We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this better than Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ala Moana Hotel to your Saves list
Ala Moana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now
Ranked #61 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Osaka, Japan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I like this better than Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Ala Moana Hotel is clean and inexpensive (for Honolulu). There was nothing wrong with the room or any of the facilities. Parking under the hotel is $20 a day and very convenient. I also like this location because the hotel is right beside the Ala Moana Shopping Center and just 5 minutes walk from Ala Moana Beach. I like this beach far better than Waikiki. It's more local and there are no vendors. The shopping center caters to locals as well as tourists. You'll walk less and buy more here than in Waikiki. Friday night yacht races start from the yacht club and it is a killer place to watch the sunset or the Friday night fireworks at the nearby Hilton. I stayed 5 nights and felt at home the whole time.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Kona Tower, the less costly of the buildings. Some people like the beach view, I pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    589
    326
    106
    93
See reviews for
315
356
192
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Right in the middle of Honolulu, this is a very large hotel but even though it is old, is well kept. Staff was very friendly. Room was adequate. Kind of loud but then again anywhere in Honolulu is going to be loud, especially if you keep your door/window open at night.

Great location next to Ala Moana shopping center!

Room Tip: Higher the better. Don't worry about "city" vs "ocean" view, it doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is a great value for Honolulu. The rooms very clean and comfortable. The hotel is located right next the mall which makes it very convient to shopping and restaurants. It's also just a half block walk to the beach and marina.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is short walk to the shopping center and a short walk to bus transfer stations. The hotel is older but there is ongoing upgrades. A coffee shop serves buffet breakfast and closed for lunch and dinner. The rooms have been in my experience clean. Other hotels are less expensive but none are as convenient to shopping and transportation.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Great location next to the mall and a short walk to the beach and park. Good size rooms that come with big flat screen, microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, ironing board and even a safe. Best of all FREE wifi and its fairly fast!!!! Also Ethernet cable if you prefer. I live a hotel that doesn't nickel and dime you for everything. They also have a nice workout area and the pool is nice with lots of room to sit around in the in and shade. Thank you I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The staff is terrible. They are exemplary when it comes to poor customer service with their laziness, disinterest and rudeness towards clients. The hotel itself is located next to the Ala Moana shopping center which is nice, but as you try to find your way around, you notice its also surrounded by "massage" parlours. You're not at the beach. I didn't get the room I had reserved, the internet didn't work and the sound proofing was poor. Finally, the maids do not clean the rooms properly. Its quite shocking. You can get much better for the same price in Honolulu. Don't let them spoil your time in Hawaii.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The primary reason why I loved this hotel was its proximity to the Ala Moana Shopping Mall as well as other local shops -- including a Walmart. Our room was always clean and we had an AMAZING view of the city from our balcony. I could literally see Diamond Head every morning. The staff was always pleasant especially when we asked for a room change. We booked a king suite and received a double upon check in. After we called in for a room change, someone immediately walked up and gave us a new room key. Great service!

Also, if you're staying at this hotel, do yourself a favor and walk to the Ala Moana beach and eat by the local shops outside of Walmart. The beach area is where all the locals go and is not crowded at all. And if you have ever tried to get food around the Waikiki area, its pretty hard to find a good meal without waiting. My boyfriend and I tried a lot of local fare near the hotel and it was pretty reasonably priced. One favorite of mine -- Raging Crab (think Boiling Crab or Joe's Crab Shack). It was a hop skip and walk away.

We did make the trek to Waikiki Beach but be advised, do not try to walk there at night like we did. It was a bit scary. One other con --- parking is $20 a night. We weren't pleased to pay it but it was convenient and safe. I'm glad no one broke into our rental.

I would definitely stay at the Ala Moana the next time I come to Honolulu!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ala Moana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel

Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu
Ala Moana Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ala Moana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.