We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Surf into Summer Package
Ranked #34 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Fontana, California, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Rooms are nice, staff is great, the beach is right outside the hotel. Our view is of Diamondhead which is awesome. We are in an older room but still nice for the price. The restaurant is a bit pricey, but its Hawaii and you are on vacation! We only had one problem and that was the drain in the shower was slow to drain but I called and someone came and fixed it within 15 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    229
    67
    37
    14
See reviews for
79
292
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

If you want to avoid Waikiki but be close enough to the action, then this hotel is the place to be. Get a room that has a Waikiki view. Staff is friendly, rooms are spacious and clean, but this is all about the view. The restaurant, Hau Tree Lanai, is amazing. Even if you include the breakfast package, you must make a reservation for breakfast. Sounds strange, but this little gem is jammed anytime in the AM so heed their advice. VERY expensive restaurant. For lunch and dinner but worth it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you want to avoid the crowds of Waikiki Beach try the Kaimana Beach Hotel at the east end of Waikiki, near the Aquarium. The staff is attentive and the Hau Tree restaurant is right on the sand. Lovely spot for sunset,

Room Tip: You pay less for a Diamond Head View. The corner rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia, Moscow
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The optimal choice for those who like a quiet and relaxing beach holiday, a nice, clean uncrowded sandy beach with safe and convenient passage into the sea near Diamond Head, akvarium, public park, bus stop in Waikiki, Downtown, Pearl Harbor, the airport, before the start of Waikiki Beach - about 10 minutes walking. the hotel consists of two buildings, which are connected by a common corridor. 9-storey main building stands on the beach, a 3-storey extension is along a public park, surrounded by parking lots, very old, noisy not comfortable for the rest. It contains the most economical rooms - Diamond Head Wing Studio, Diamond Head Wing One Bedroom, Diamond Head Wing Park View One Bedroom. When choosing numbers suggest using the official website of the hotel, which is narrated in detail illustrated with every hotel room. Of course, taking a room in the main building only. From April 2013 began the reconstruction of rooms with 9 floors. Also updated the facades of the building. But the discomfort is minimal, almost no noise. Only the passage of the beach is covered, we have to use the nearby park trails. Breakfast optional reservation in advance, as a lot of people who want to sit in the shade under a tree overlooking the beach and sea, as did Robert Stevenson. Every morning, many Japanese come here for breakfast on buses and taxis. As I understand, the place is very popular and well known. The chef prepares a variety of dishes, my husband liked them very much. For a beach holiday give special mats and towels. In general, the rest is viewed positively. A little depressed pristine condition hotels and rooms. But all of this will solve the reconstruction of the hotel. The staff is friendly, active attentive to all needs and desires.

Room Tip: In any case not to take a number from the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Small, outdated room in great need of a makeover. Windows were covered with anti glare coating that was hanging in shreds. Bathroom door was made of shutters that hadn't been cleaned in years - the gaps between the slats were encased with grime and dust and god knows what else. Walls, ceiling and furniture were scuffed and dingy. Great location though.

Service was unfriendly and unhelpful. I stayed here years ago and found the service then to be exceptional. I don't know what's happened to this formerly lovely property, but I definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in April 2013.
We stayed in the older wing, quiet but dated. Bed was comfortable but had to use stairs no lift.
Restaurant was great best meals we had in the whole month we were in Hawaii, try the french toast.

Room Tip: No pool here and they don't let you check in earlier
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed three nights during the 4th of July week to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. Since we were married near this hotel (Diamond Head Beach Park), and stayed there for our honeymoon, we have a special attachment. We have returned to Hawaii at least once a year since our wedding - staying here and at various other properties both on Oahu and other Islands - so we feel like we have a good basis of comparison.

There are accommodations in Hawaii that are more elegant than this one, but the charm of the Otani Kiamana exceeds most of them! We checked out after three nights to stay at the Royal Hawaiian because we had previously booked a room there for the later part of the week. Although the "Pink Palace" is exceptional in many ways, we wished that we had just stayed at the Otani.

I know there are some that like the "Big Resort" type of environment. However, we have come to appreciate the quiet end of Waikiki. The Otani Staff has always been accommodating to us, we have always been given a nice room (although small), and always been happy there.

If you like the big crowds, conventions, noise, and have to have a swimming pool - this may not be your place. We will return here.

I suggest that you book and ocean front room and/or a suite. If you like beautiful views and a little peace, you will love it! You'll also like the Hau Tree Lanai for breakfast!

Room Tip: Any of the ocean front rooms are great. I prefer the corner ocean front deluxe - the view is specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.