We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for comfort & location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polynesian Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Polynesian Plaza to your Saves list
Polynesian Plaza
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2131 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel amenities
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for comfort & location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

While looking for a reasonably priced hotel accommodation in Honolulu, I found Polynesian Plaza in the web but while the reviews were all positive, initially I had some reservations because not all web reviews are reliable based on personal experience. I once booked and stayed in a hotel somewhere after reading glowing reviews and nice hotel pictures in the web but it turned out to be a dump. From then on, I decided that web reviews are hit and miss.

Polynesian Plaza rooms are fully furnished, very comfortable and strategically located right on Kalakaua Ave. The Saratoga and Kuhio Ave. bus stops are just a short walk away. The US Post office is also nearby and so are ABC Stores aand 7-11. Designer shops (Coach, Chanel, YSL, Tod's, etc.) are just across the street from Polynesian Plaza.

As Polynesian Plaza is a vacation rental and not a hotel, the admin office was closed on the day I arrived, a Saturday. But Tina sent me explicit instructions by email on how I could get my key and which key opens the main door and the elevator and suggested an airport shuttle which cost me only $12. When I got to my room, I was pleasantly surprised to find a carpeted, spacious and squeaky clean room with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. Our room which was at the back has a balcony overlooking the swimming pool had a flat screen TV, window-type aircon unit, refrigerator, round table with two chairs, coffee table with a chair, a kitchenette (with microwave oven, hot plate, coffee maker, dish drainer and rack, plates, cups, knives and flatware and kitchen towels). Inside the bathroom was a closet which had more than 2 dozen hangers, a steam iron and ironing board and a hair dryer. It also had the bathroom amenities of a hotel. At the end of the corridor is the garbage disposal -- very clean, dry and no smell. On the third and fourth floors are coin-operated washers and dryers.

Wifi access is available by signing up with Hawaiian Telecom's Skywave. You need to inform Tina so she can give you a discount code. We could not wait for the admin office to open, so we signed up with Skywave easily, although at times it was crawling and a nearby wifi was faster than Skywave.

We stayed in Polynesian Plaza for 10 days but wished we stayed longer. Tina and her housekeeping staff made sure that everything in Polynesian Plaza worked. On our next trip to Hawaii,we shall definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    17
    13
    13
See reviews for
17
45
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the PP recently for a week and must say previous reviews were pretty accurate. Dealing with the booking and the check-in procedure (we arrived on Sunday when reception unattended) was an absolute delight. Yes, Tina, you are a marvel and I hope your boss appreciates you. While initially taken aback by the decor and the interesting bathroom, we loved that the place was situated so close to the buzz of Waikiki. If you are looking for budget accommodation, a great location, security and a $2.50 return bus trip to shopper heaven Ala Moana (yayyy!) this is the place to stay. We had a room overlooking the pool and it was quiet (save for our noisy air conditioner). Good coffee found so close at Kimo Bean, the back exit of the PP, addictive breakfast banana waffles and friendly staff a big plus. Also fantastic restaurants close by. Try Arancino over the road from the HRC, great value, beautiful food and excellent wine list, however, you have to queue to book (sometimes 45-60 minutes) but well worth the wait. Also W.D. Changs is a must. Big, noisy, busy but great service, huge serves and excellent value. Although we planned to cook in our room (hah!) eating out was the way to go. Can't wait for my next Hawaiian holiday!

Room Tip: Poolside room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Location, location, location it says it all.......this wee home away from home could not be better situated. I stayed there for a week with my family and found this little jewel in Paradise to have it all. One complaint....too many shops so close at hand.....shoppers Heaven !!!
Tina was amazing, nothing was too much trouble for her, we had an apartment facing the road and believe it or not heard no traffic noise at night apart from the odd siren.
And oh those beds.....so so comfortable like sleeping on a cloud !!!!
We WILL be back......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed there recently, & I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. Everything was wonderful, from booking, until we checked out. The place was quiet & very convenient, sitting just one block from the beach. It has a hidden paradise appeal to it. It's not a full service venue, but the room was clean, & the price was very reasonable. I will be staying there again...

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed here for a week I was visiting a friend that was staying at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach I needed a place to sleep and get cleaned up so I stayed here. Gotta say it was great super convenient just up Beachside Drive and Kalakaua from Outrigger Reef and next door to the Hard Rock Cafe. Older place probably built in the seventies but met folks that had been coming here for a long time even living there. The management I met were great people very helpful. I had a room facing Kalakaua so it was a little noisy but you could barely hear it and I was out of my room by noon and at the beach anyway. Had a nice pool kitchenette with fridge, 2 burner hotplate and microwave, nice bed and it was very clean. You can stay here for what it would cost you two nights at a beachfront hotel and I walked home from the Shorebird after a last drink in less than five minutes. I'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was the Kalakaua front location a pool room might be bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

A wonderful little community! Great location, easily accessible, service fantastic, rooms themselves are a little dated but have everything you'll need! Pool is brilliant, everyone here is so helpful and only too willing to pass on information & assist where possible.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms get the afternoon sun but awnings help block out the heat! Street view rooms have g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The other reviews have summed up the features of this place very well. Tina made us feel very comfortable. She took care of everything in a friendly, smart, and professional manner which was especially appreciated given that one of us fell ill during our vacation. When we mentioned the sink was backing up someone came to repair it right away. Since we had to stay longer than planned, changing rooms enabled us to compare a pool side room with a street side room. The street side was not as noisy as we thought it would be and the pool side room had some noise from a nearby bar so it really does not seem to matter a whole lot which side your room is on. The place is plain, low key and happily without the kitchy decorating that can be so plentiful in some other affordable accommodations. We were glad to have stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Polynesian Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Plaza

Address: 2131 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Polynesian Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location! Polynesian Plaza is situated on Kalakaua Avenue and Beach Walk, the focal point of Waikiki, just one block to world-famous beaches. Comfortable studios feature private lanai balconies and fully equipped kitchenettes with a 2-burner stovetop (most), microwave, and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Polynesian Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Plaza Honolulu
Polynesian Plaza Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polynesian Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.