We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for conference and shopping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ala Moana Hotel to your Saves list
Ala Moana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code
Ranked #62 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Williamstown, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location for conference and shopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was here for a 3-day conference at the Convention Center, which was just a short walk away. The room was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, the wi-fi worked a treat, and the microwave was handy. However, the room is small, but OK for one person; two people in the room might be problem. Reception was always helpful and the Expedia desk in the foyer was useful for booking bus tours to Pearl Harbor and island tours. If you like shopping then this is the place for you. A short walk thru the car park brings you to Macy's and another 290 shops. There is a very good food mall in the shopping center, and some other restaurants. It is a good 20 minute walk to Waikiki where there are more shops and better restaurants. The Ala Moana beach is across from the shopping center, and is a great beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    590
    327
    107
    93
See reviews for
317
357
192
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel seems like a decent place. Our stay was clouded by a cockroach we found in our room. We were only staying one night so I didn't bother making a scene about it. The reviews here are mixed, and there is a good reason why.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Unfortunately we are located in a tropical climate and despite regular treatments, we do occasionally see a roach. I hope that it did not detract too much from your enjoyment of your vacation. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was just a regular stay for me. Nothing special. No upgrades, no frills. Just a good clean room. View of the parking lot. The tv in the room was super small! I've never seen such a small flat screen! The lanai was nice. I liked the fact that we were able to order pizza from a local company through some advertisement in the room. The pizza was delicious and delivery was convenient without the extra room service charge. I think the hotel offers free entrance to their nightclub downstairs if you're a guest but we didn't go. The hotel connects directly with the Ala Moana Mall so we were able to walk through to the eating area Shirokiya.

The trip was bid on priceline so it was about $100 and it was decent for the price. We did have an extra parking charge so factor that into your cost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments altho I do not understand your remark regarding the TV. All TV's are 37 inch flat screen, more or less a standard for all hotels.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Pro.. Staff very nice, friendly helpful.. Addressed issues promptly.

Cons.. Pool area closes at 6pm!!! WHAT?? In Hawaii?? Even the pools in Omaha are open till 10 at night or so. Steam room did not work. Small room, older part of building. For what we paid, thought we would get the brand new high rise tower.. Did not look very full at night. I think I will keep looking next time for a better value. Again.. The Staff was outstanding!!!

Room Tip: ask for a high floor if they stick you in the older building..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Glad to hear that our staff performed well and apologise for the steam room not working. We do close it occasionally for maintenance. It seems that you stayed in pur Kona tower and the rooms here are smaller, and alsoless expensive than the larger rooms in our Waikiki Tower. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Ala Moana is connected to the largest outdoor mall in the US. It came in handy since it seems one of our bags was stolen at the airport.

We stayed there for two nights before departing on the Pride of America. Upgraded our room at check in. The rooms was clean - nothing spectacular. At least they had a coffee maker in the room.

Parking was quoted at $20.00 per night, but was actually $25.00.

One note of warning - they have a Chinese restaurant in the hotel - avoid at all costs. It was horrible - and I mean horrible.

The cafe for breakfast was expensive, and only offers a full buffet or continental breakfast which is part of the larger offerings. Make sure you don't "take food from the middle". I took oatmeal and was charged for a full buffet. Wish they had explained the system. The next morning they discounted our breakfast because of the confusion from the day before.

This is a corporate hotel - not on the beach, but worked for us.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a tower room - larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and hope that you enjoyed your cruise. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nice hotel. Functional. Above mall so there's plenty of great shopping close by. Rooms are clean and have quiet air con. I did hear noise through the walls though...baby crying. I would stay again. Amenities such as shampoo are not luxury and sheets are low quality. Otherwise it's safe and does the job

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Appreciate your comments and thanks for taking the time to post same. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed at the Ala Moana Hotel for two nights over the Memorial Day weekend. I was a little disappointed. From the outside the hotel looks very good and the lobby looks posh. When I got to my room, it was very small and it smelled musty. I got a room in a smaller building behind the main building. No balcony and a view of the seedy side of town. The service was awful. The concierge seemed irritated that I had to ask for directions to the elevator. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Sorry to hear that we did not meet your expections. you stayed in a roomin our Kona Tower and the rooms here are smaller, and less expensive, than rooms in our Waikiki Tower. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ala Moana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel

Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu
Ala Moana Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ala Moana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.