We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, Poor Plumbing and Issues with TV and Internet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ala Moana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ala Moana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Up To 56%
Ranked #61 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Noisy, Poor Plumbing and Issues with TV and Internet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went to Honolulu for 11 nights from mid-December 2012. it was our sixth trip. When we checked in, we took the option given to us of paying an extra $20 (+tax) per night for an upgrade to a 30th floor balcony room in the Waikki tower of the Ala Moana hotel. The view of the mountains was great, the lobby large and spacious, and the Ala Moana shopping centre only a five minute walk away.

However, the constant noise of sirens (day and night) made it difficult to relax and our sleep was often interrupted. The 'cold' water in the hand basin was constantly warm to hot. The temperature of the shower water could not be adjusted. We often had to endure very hot or cold showers, with the temperature changing at will from one extreme to the next. TV reception was grainy and the remote control difficult to use. Free Internet in the room was great, but we experienced several long periods where it cut out.

When we arrived the toilet was not flushing properly and my husband noticed that a pipe in the cistern was not connected. Meanwhile, the room was tiny, with the king size bed pretty much occupying the entire room. A queen size bed would have been a better fit, but we were told that all rooms come with either a king size bed or two doubles. There was no mirror in the room and the two chairs had stains on them.

On day three we went to the reception desk and advised them of the plumbing issues. We were told that we did not know how to use the shower and that someone would come to assist us, but no one ever came. When checking out we raised the matter again and the same reception person said she had booked a manager to see us. She asked if we would like to review the matter at that time with a manager but we made it clear that at checkout this no long pager mattered.

The large lobby had a stage but there was never any music even though it was the Christmas period. The noise from the night club was loud and univiting, and there were no Christmas activities or dinners at this hotel apart from a few Christmas trees. It was like a vacant parking lot in need of care and attention.

Despite the great view, we will never return to this hotel. The so called upgrade was a mockery as the room was noisy, had poor plumbing, was very small, and had poor television reception and interruption to the Internet.

Room Tip: Upgrade not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    549
    298
    95
    80
See reviews for
281
339
182
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Rooms are average, but the location is great and the price is a good value. I stayed here for 18 nights on four different business trips between January through May. For me the biggest factor was price, and this was very reasonable relative to other options in the area. The rooms are small and ok. Internet works well. There is a tiny "balcony" to which the door can only be cracked open a small amount. I set my running shoes out there to dry. Sound insulation is not great; could often hear people in the surrounding rooms. The fitness center is fairly large and has good quality equipment. The great thing about this hotel is the location--within walking distance of the Ala Moana Mall (which is huge), and the Ala Moana Park with is a wonderful place to run each morning. I never ate in the hotel because there are so many, many good food options all within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Ala Moana is a well-run, business-like hotel at the edge of the Waikiki area of Honolulu and right next to the huge Ala Moana Shopping Center. The shopping center means free parking (though not overnight), a number of useful and convenient stores (including a Barnes and Noble) and many inexpensive places to get good food within easy walking distance. From the hotel, it’s just a few minutes walk to Waikiki itself (just across the canal) and maybe 10 minutes to get well “into” the Waikiki shopping area. We chose the Ala Moana, frankly, for its location and the fact that it provides clean, modern accommodations with things we wanted (free wifi, in-room microwave and fridge, and other nice touches) without costing the full Waikiki freight. Also, a great plus in my view, there were no mandatory “resort fees” and other irritating grabs of the sort that we’d experienced or heard about in some of the Waikiki hotels. The staff we dealt with was efficient and hyper-friendly, but without being cloying or artificial. We’ll go back again.

The only thing I’d do differently next time is not bother to pay $20 a day extra for an “ocean view” room. See photo.

Room Tip: Don't bother to pay $20 a day extra for an “ocean view” room. See photo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

After we got bumped from our flight last night our Airline gave us a room here. Upon arriving and walking into the lobby there is loud club music blaring through the lobby from their club that is open until 3:30am. The lady that checked us in did not have the capability to smile. Every hotel I have stayed at you get a greeting with a smile... "Welcome to..." Not here. She quietly checked me in. As my family of 5 gets on the elevator 2 very drunk ladies jump on and obnoxiously punch in several wrong floors on the way up that seem to be humorous to them. Our rooms are clean but seem very dated. There is a flat screen television in the room. The bed was comfortable. All night long there were sirens heard outside. Not sure if that means its a bad area or their is a police station close by. Plenty if other hotels to pick, if its your choice pick something better.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel staff were very professional, the room was well taken care of and clean and the elevator staff was nice.

On the down side the pool was not heated and, surprisingly to me, was desperately needed despite being in Hawaii. And the pool had these very sharp rocks that made it incredibly painful to walk on with bare feet. Sorry, pools are important to our vacations and it just didn't cut it.

Other than that I was pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Valle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I am a travel nanny so I have a tendency to rate a hotel based on experience rather than price since I don't pay for the lodging. The airlines gave us this hotel when we lost our flight and had to stay an extra day. I know they have just completed some serious renovations so all I can think of is the other reviewers were put in a different area of the hotel. We were on the 34th floor and the view was great. The hotel was well maintained, our rooms were beautiful. I had a king size bed and the parents had beds with two queens. The rooms are not huge but still a decent size for Honolulu. Yes, it is away from the madness of Waikiki Beach but it's a quick bus ride down or nice walk. Since we had spend 3 days there on our way to SF, we didn't mind being at the other quiet end of Honolulu. It is next to the huge mall if that is your thing.

It was extremely quiet, staff was very friendly and prompt to serve. The breakfast was a buffet and a very nice variety of hot and cold items. We had airplane vouchers but the expense was still reasonable at about $16 each for adults. Waiter kept the coffee going.

It really is a beautiful hotel in a section more reserved for adults. If you want the excitement of Waikiki there are buses going down there or you can arrange excursions with the concierge in the hotel.

The only reason I can think of for the other lukewarm reviews is that came before or during renovations because what I saw was a very classy hotel. No, it may not be the Ritz and it has a more Zen feel, but I liked that.

Maybe because in Waikiki I was stuck at Aston Beach Circle hotel which was small and well, not much to be said about it except location was good for Waikiki.

I didn't think the size was any smaller than other hotel room in the area that wasn't a suite.

So if you like being away from Waikiki just a bit, still a good walk or quick bus ride, then this was a nice alternative.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here en route to Kauai and The Big Island. It's in a good location but not great. The rooms were clean but not perfect. We got our exercise in by walking about 1.5 miles to downtown Waikiki each day, but I don't mind the walk. I would suggest this for active couples / families that don't need luxury.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ala Moana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel

Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Amex, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu
Ala Moana Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ala Moana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.