Ask and you shall receive! The only downside I had was that we were on the thrid floor and you could hear the noise from the street especially the noisy dump trucks that come everyday at 6am! The room was clean with normal hotel amenities. There was a cockroach in our hotel room and we called down to the front desk and the came and removed it. This is my pet peeve when people right reviews. You are in a tropical place you will get tropical pest!!! They had a nice pool, a bit on the smaller side with free wifi in the rooms and lobby. They had a great hotel reception on the Tuesday with free drinks a magic show, and a massage and free character drawings! That was pretty memorable.
Room was cleaned daily and they did a great job.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Aloha "Acemycakes",
Mahalo for posting your experience on trip advisor. We appreciate you selecting to stay with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki.
We hope you return to stay with us again soon
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evadale,TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel in April of 2012. When booking our flight we checked the reviews on this hotel and loved the fact that the general manager would address the problems that his customers had encountered. Wanting to save money for our excursions we chose this hotel and was pleased. The staff was wonderful changing out our beach towels and super friendly helping us find things. A special thanks to Charles (security) for all his help and friendship. The room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was clean, however small with only a shower. But the comfortable bed more than made up for it. Great view of the canal with the mountains in the back ground. 3 to 5 min walk to the beach and market. Have been to Oahu 3 times now and would stay again. Aloha, til next time !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Aloha "txkogden",
Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I appreciate your comments about our friendly team members. They really are great. I am glad we were able to contribute to a great Hawaii Visit for you. We are focussed on helping our guests get out and explore / experience / enjoy our Hawaii. We love it here. We know you will too.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.