We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, smart place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel to your Saves list
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% off Executive Suites
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent location, smart place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

After booking I had mixed feelings about both its location and an email advising of construction work going on in the hotel, but ... I really enjoyed my stay. Its location is both a plus and a minus, to the far East end of Waikiki beach, hence isolated from the noise and pace of Waikiki city, which means it is quiet, but a 10 minute minimum walk to shops/restaurants. Smart reception/lobby area, excellent restaurant and bar area in which had breakfast and supper, superb views from room across Waikiki, small rooms but spotless. Contrary to the hotel I had stayed in the previous 5 days (in Maui), internet access and a safe in the room were free, although parking is limited, hence valet only and relatively expensive ($24/day). I would stay again, in the end the construction work going on was inobtrusive and did not affect my stay.

Room Tip: I paid extra for ocean/park view, worth it as this is in a superb location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    239
    68
    37
    14
See reviews for
84
301
45
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed in this hotel overnight after visiting Maui and Hawaii. We had previously stayed in the busier, bustling center of Wakiki and we were looking for a more relaxed and less hectic environment, before catching a flight to the mainlnd US. The New Otani was perfect for our requirements. Its ner Diamond Head. It's older and being renovated. Our room was small and a bit worn, but the queen bed was comfortable and we had a great view of Diamond Head from our balcony. You walk directly out of the hotel onto the public beach which was not overly crowded. The beach is next to a large well tended park with a small public aquarium. The hotel provides bamboo sand mats as well as beach towels. Very friendly helpful staff who made some good recommendations for dining options within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again although I would upgrade to a larger room. There is no swimming pool or health club in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful hotel 4 days in June 2014. The start of our Hawaiian Vacation, and we were not disappointed. Our Waikiki and Diamond Head views were spectacular, Fireworks on Friday night, Rainbows over the Pacific, green park , well maintained right next door. The room was serviced twice a day, and a turn down service each evening.The entire staff is exceptional.Try to have breakfast at least once, at the Hau Tree Restaurant, it is world class and a great way to start your morning . The Honolulu Zoo and Aquarium are within walking distance, as well as nice shopping, at the Royal Hawaiian Center. This Home away from home keeps you outside of the Big City Crush of Waikiki crowds , yet gives you easy access to the Iconic Views.Mahalo.

Room Tip: Room 810 gives the Best Views of Waikiki, Oceanfront and Diamond Head twinkles at night.We never hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy Park, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Nice hotel, located directly on the beach. Positives? Away from the Waikiki crowds. Negatives? Away from eating places outside of the hotel's 2 dressy restaurants and small bar. The hotel is also going through a major renovation at this time (June 2014). If you plan on being in your room beyond 9am in the mornings (during the week) beware. Renovation work starts around 9am, meaning that loud Jack Hammer and drill sounds can resonate through the hotel's concrete walls, and feels like you are inside a ringing bell. Other than that, the "Modest" hotel rooms are very comfortable, especially if you are traveling by yourself. About the hotel restaurants, we ate dinner the Miyako, the Chef Special Prefix dinner was excellent. We also breakfast at The Hau Tree Lanai, the ambience was beautiful, the food was average, and the service was very spotty (had to ask for coffee refill and water after waiting patiently for refills).

Room Tip: If you are a couple traveling together then a "Standard" (or bigger) room is more advisabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waialua, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed here the night before the Honolulu Marathon. The location was great. I was able to walk to the zoo to catch a shuttle to the start line. It is an easy walk to the zoo and aquarium. The room was basic and clean. Nothing fancy but a good location.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I love this place! The location is perfect with the beach, park, and Waikiki and Diamond Head right there, yet just enough removed. Though it may not be the most shining and up-to date, this place emanates a feeling of Aloha and the Hawaii that I know and love that is disappearing as things update and modernize. The staff is excellent and genuinely friendly and kind, the food and service wonderful. I don't want to stay anywhere else when visiting Oahu!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This New Otani is beautifully located nearby Diamond Head at the end of Waikiki beach, the beach itself is very nice. Sadly, the room's condition was poor: a whole in the carpet, old and dusty curtains, squeaky bed, old linens, etc. The service at the front counter was not very attentive and the wait staff at their Japanese restaurant was borderline arrogant, however, the bell staff was pleasant and welcoming. This was an unpleasant surprise to me as I've stayed numerous times at New Otani hotels in both Japan and the mainland U.S. and the service and condition of their hotels have been impeccable. The price we paid was reasonable but we would not return to this hotel unless it is refurbished/updated and management retrains its staff on how to be polite and attentive to its guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.