We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Moana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ala Moana Hotel to your Saves list
Ala Moana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save Up To 56%
Ranked #62 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Location is really a 15minute walk to a beach park. Also a 5 minute walk from Ala Moana Hotel.
They have a nightclub and a pretty good restaurant in the lobby. Will stay next time I am in Oahu.
There is the usual ironing board/hair dryer/coffee maker. The lanai is somewhat small but reasonable for Oahu.

Room Tip: I love the Alamoana tower as it was closer to the beach/mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    589
    326
    106
    93
See reviews for
315
356
192
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honokaa, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I requested a Queen size bed for me & my wife and it was confirmed when my reservation was made. I use a CPAP to sleep and the noise can be troublesome on a small bed. When I reported to the check-in desk, I don't know why but the clerk made me stand at the counter for about 15 minutes as she was focused on the computer. Then, she asked me if I would like two double beds instead and I said no. Later, she told me if I could wait for about 15 minutes and we'll have a room. I assumed after 15 more minutes it would be a Queen size bed which we reserved so I agreed. We we entered the room, there was no Queen size bed.

If time was needed for a Queen size bed, the receptionist could have told me and I would have gone shopping and returned later. The receptionist quietly worked the computer over a prolonged period and fail to sense the customer's need to know what is happening. There was no explanation for the delay or apology. The final insult was not getting what we reserved after standing captively and uninformed at the counter.

Room Tip: Choosing is meaningless because they deviate from the confirmed reseveration status without your per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the Ala Moana for a women's conference nearby. The room was comfortable and included a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Beds were very comfortable, service fine. The lanai was small, but we had one! We had no view, but then we didn't pay for one. We had an exceptional rate.
Because of the storage space for food and utensils, I think you could do very well for a more extended stay with a few groceries laid in for breakfasts and/or lunches.
The proximity to the Ala Moana Mall is an obvious plus, as was the direct above street level connection. It was also handy being just a block away from the Convention Centre I wouldn't want to be driving in the area - not pleasant!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was in Honolulu for a convention taking place at the Honolulu Convention center - this was the closest hotel to the convention center so I booked it. I was skeptical at first since the rate was only $150 + Tax but boy was I happy with this place! We (took the hubby along for a little vaca) booked a partial ocean view room but got a parking lot view in stead with the slight view of the ocean behind the buildings but once again with that rate I wasn't going to complain. The room was small but good enough for two people. The Ala Moana shopping center was right next door so we did a lot of our dining at the food court there which has varieties of food from all around the world. Of course the shopping center is the perfect place to pick up cheap souvenirs to bring home!!! There's a 7-eleven close to this place, as well as various family restaurants within walking distance. You can also hop on a trolley from the Ala Moana center for $2 which takes you around the city. I would definitely recommend this place, if you're looking for inexpensive but decent stay while in this beautiful city!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Kona Tower are quieter- Rooms comes with a refrigerator and a microwave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed overnight for business. I loved the fact that there was a bridge across to the huge shopping mall. That also meant that there were plenty of restaurants close by to choose from. The hotel has an impressive lobby, with spacious lounge areas, super-fast elevators, very comfortable beds, spacious room, microwave etc. Free in-room wifi internet is also a welcome bonus. Good, effective air conditioning. Bathroom spacious, over bath shower a little dated. Super little balcony overlooking the pool area with sea views. Reception staff friendly and informative. Very handy shops on the premises for sundries, drinks, snacks and gifts, open 7 am till 11 pm.
As previous reviewers have said, would benefit from updating but I have seen much, much worse. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Ala Moana for 4 nights. Husband was there on business and I tagged along. 34the floor room had fridge and microwave which is always nice. View was only so-so. Had to look between high rise hotels to get a glimpse of the ocean. Had a great view of the YMCA pool, though. Frequent sirens and street noise was kind of a drag when we wanted to leave the lanai door open. Room was mostly clean. There was quite a bit of dirt built up in the corners in the bathroom and some broken glass and dirt behind the door to our room. Housekeeping staff did vacuum up the stuff behind the door when I brought it to their attention. Noticed paint splatters on the walls and floor in the bathroom which turns out was probably toothpaste from a previous guest that I scrubbed up with a wash cloth. That was a turn off. And they will need to get something sharp to get the dust and dirt out of the corners. I wished I'd had a screwdriver with me... Other than that, room was clean enough, comfortable and the bed was fine. Had the "cold" breakfast in the coffee shop. I feel like it was pricey, but it is Hawaii and everything is pricey food wise! Front desk staff that I dealt with were all very nice. They helped me figure out buses to get me to some of the sites I wanted to see. We must have been in the "new" tower, I overheard people talking about the Kona Tower and that it wasn't as nice. Within walking distance to the beach, but the closest one was kind of rocky. We walked about 15 minutes to Waikiki where the sand was better. Adjacent to the Ala Moana Shopping Center. In room info said pool closed at 6:30 - that would not do if we'd had our kids with us. We might stay here again if it was all that was available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kekaha, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are from Kauai and stay at the Ala Moana Hotel frequently. We love the convenience of walking to Ala Moana Shopping Center. But I have to say the rooms need updating. We stayed here 2 weeks in a row. The first week we stayed for 2 nights. The refrigerator was so loud, I had to constantly shake or bang on it to get it to stop making such a loud sound. The next week we stayed 3 nights. This time the air conditioner was loud, which makes it difficult to fall asleep. Makes me seriously weigh convenience vs. comfort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ala Moana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel

Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu
Ala Moana Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ala Moana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.