We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Ala Moana Plantation Cafe, they tamper with your receipt” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ala Moana Hotel to your Saves list
Ala Moana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Up To 56%
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beware of Ala Moana Plantation Cafe, they tamper with your receipt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This one experience ruined a very pleasant stay at Ala Moana Hotel. It is true that it takes only one bad thing to ruin your entire perception of something, and only one bad employee can bring down a hotel's reputation. First of all, let me say that we were very happy with our room, everything was clean, bed was comfortable, we had a great view of the mountains on the 35th floor. It was adjacent to the Ala Moana Mall which was convenient, and away from the touristy chaos of Waikiki. I was ready to write a glowing review and had plans to come back for more.

The one bad thing that happened was at the hotel restaurant for breakfast buffet, the Plantation Cafe. We used the buffet only twice during our stay because we had to be out early sometimes and had no time for breakfast. The food was the usual served for breakfast with hot and cold choices, fruits, bread. The first time we used it was ok, but the second time we ate there, a dishonest employee tampered with my credit card receipt to add his/her tip and changed the total. This is criminal. Let me say that I often tip in cash because I believe our server should be the one to get it, I seldom add the tip to the credit card total. So the reason I caught this was because I always check my purchases online to see my statements and compare with my receipts (I know, OC, I was a victim of identity theft before and am more careful now), and there it was, they added to the tip/gratuity and added up the new total. It was a small amount, $7, 20% of the total plus tax (but really this was a buffet and not sit-down) but the point is they tampered, and I already tipped in cash. There was only 2 of us who ate at $16/pax. Again I go back to the point, they tampered with the receipt!

Ala Moana is a nice hotel. It's a pity that this happened. They have dishonest people. Who doesn't? Lesson learned: encircle your total and put a check mark beside it before signing. (I should've done that)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
I am truly sorry for your experience in the Plantation Cafe. I reviewed our managelogs and can find no mention of this being reported. If you can provide details we will certainly follow up with the employee involved up to and including prosecution.Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    584
    323
    104
    91
See reviews for
312
350
190
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The hotel room was lovely, clean and well maintained. The furniture including the bed was comfortable and we had a balcony on our 31st floor room with beautiful views of the beach and Yacht club. Located right next to the Ala Moana Shopping Centre (over 400 shops with plenty of bargains to be had) meant that my wife did not have too far to carry her days shopping and there are plenty of places to eat, day or night. Located only a 5 minute walks to a lovely, quite beach meant that there was plenty of time to relax on the beach or fish off the water bank. The local tram car stop that takes you to other parts of Waikiki was located at the Ala Moana Shopping Centre making it easy to get to busier parts of Waikiki, only 10 minutes away by tram car. The hotel location is quite despite the shopping centre next door and the pool and gym were very good. The hotel also has some lovely restaurants and a small but very convenient grocery shop where you could get the essentials like, alcohol. The hotel staff are excellent and very knowledgeable. All in all a very pleasant place to stay and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a balcony facing the beach. Day and night views beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you revisit us in the future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Terrible experience. Unfriendly staff, room with stained carpet and faucet that didn't work correctly. Entire hotel had a musty smell. Did not feel welcomed. Noisy, surrounding area was scary lots of homeless. About a 15 min walk to beach but no beach amenities available (chairs, umbrellas, etc). Hotel website does a nice job painting a glowing place but don't be fooled. Spend a little more and go elsewhere! We actually checked out two days early and went to another hotel, says a lot .

Room Tip: Stay away! Construction in front of hotel also. Jackhammer all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Sorry that all was not to your liking our rooms are generally well received . I believe that the "musty" smell that you refer to is in fact the new carpet throughout the lobby which does have an odor about it. The jackhammering that you refer to is to make the hotel more ADA compliant and lasted just a few days. Mahalo for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here one night. Very nice hotel good location. Not right on the beach, but probably a 5-10 minute walk. Connected to the best mall I have ever been to. The building is part condo, part hotel. There is a convenince store located in the building, opens at 7am. Good place to buy snacks. Breakfast at the Plantation Cafe was good ( $16.95 for adults, 9.95 for kids, free for 3 and under). The room was nice. We had a King Size bed. Nice couch, table and chair. We had a balcony over looking the pool. Clean. Microwave, Minifridge, flat screen tv. We couldn't get the tv to work and called down to the front desk and a guy came up with in 5 minutes of us calling ( the cord to the tv was unplugged , we actually checked the wall plug, which was fine). Very nice and helpful staff. I would rec'd!!!

Room Tip: our room 2216 was nice, next to elevators, but we never heard an outside noise, close to a drink ven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were only in Honolulu for 2 nights to visit Pearl Harbor and wanted something clean and safe at a decent price (beach hotels are very expensive). It was basically clean and safe and next to the mall. You could tell it had been recently remodeled, but it had the smallest rooms ever. The beds were not comfortable, The sofa bed opened to within 2 inches of the walls, bed and chair so you couldn't even walk around it. The sofa bed mattress was horribly uncomfortable and did not have any bedding on it - or in the room. The pool on the deck looked nice. The breakfast restaurant was way overpriced, but the buffet was okay. The people at the reception desk were rude. People in our party found a large roach in the main restaurant. They pointed it out to the waiter, but did not stay to eat. They did have extra security on the elevators so that only guests could access the upper floors, which was a nice feature. It had that odd feeling that it was a big busy hotel, but there really didn't seem to be many people around.

Room Tip: We had a room that was on the pool level (or 1 level above). Our side of the floor had a full slidi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
The room was in our Kona Tower and is our smallest room offered albeit at our lowest price.
I apologize for the incident in the restaurant but we do perform regular pest control treatments.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice hotel located near the fishing piers. Clean, wifi in rooms is awesome and free. Wifi in the main areas - not so good which is a bit of a change from most hotels. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable. Housekeeping did a good job each day and they were friendly and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for you comments. We will share them with our staff. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We did a lot of research in booking this hotel for our final Hawaii. night. Our departing flight was at 0700. We wanted shuttle service to and from airport with no hassle. It turned out to be just the opposite. No shuttle from airport unless purchased from outside carrier. Due to our early departure no shuttle in AM either. We had to take cab. I don't mind paying, if I know that is what I have to do, but don't include in your included options, when its not. The lobby is lovely. It is close to Ala Moana Mall, so lots of shopping. Trolley runs from mall around city, so easy for sight seeing.

The staff were not helpful at all. We had four bags, I had new broken arm, and not one bell person or staff member offered to help us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I'm sorry that you did nott receive the assistance that you needed and should expect from our bellstaff and I will certainly address this with them. Thanks for taking the time to bring this to my attention.Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ala Moana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel

Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu
Ala Moana Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ala Moana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.