We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't be back in this hostel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beachside Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Beachside Hostel to your Saves list
Waikiki Beachside Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   2556 Lemon Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I won't be back in this hostel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Well the hostel wasn't very friendly at the desk. They were not helpful at all..
Also the rooms were very dirty and the bugs were everywhere.
The location was great, 5mins away from the beach.
So I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    165
    70
    18
    23
See reviews for
2
29
234
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wow! You just can't beat free wifi, continental breakfast and maid service at a hostel! If all your looking for is a cheap place to crash, a kitchen and a shower, then hostels are the way to go! I traveled by myself and stayed in an 8 female dorm room for two weeks! Everyone was courteous and respectful and pretty much gone the entire time. Gated community open 24/7, coed or male/female dorms right next to the beach! They have a large activity area with snack bar and vending machines. Scooter and bike rental right out front. Located in the heart of Waikiki, you won't be searching for things to do! Just take the speedy shuttle from the Honolulu airport and it's only 12 bucks! There's a Safeway down the road so u can save money and cook in your room. Hit up the Diamond Head National Park or learn to surf a few feet away from your room! This place is a must! Check out their website and watch the video. Mahalo!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed a total of two weeks at this hoste. The staff is awesome, very friendly, helpful and professional. The dorms that we stayed in were clean. The vibe of the hostel is relaxed and at night people usually meet at the lounge for a beer and a good time. We also got superb help when we were running late for our flight back home, thanks to the staff we managed to catch the flight. This is the place to stay in Waikiki, thanks for having us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place was bloody awful. We stayed for 3 nights at the start of march in and 8 bed shared dorm. 4 of the beds are in the kitchen, which doesn't make for an sleep at all when you have hardcore partiers in your room bringing all their mates back for pre drinks at 1am and then rolling in at 5am deciding to cook food because they have the drunken munchies. The rooms are barely clean, even though a cleaner comes in everyday, there are hardly any plug sockets to charge various electrical items, and the places in full of crack heads. Everyone here is a hard core partier. If you want a decent nights kip get a private room. The breakfast and communal areas are the parking lot underneath the hotel... Which isn't exactly welcoming. The location is great, your a two minute walk from the beach and about 10 minutes from the main shops etc, but that's about all this place has going for it. I would never stay here again, go to Polynesian beach 2 doors down.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

ALOHA! Keep in mind this is a HOSTEL not a HOTEL. I got in really early from my flight (8am) and although check-in is not until 12 they checked me in right away. I got a night for free as I stayed a week which was a good surprise. The staff are lovely and willing to help wherever possible. A stones throw to the beach, Zoo and aquarium along with the main shopping stretch. Yes the rooms are old and could do with being closed for a day and properly clean but I think if you have done enough backpacking you come to accept a bit of dirt. My room included 4 single beds, a kitchen with microwave, huge fridge and stove, it's own ensuite and a private balcony. Overall loved my stay. It can be very noisy at night but they try to shut that down between 10-11pm. Bed was very comfy too but the air con sounded like a piece of heavy machinery, best left off in 204b. Mahalo WBH!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Keep in mind that I report on my room only and my experience.

The Good: Great location near the beach, good lounge area and breakfast/snack bar ($2 burgers)

The Bad: filthy, no, make that FILTHY! Sticky floors, grimey shower, dust balls, old clothing from travelers long gone laying in the corners of the room. In three days no one came to clean the room. No one could use the kitchen unless they washed all the dishes that my inconsiderate room mates left piled in the sink for days. These were young people who had not been housetrained properly. They arrived in the room after midnight and wanted to party all night. Although the "rules" require that guests keep the kitchen area clean and a "quiet time" between certain hours, the staff refused to address the problem and had a "good luck with that" attitude. The "Ugly American" arose from my sleeping body on the second night to quell the disturbance.

The Ugly: The young male staff was very attentive to young female guests, but I witnesed very rude behavior to an older woman who was struggling to communicate with english.

Room Tip: Had I not arrived sleep deprived at 10 pm after 24 hours of traveling, I might have had the prescenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hostel is a converted motel about half a block inland from the east end of Waikiki Beach. WBH is the largest and definitely has the most fun and social vibe out of the three hostels on the same street, but has a professional staff that still makes sure everything runs smoothly. It is larger than average (2 buildings facing each other with 4 floors each).

Rooms are cleaned daily, the front desk is manned 24/7 (and by actual staff, not down on their luck backpackers), and the rooms are locked by magnetic wristbands that are waterproof and practically indestructible (I took it to 100 feet scuba diving and went surfing with it). Each dorm room is equipped with a kitchen, fridge, coin lockers, and bathroom. However, there is no restroom on the ground floor which is a little inconvenient if you've been drinking beers all night and live on the 4th floor.

There is a large and airy lounge on the ground floor where people tend to congregate and drink after dinner and before breakfast. It's fairly easy to meet people just hanging out there. I remember earlier during my stay there was a large group that stuck to themselves, but it got easier as more people traveling along or in smaller groups of 2~4 showed up. The lounge shuts down at 10 and everyone left gets kicked out so the party people walk out to the pier or to the rest of Waikiki and everyone else can get some sleep.


Now downsides:

The free breakfast is just toast, but the internet cafe in the base of the eastern building serves decent breakfast food and local island food. The hostel is located at the very end of the beach so it is about a longish 20~30 minute walk to the center of Waikiki if you want to explore some other bars or take advantage of the backpacker specials on Lewers street.

Some reviews talk about creepy long term guests. There were more older (35+) guests staying at this hostel (1~2 in my 8 pax dorm rooms) than I had encountered traveling in Australia or SE Asia, but the only long term guest I met was a 20 something who had been living there with his wife for a month. There were some awkward guys so if I was a girl I would try to stay in one of the girl dorms.

But regardless, I would probably stay here again if I came back to Waikiki since it is close to the beach and social. Another hostel I would consider in Waikiki is the Seaside that is more centrally located, but smaller and slightly further from the beach.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Beachside Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Beachside Hostel

Address: 2556 Lemon Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Waikiki Beachside Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Beachside Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waikiki Beachside Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Beachside Hostel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beachside Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.