We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good for Hawaii” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel to your Saves list
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
50 Years of Aloha
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty Good for Hawaii”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hawaii is expensive and hotels are in high demand. You have to pay the Hawaii premium to vacation here and it's not really fair to compare accommodations in Hawaii to anywhere else in the world. It's like New York City. If you want to go there, you have to pay the price.

We stayed in a Ocean View Superior Room. Half the hotel with ocean view is renovated and I believe other half is not. If you are going all the way to Hawaii, pay the price and get the ocean view. It's worth it. The room was narrow and long with a mud room/foyer but spacious overall. Nice size bathroom and living area. There was a small couch for two (more like one) but you don't go to Hawaii to lounge and watch TV. It's hard to say whether the extra $$ for the corner room is worth it or not. From our balcony, we could see Waikiki beach so I think it was ok for us.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's about 15 minute walk to the southern tip of the Waikiki strip. Also, you can find street parking (valet parking is quite expensive) over night and we were there over Thanksgiving weekend so we didn't have to feed the meter when we went walking about in Wakiki. Also, unlike most hotels on Waikiki, the hotel is right on the beach and so you can go for a quick swim. The hotel will give you mat and towels.

The staff is super friendly. We had drinks/appetizers which were ok. On the weekends, there's live music. The hotel seemed friendly for families.

Room Tip: Ocean view a must. Corner rooms probably have better layout but have to pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    244
    68
    39
    14
See reviews for
84
315
46
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel 03/06/13 thru 03/11/13 and didn't want to leave. In my opinion it was the cleanest and nicest hotel in Waikiki. It's hidden away from the hustle and bushel of the downtown Waikiki strip, it felt like we were staying in exclusive resort. The stay were all friendly and informative. The hotel as all the amenities you would need, such as hair salon, laundry mat, two restaurants, a convenient store, just to name a few, just few minute walk from shopping, surfing, aquarium, zoo, park and the beach is right out your hotel door. The next time we go to Hawaii this is where will stay!!!! Aloha, "Just Hang Lose"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, AZ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed there from 3.4.2013 through 3.10.2013. When reserving, I requested an updated room overlooking the ocean. It was basic, but clean and very pleasant.The rooms on the other side looked dated, but still clean. Although there have been some unfavorable reviews about the park, noise, cleanliness and staff problems, we found none of this. It's right on a public beach/park, not a private area, so there will be some noise. All of it died down by 9:00 pm every night, which was more than acceptable. You literally walk out the back door onto a nice, sheltered beach area without the crowded conditions on Waikiki. The staff including housekeeping, bell desk, check-in, valet, activities desk and restaurant were all more than helpful and seemed to care about our stay. The housekeeper kept missing (or not taking) my tips, I had to follow her down the hall once and she seemed reluctant to take it. I think if you treat the staff respectfully, you'll be treated well in return. The air conditioner was a new Mr. Slim which was super quiet and easy to operate, none of that annoying A/C rattling keeping you awake even at high-end hotels. The room was somewhat small, but what do you need when you're spending all of your time out of doors, swimming and hiking? Some people sitting next to us in the restaurant owned a condo down the street and said that they recommend this hotel to their friends and family. A woman we met in the elevator said she had just checked out of a noisy, loud resort by the Waikiki beach and was hoping the New Otani Kaimana was quiet. This is not a resort and it is very basic, however, it was exactly what we were looking for - when we walked down to the Waikiki beach area, it was a cluster ruckus with horrendous traffic, and we were so glad we stayed right on the San Souci beach. If you're looking for perks and updated resort amenities, this is definitely not the place for you. If you want a clean, basic room with great ocean views, sunsets and an uncrowded beach, this is where to go. Check out Leonards, Rainbow Cafe, Diamondhead Beach Club, and the beach restaurant between the New Otani and Waikiki for reasonably priced, excellent food.Rainbow and Diamondhead Beach Club are both outdoor restaurants -- if there's no picnic tables available, you can always take it to your room and eat on the lanai. The food on Waikiki Beach was way overpriced and nothing special, and we were happy with these recommendations from one of the valets.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your recent stay and for your precious time and energy in writing this valuable reponse on Trip Advisor, as it will be shared to all of our management and staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I found the rooms to be mediocre and the service at the front desk excellent. We had a problem though with the concierge desk, the morning concierge (older Asian lady) to be very short and cut us off in the middle of our questions to say she had to put money in her parking meter!!!!!!!!!! This is unheard of in a hotel of this calibre and when you are paying these prices I expect better service. Her recommendation of Germaines Luau was awful and she kept trying to send me to Roys which we have down the street where I live when I specifically asked her for local restuarants that you can't find anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for recent stay and for your review made on Trip Advisor. We apologize if there was any frustrations you may have experienced. The travel desk (concierge desk) is operated by an outside company, nonetheless they are an extentsion of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel. Our staff is committed to provide the best service for our guests. Mahalo nui loa, from the management at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We booked our reservation through Otel.com, and got the room we wanted, the view we wanted and at a good price too. Love the beach and the staff -- and the fact that it borders Kapaolani Park -- where the Aquarium and Zoo are. We kept seeing Japanese couples being married on the beach - must be a good business. There's a great beachfront walk through Kapalani Park to bustling Waikiki. And it's only a 5 km. walk to the centre of the Diamond Head crater. The staff were terrific - very accomodating and professtional.We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We used Otel.com and found them to be very reliable. They checked repeatedly with us to ensure that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel and I must say, the rooms are pretty small. I paid for an upgraded room facing the Pacific and it was an amazing view. It the 3rd floor room, 2 floors above the restaurant.

The hotel staff was pretty friendly, accommodating and helpful. There was one valet staff member there that was a bit rude but whatever. The upgraded rooms were very clean, modern and beautiful. The TV was a bit weird though. Upon leaving, we also requested a hospitality room, which we were able to use to freshen up before our red eye flight. They gave us the annex room, the one with no elevator. This room compared to the upgraded rooms was a NO NO. If you get the chance, UPGRADE!

Room Tip: upgrade the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

this hotel should probably be a 1 or 2 star property. I stayed here because I had a 125 dollar credit to use with the app hotels tonightand my out of pocket expenses came to a total of 40 dollars. The hotel is a series of 3 or 4 buildings very old construction most of the interior and exterior always in common areas are not updated at all.when we got into our room and turned on the air conditioner there was an overwhelming older of mildew. there were bugs why's throughout the room mold and mildew on the tiles in the shower and the toilet ran all night long. We did however have a room that had a partial ocean view which was nice. The location of the hotel is nice quieter nearly Honolulu Zoo but I can't see spending more than 50 dollars a night for it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.