We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location, lovely views, much nicer than central Waikiki.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel to your Saves list
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$157 (USD)
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
sf
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fab location, lovely views, much nicer than central Waikiki.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We used to live in Honolulu. We love this location. Away from the cheesiness of Waikiki. Great swimming beach. Nice surf spot. Easy paddle out. My husband and son love that. Plus the hay tree lanai is the best place to hang out for a leisurely breakfast or lunch. Watch the beach scene and the waves.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    244
    68
    39
    14
See reviews for
84
314
46
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilmer, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is right on a beautiful well maintained beach away from the busy part of Waikiki. Room sounded small when we reserved room, but was comfortable for my wife and I. We had a private lanai where we sat and could watch the ocean and listen to the waves. The climate was so comfortable that we left the lanai door open at night and room stayed cool and we were able to hear the ocean waves while we slept (very peaceful). Hotel staff, other than the concierge, was very helpful. The valet's went above and beyond by giving us useful travel information for places of interest. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, and stay here if we ever get the chance to return to Oahu!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ for ocean view. Definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We loved our room. Great view of Waikiki, the ocean and Diamond Head. Large open plan quiet room with good bathroom. And a case stand, I love that! Easy access to the beach with towels and beach mat provided.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a view if wanted. One side of the building has no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was a little nervous about the new otani after reading some of the reviews. When I arrived the valet helped me with my luggage and was very friendly. The front desk agent was lovely! we were getting married on the island so she upgraded us to an ocean view room.The room was beautiful with a large lanai, ocean view and a mountain range view. Stunning! New otani was really a dream. Simple but very clean. All ocean view rooms get turn down service which is always a nice touch. I love that it was in a quiet area but only a 10 minute walk to the main area of waikiki. If i come back to the island I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our FTE Conference was here from June 10-14 and the hotel staff was so nice and hospitable...thinking the 3-4 Japanese weddings daily must prep them for all kinds of people!
I know for next time to get an annex room- much bigger for sharing - but the rooms, although small, are quite utilitarian.
No complaints, and RIGHT ON THE BEACH, with free towels, mats for the beach- you cannot go wrong here.
It is a mile or so from the main waikiki dag- but it suited us just fine- less hub ub and tourists hangin' about~ very nice, and the rates to stay for the conference were very reasonable for OAHU...some stayed early and afterwards, due to the great pricing.
Dining there is a bit pricey for teachers (our group) but the lunch we had and breakfast fixins and fruit medleys were awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for the annex if you want size- ask for beach view, if you care~ and spend that much time there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I booked this hotel for a 5 day vacation in Honolulu, I was given a unit that really falling apart and smelled bad. i had requested a king size bed but the unit had twin beds. i was mostly disappointed because the rate i paid was the same as staying in the renovated tower. They advertised as having a washer and dryer in its units but in it did not, they have a laundry center with 1 machine and dryer for everyone staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: request a room in the new/renovated tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor and for your recent stay at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel. Anytime there is dissatisfaction with our product, we encourage guests to let the front desk or management know as soon as possible to ensure immediate action can be implemented. We see that the room you checked in was the One Bedroom, located in the Diamond Head Wing (walk-up). Upon reviewing the reservation, there was no notation on the reservation itself which indicates two twin beds is requested, however we do try our best to deliver specific bedding requests when asked. We apologize if this was failed. The hotel is planning to start soft renovations with the rooms in the Diamond Head Wing. Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you again. Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention. Mahalo from the staff and management at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I were in town for a wedding and booked this hotel for a week long stay. The hotel is undergoing renovations (which we did not know) and the room we were given was NOT renovated. Tiny, smelly, dirty, dilapidated. I refused to sleep in the bed and the one chair was so dirty I put a towel over it before I sat down. However, the real reason for the bad review is that there was no effort made to accommodate us. When we called downstairs to inquire what would happen if we checked out early we were told we would pay for the night. No one asked "is there a problem?" or "Would you like a different room?" Even when we showed up in the lobby with our suitcases 40 minutes after we checked in (there was no way I was going to spend even one night in that room) no one asked if there was anything they could do. To their credit, they did not charge us for the night, merely watched us load our bags in the taxi and leave.

Other people in town for the same event did stay there in the renovated sections and say it was okay. However, we could not leave fast enough. The room was so bad I am surprised they didn't try to warn us. We would have been willing to upgrade if necessary to change rooms. As it was we booked into the Marriott at a bit more than we would have paid here, the New Otani didn't even offer that or anything else as a solution.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.