We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel to your Saves list
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
9 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place was recommended by our travel agent and when we first arrived we were taken to a room that still needed to be renovated. Our travel agent quickly corrected this and we were taken to a newly renovated room. The views were AMAZING and it was a wonderful hotel. The room service was very quick and the food was outstanding. The rooms were very clean and it was very peaceful and quiet. a short walk to the hustle and bustle of the noisey area and so well worth it. We were able to park in the park next door and not pay the daily parking fee which was very nice. The hotel staff was very friendly and we just really enjoyed our trip. We will be staying here again when we come back and visit.
There is not a pool or hot tub at this hotel but this hotel is on the beach and the natural reef is wonderful and you are able to swim in the ocean which is far better than any pool.

Room Tip: We has a view of the ocean and the park next door. It was a corner room with a wrap around lani.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    267
    72
    43
    15
See reviews for
93
348
51
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel was right on the Waikiki beach and was beautiful. The temperature was in the 80's everyday and in the 70's every night. It is located in a great spot where you are not far from anything you want to do, shopping, eating, mountain climbing or whatever. I can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Get a room off the front that overlooks the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again. Mahalo, Staff & Management of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel is a wonderful choice if you want to be on the beach but away from some of the bustle of Waikiki. The beach in front of the hotel is wide and the water is shallow for some distance, making it ideal for families. It offers great views back to Waikiki and is opposite Kapiolani Park. The proximity to the park and the beach promenade toward Waikiki, make it ideal for access to walks and jogging. The downside naturally to the distance from Waikiki is less choice of restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The hotel restaurant is very good and offers a beautiful intimate setting for sunset dinners or breakfast. They are well known for their eggs benedict selections. My wife and I live in Honolulu and just spent an overnight anniversary celebration. We stayed in their smallest oceanview room which was compact but not unreasonably small. The balcony to the beach overcame any feeling of smallness. It is also much quieter than Waikiki.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We appreciate your time and feedback, and we hope to welcome you back again to Waikiki’s quiet paradise. Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrangell, Alaska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I'm a frequent visitor to the Hawaiian Islands but this was my first stop on Oahu. My main focus was to visit the Arizona Memorial and other museums of Pearl Harbor. I'm very pleased I choose the New Otani over many other hotels with "better deals" on Waikiki Beach! The hotel is with in walking distance to the busy "Las Vegas" atmosphere of the strip. But felt miles away because of the green space provided by Kapiolani Park. I'll admit it I'm not a Waikiki type vacationer. So it was nice to have some green space and ocean around the hotel instead of shopping malls.
The New Otani sits on a perfect little beach with an outer reef that protects it from the main swell-great swimming beach for families. There is a channel in the reef that leads out to offshore breakers so one can have the best of both ocean conditions right at your doorstep.
I also found it fun and interesting to walk around Diamond Head Crater Park-watching the surfers on the coast and strolling thru nice neighborhoods made for a great walk.
We stayed in a series 17 room (full ocean view) and felt it was well worth the splurge.

The only downside to this hotel is the lack of a swimming pool (guess that is what the ocean is for!) and gym. There is small gym with kinda worn equipment on the property next door that one can access for $15 a day-run on the beach or in the park instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here between 23rd March and 2nd April 2013. We loved the fact that the hotel was about 10 minutes walk from the main stretch of Waikiki which meant the we were close enough to walk into the centre but far enough away not to be bothered by noise. It also meant that the beach was not as busy. The beach is right next to the hotel which was brilliant. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble. The room was a reasonable size but lacked storage space. The room was also dated, the bathroom needed a face lift. We had met friends there and their room seemed to have been updated so perhaps ask for this. The reception rest rooms had obviously been updated as well so perhaps they have a running programme. We did not eat in the main restaurant (mainly as we are not fish lovers) but we did have a bar snack which was lovely. We had a room on the side of the hotel but this meant that we had views of the beach and also the backdrop of diamond head and we loved sitting on the balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our first visit to the hotel was lovely. We stayed overnight when we arrived on Hawaii, and our room was just right. We had an oblique angle view of the ocean (more park than ocean), we had a tremendous bathroom, and a nice, squishy bed. On our return, a couple of days before we left Hawaii, we were booked into a room on a low-standing wing of the hotel. The room was over the break room for the gym downstairs, so cigarette smoke wafted in through the open balcony door. When we went out to stand on the balcony, we were chased in by cockroaches. Inside, we found ants on the bathroom sink and near the coffee machine at the front door. The air conditioner vent was covered in dust. Thankfully, when we complained the next day, they moved us back to the nice side. But honestly, if you get the wrong deal or rate or cycle of the moon, you could wind up in a room no better than a no-tell motel.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better, and look for number above 10 (eg. 412, 520, 618, etc).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The New Otani is by far the best hotel in Honolulu - I would not stay anywhere else. After spending 5 nights at the crowded Sheraton in Maui, my partner and I were craving a peaceful, beautiful, authentic hotel. The New Otani did not disappoint. The views from room 821 were breathtaking, and the room spacious and modern. Every night, the staff left beautiful flowers on our pillows after turnover. The restaurant was definitely one of the highlights - it sits directly under a banyan tree, and provides an almost mediterranean feel. You have to try the beef burger! Delicious! The hotel is located away from the constant crowds (but close enough to walk to dinner and shops) and tucked away on it's own private beautiful beach. The beach was very clear and my partner saw turtles most days!

The staff were fantastic and everyone was very friendly! On one particular night, our waiter went out of his way to try and help us fix our camera on the iPhone so we could take the perfect picture!

We will not stay anywhere else in Honolulu and highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure you book the deluxe ocean front rooms! The rooms have been renovated and offer the best vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.