We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre facility” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ala Moana Hotel to your Saves list
Ala Moana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code
Ranked #62 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Los Angeles
1 review
“Mediocre facility”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the Ala Moana Hotel because of a conference held there. The hotel lobby was clean and spacious and staff was semi-friendly but not very warm or welcoming. The rooms we stayed in were TINY and smelled strongly of mildew, but seemed to be clean other than the smell. Room had a coffee maker and mini fridge which was nice. Rooms all had a sliding door with a railed in bottom half allowing for the wonderful breeze to flow through the room (helping with the smell).

The hotel is right next to the Ala Moana Shopping Center which was great if you want to go to a mall. There was a great bar "Mai Tai Bar" outdoors with live entertainment which we spent a lot of time at because of the ease of location. The hotel is a bit of a walk from Waikiki so if you plan on spending a lot of time in that area, you should look for a different hotel. If you walk around the Ala Moana hotel at night, beware... it's a sketchy area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    590
    327
    107
    93
See reviews for
317
357
192
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have stayed here a few times. Great location! had trouble with Internet in the past but looks like it works great now! Can walk to wikiki in a few minutes. Hotel staff has always been courteous. Ala moana is connected with a mall so great restaurants and shops are only a short walk away. I am a flight attendant and look forward to coming here because it is easy to experience Hawaii in a short amount of time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here from March 3-6, 2013. Found it to be clean and everyone helpful and friendly. Several nice little gift shops in the lobby level. Great access to the mall. We found the parking garage in the hotel and bit unorganized and clumsy to get in and out, as they don't seem to know what their own parking sticker/pass means. We had trouble with our rooms cards and elevator the first time or two, but after that it all worked fine,,, so perhaps that was user error! The swimming pool is not heated and it was very cold as other have stated. We had a mountain view room on the 35th floor (36 total floors) The room was very clean but somewhat small. If you are traveling to Hawaii / Oahu for the first time, stay at Turtle Bay or JW Marriott as we found food to be a problem! We could walk to the beach, just a two blocks away, very easily. No worries about that. The trolly is $2 and runs right to the hotel and mall. The hotel is right in the downtown district, and it's like any downtown district - ie Chicago/new york... lots of sirens and buses and people walking. The location was great for business. Perhaps not the best choice for a family with kids. There is no hot tub, sigh. And yes, breakfast there was just ok,,, after twice eating there we looked for other places to eat.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Mountain view, one day there was even a rainbow! We were on the 35th floor. The eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Not the most desired location, but it is very clean and very updated rooms. Service was average. Updated furniture. The can ride from the hotel to Waikiki is less than 20 dollars. Close to the beach and it is attached to the mall. Very convenient for shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, HI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Have stayed her quite a bit for business...Seem to get upgraded on all my visits....It's clean, the prices always seem to be on par with other hotels. I really like that it is attached to the mall. If you want to be in the heart of Waikiki than this is not the place....bit of a walk or a bus, trolley or taxi away. I like that the rooms have a coffee maker, a microwave and refrigerator. i like that most of the rooms have a separate couch and small table to either eat or work. Staff is friendly. Overall basic good reasonably priced hotel...however, not a resort by any means.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights on a tour with Road Scholar. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel (after several horrific hotel stays with this group). The room was beautiful, contemporary and clean with a perfect view of the city lights and harbor. I know that the cost of the Hotel is a bargain for the quality but part of that is because it's not near the tourist area. If you add in the cost of cab fair you might be better off spending a little more and staying in the Waikiki area if you are on vacation. All in all I really did enjoy my stay at the Ala Moana.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antarctica
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Travel is all about expectations. We are not luxury hotel denizens, but we do like somewhere that goes beyond the basics, or we would stay at the YMCA. Well, the Honolulu YMCA is right across the street from the Ala Moana, and is probably just as nice. Near the registration desk the Ala Moana proudly displays its awards for "best value". I view this similarly to "most improved" or "best attendance" awards -- sops for the also-rans.

The Ala Moana is not close to the beach, not close to Waikiki, not close to bars and (non-mall) restaurants, and not that close to pretty much anything except a giant shopping mall that separates it from the ocean, a liquor store, and a couple of strip bars. So the location (for anyone except mall-dwellers) is mediocre at best.

Add to this that the hotel has no bar, an extremely basic pool area (too cold and windswept to use during our visit), and one of the worst hotel restaurants I've ever been to, and you have ... "thanks for participating". The breakfast restaurant (not open for lunch) serves a fruit-and-steam-tray buffet for $20 -- that's it. If you want a smoothie, a fried egg, or something else, you're out of luck.

Our room was clean, and we did not have trouble with rude staff in the way others have reported. The equipment worked, though the WiFi was somewhat iffy and gave my laptop a nasty virus. The rooms each have a minuscule balcony/lanai, but most of them are going to overlook either the shopping mall or the YMCA -- very few views of the ocean are available. And you won't want to leave the door open for the tropical air, because the hotel is on some sort of police/fire/ambulance route, and there were sirens blaring more or less constantly.

I didn't come to Honolulu thinking of staying in a concrete-lined urban hellscape, but you'll need to traverse a mammoth multi-level parking lot and cross several major roads at busy intersections and walk extensively to get a sight of the beach and the sea. The Ala Moana seems very popular with Japanese tourists who don't seem to mind flying all the way to Hawaii to shop in the mall at the same stores you'll find in Tokyo.

For me, Hawaii is not about being the "best value". Better to spend a bit more money and get someplace with even a trace of style and convenience.

Room Tip: The only rooms with a hint of ocean views are on the upper floors, at the south end of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L, General Manager at Ala Moana Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. It seems that the location of the hotel was not to your liking and that I can understand if you wanted to be in Waikiki. We are connected to a very large shopping mall and are accross the road from the Convention Center. Ala Moana Beach Park is less than a 4 minute walk from here. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ala Moana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel

Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu
Ala Moana Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ala Moana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.