We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Price For A Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Low Price For A Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I've been to Oahu twice in two years. It's a great place to visit, but narrowing down just WHERE you'll stay can be very difficult. There's so much to choose from! Do you stay that the expensive all inclusive hotels and waste half your money on amenities, or do a little more research to find out what you'll REALLY need for your stay? I've stayed in Hiltons and Marriotts in the past and they're great, but not really worth the money you pay. I will NEVER stay at a ritzy wine & dine hotel in Oahu. If that's what you're looking for then this isn't the place for you. However, if you're looking for a comfortable clean bed to sleep in.... you can't pass this place up! Seriously one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. The room was clean and had updated furnishings/decor. Fridge, sink, microwave and eating utensils all included. As far as a hotel ROOM is concerned, this is exactly all you need for your stay in Oahu. There's so much to do in Waikiki alone that you won't be in your room much anyway. The lobby is modern and clean with a full staff 24/7 for your every need. Work-Out equipment is just off the lobby in an indoor/outdoor setting. Small clean pool (I've worked in the hot tub/sauna industry for a few years so pool standards are pretty high) just enough room to cool off and feel comfortable if a couple others happen to join you. The location is absolutely perfect! It's in the middle of Waikiki so you can walk anywhere you need to go. A grocery store (not ABC their prices are ridiculous) is just through the parking lot. They have fresh everything and the best prices I've come across. The ONLY hole in the wall sports pub is not too far away, LEGENDS.... the owner is a very nice man and he keeps polite friendly staff to make you feel at home. If/when I go back to Waikiki I will only stay at Aqua Aloha Surf, it was the right decision for me, and ANYONE looking for a great place to stay without wasting all your spending money on a top dollar hotel. Other than the rooms, amenities, aesthetics of this boutique hotel, the STAFF was absolutely wonderful to us. Couldn't be happier with our stay there.

Room Tip: We were just a few rooms away from the elevator and didn't notice any noise.. pretty nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Aloha "meganB",
Mahalo for staying with us at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki.
I am glad we were able to give you true value for your hard earned dollar in a fun and relaxing atmosphere.
Mahalo for the "Thumbs Up" you gave us!
We hope to see you again soon.
Tim Clar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    502
    254
    89
    58
See reviews for
212
531
155
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Great location, short walk to beach. Friendly staff, room was comfortable. Bed was very comfy. Only problem was it gets very light early morning, curtains aren't great. Quite noisy at times as our room was on a busy street. Wouldnt bother with breakfast or dinner buffet.
Good value and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Aloha "Perthgirl90",
Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Waikiki. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor.
I am glad we were able to contribute to a comfortable, relaxing experience for you.
I hope you come back and stay with us again soon.
Mahalo
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I've been going to Ohau for the past 6 years and have always stayed down the road at the Wyland (now Marriott Courtyard) but decided to change it up a bit this year. Based on the reviews of the Aqua Aloha, I thought I couldn't go wrong...but I was.

Pros: Excellent location in terms of being able to walk to any place in Waikiki (the beach, bars, shops and restaurants). ABC store on the corner which was very convienent to grab snacks/beverages to take back to the room. The bed was a decent size and was probably one of the best hotel beds I've ever slept in - very comfortable.

Cons: We upgraded to a superior room which was fine but our room (#403) faced a parking lot and, without fail, every morning woke up about 5-5:30am to the sound of garbage trucks or delivery trucks. Our lanai faced an apartment building which was so close, I could see the couple across from us doing their morning exercises. The bathroom is in need of a desperate upgrade. And finally, we were greeted every morning or evening by a cockroach. I realize we're in the tropics and things like this happen but a) this never happened at the Marriott and b) one of them showed up every day on cue. I'm not a picky traveler but this is a bit much to have to deal with when on vacation (in my opinion anyway).

Room Tip: Ask to have a room on the Canal side and not near the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Aloha "RKesser",
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on trip advisor. Our goal is to provide our guests with true value for their money in a relaxing and fun atmosphere. I am sorry we were not able to meet that goal for you.
I do appreciate your feedback and we will use it in our ongoing effort to grow and improve.
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Great location, great staff, nice facility, and reasonably priced. I've stayed there before and will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Aloha "NBatPN",
Mahalo for being a loyal return guest. I am glad we are able to make you feel at home away from home here at the Aqua Aloha Surf.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here about 2 years ago. Just now getting into the whole TripAdvisor thing. This was a nice little hotel. Friendly staff. Didn't go in the pool as it was small and usually full of kids. This was not a big deal as the ocean is but a few blocks away, as are all the shopping areas. (dont be afraid to haggle for a better price at the street market). Easy to get lost in the area around the hotel as alot of the roads/buildings look similar. The hotel across the street has a nice little open air bar that was a nice place to have a night cap. The only downside was the size of the room. But the weather is so nice and so much to do there you don't want to be in your room much so no big deal

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Aloha "Chris P",
I am glad you took the time to share your experience here on trip advisor. Even if it's a little late. better late than Never, :-) Mahalo for staying with us. I think it's about time for a return visit, don't you?
Aloha
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The apartment that we stayed in was very pleasant and had plenty of facilities in the room, such as a refrigerator and a microwave oven. The room was definitely a good size and price for the convenient location. It is ideal if you'd like to stay in the centre of Waikiki without paying exorbitant prices. Our room however faced a nearby apartment block so you didn't feel like you were getting any real privacy (sometimes the curtains didn't close quite fully). As it was only on the fourth floor, noise could sometimes be an issue. Also, our particular rooms was actually rented out by the hotel across the street, so you needed to cross the road whenever you wanted to ask reception anything! The included breakfast was definitely not worth it, as it is just toast, pineapple, coffee/tea and pineapple juice, but this is quite a common thing in Hawaiian hotels.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room that doesn't face the apartment block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Aloha "Zodiac6573",
I am only commenting on your posting to explain that from your description, you did not stay in a Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel Unit. You stayed in a privately owned unit that was managed by another management company. I make this point so that readers understand that your posting reflects the experience (whether good or bad) provided by another entity, not the Aqua Aloha Surf.
Mahalo,
Tim Clark
GM Aqua Aloha Surf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

It was a nice place ,nothing really outstanding just a nice place. It's location ( just a short walk to the beach, International Market Place,restaurants& "The Bus") and price were the best things going for it.
We had probably the smallest hotel room I've ever seen(5th floor front near the elevator). If we go there again we'd get a room on the back side away from the street. The noise from the bar across the street was terrible every night, as was the sound (at 4am-8am) of the garbage trucks & other maintance vehicles.
Breakfast was OK, seating was a little tight, very friendly lady serving hot pancakes. Actually all of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We didn't use the pool(small, cold & in the shade).

Room Tip: Pick one away from either street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Aloha "rvwithrick",
Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback here on trip advisor. I am glad we were able to provide you with value for your dollar.
I hope you come and stay with us again soon.
Take Care
Tim Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, one of Waikiki's most popular hotels, is a boutique hotel located 2 blocks to the beach and steps from world class dining and shopping. The large, open air lobby connects to a fitness area and Internet cafe as well as a relaxing pool area with cabanas and barbeque grill lit by tiki torches every evening. Continental breakfast is served complimentary daily for bookings made directly through Aqua. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Aloha Surf allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Interent throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towels and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, Aloha Aqua Surf guest rooms offer AquaBLISS pillow top beds, LCD TV's, mini-refrigerator, a microwave, coffeemaker and safe. Select accommodations offer views of the magical Koolau Mountain range and Ala Wai Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.