We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to New Otani” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel to your Saves list
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
50 Years of Aloha
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Return to New Otani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is my favorite place to stay in Honolulu. I wrote a positive review of the hotel after our stay last February but mentioned that it needed some renovations. When I made reservations for our December visit I requested the same room (ocean front on the 8th floor with great ocean and Waikiki outlooks, wrap around lanai that even gives a peek at Diamond Head) because the views where so spectacular. When we checked into the room we found it had been completely remodeled, a lovely surprise! The bellman told us that they were in the process of remodeling all the rooms but not all have been completed. It would probably be a good idea to ask when making reservations. Another reviewer mentioned that this is a three star hotel in a five star location, which is a very good description. It is somewhat expensive but this is on the beach in Honolulu. Having lived in Hawaii for 8 years in the 1980s, one realizes that everything is more expensive. It is certainly less expensive than most of the waterfront hotels in the midst of Waikiki and much more serene. Besides having a wonderful beach/ snorkeling right in front of the hotel there are not a lot of options for children's entertainment, although the Waikiki Aquarium is in easy walking distance. This is a hotel not a resort, which frankly is a plus for us. There is no pool or hot tub nor adventure packages done by the hotel. There is a charge for car parking (as there is at every hotel in Waikiki). We found the hotel staff very pleasant and accommodating. They printed our boarding passes at the desk for us although another reviewer said that they did not. We bought the breakfast plan which worked out well for us. Since we have numerous friends in the area we only ate in the restaurant one night this trip but always find it more reasonable than any other beach front restaurant. The restaurant is small and can get very busy because it is popular with locals and Japanese tourists so reservations are recommended. We typically buy liquor at the store and have our cocktails in private on our balcony where the view is more spectacular than in the bar...cheaper too. We travel to Hawaii several times a year on business and could probably stay anywhere but this is our hotel of choice in Honolulu...beautiful views, low key, great location. If what you want is entertainment for the kids, hustle bustle Waikiki, lavish public rooms and obsequious service you might be happier somewhere else. If you want the best views for your money, a charming small restaurant, a quieter beach, and more serenity than you will find any where else in Waikiki, I recommend the New Otani!

Room Tip: I would ask for ocean view, particularly a corner room that affords additional views of Waikiki and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We really appreciate your efforts in taking the time to write a reponse on Trip Advisor. Thank you for selecting The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel on your recent trip. Mahalo, from the staff and management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    245
    68
    39
    14
See reviews for
84
316
46
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Upgraded to a oceanview balcony for $100 extra a night. As most reviews say this is a wonderful view property and right on the beach. Really this is only one of many things to consider when traveling, for us at least.

For almost $500 a night you think you could get a printout of a boarding pass for a tour or a printout from the internet period. Point me to a computer across from the main desk $5 to start and $$ per page to print. Come on. Then charge for a chair to sit on the beach, a chair! Valet service for rental is alright but they walk 20 feet get the car open the door and have their hand out. The valet service cost more a day then our car rental.

Cut out the two-bit charges and offer more services for the money. We will look somewhere else next time. Economy being what it is bang for the buck and SERVICE is important to us. Definitely not for traveller's with children, nothing for them to do. Don't get me started on the costs for drinks and food.

It was for our 20th wedding anniversary and it wasn't until I ribbed the front desk clerk that maybe a bottle of wine or fruit basket was in order that he went to the back and came back with two boxes of macadamia nuts........

Room Tip: Ocean front is without a doubt the best but very pricey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and your helpful comments made on Trip Advisor. Each and every comment is reviewed and scrutinized by our management. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible service, and when you feel that we had failed to meet your expectations, it’s important for us to know. We regret any inconvenience or frustration that your experience has caused you. Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you. Mahalo Nui Loa, from the staff and management at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I wrote a very favorable review of this hotel a couple of years ago. In my opinion, it is still a lovely three-star lodging in a five-star location. Those panoramic views from the balcony are not to be missed. The beach is still quiet and peaceful. The park is serene, and I never mind the shaded walk to Waikiki. But among the senior staff members on duty (not the young people,) one can detect an unmistakable streak of arrogance. Complimentary morning coffee service is sketchy, with no apparent allegiance to the advertised schedule. Restaurant managers are slightly irritable. The concierge seems weary of tourists and uniformed about events. (I finally found enthusiastic help in the lobby of the Outrigger in Waikiki.) I get the feeling that this property caters mainly to local residents and frequently returning business travelers, kind of like a private club that is somehow obliged to serve the general public. That's a shame because the young people who work here do a beautiful job of making you feel welcome. Funny how little things like that matter so much when you're on vacation far from home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

First it is FAR from waikiki, have to walk 20 min to catch a bus, trolly or shuttle bus.

Second the service is extremely disappointing. Amenities in the room is not complete, i have to ask for a 'do not disturb' sign!

Third the hotel is old and need refurbish seriously! The cupboards are at least 20yrs old. The bathroom got mold and old stint!

I would definitely not stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hotel has great little beach side restaurant with the rudest staff I have seen in Hawaii. Tried to have lunch there today and I have taken people there for the last 35 years ........but today the hostess was not only rude but insulting, The front desk manager was no help and when I asked to speak to the general manger of the hotel I was told he was on the second floor and to go to the house phone, was the put through only to voice mail. Such a shame but my last trip to,this quaint restaurant because of staff and customer service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was our 6th stay at the New Otani and we feel quite at home. The big attractions are
Sans Souci Beach in front of the hotel, the lovely stroll along the oceanfront to downtown Waikiki and the friendliness of the staff. We stayed in a newly renovated Ocean Waikiki Superior at a special 3 night minimum package which resulted in a nice discount from the published rack rate. Bathrooms are tiny but clean. Evening cocktails on the balcony enjoying the lights of Waikiki were a treat. Daily breakfast at Hau Tree Lanai was a great way to start the day. Don't forget to book in advance, or you'll be in for a wait. Only negative were smokers on adjoining balcony who's second hand smoke regularly drifted our way, causing us to close our balcony door and switch on the air conditioning.

Room Tip: We prefer the Ocean Waikiki (west facing) view rooms. Ocean views have some beach noise during day a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

My wife and i stayed on at the otani for the first leg of hour honeymoon. 4 nights. This is considered a boutique hotel.
Positives.
Ocean view rooms have great views of waikiki and the water. Really one of a kind for the price. $224/ night. Overnight valet was $23. Valet drivers were quick and attentive and very nice to talk to. Hotel is right on the beach. Sana souci beach is a small private area great for swimming and snorkel and launching kayaks. The waves do not get rough here. No board sports here though. You have to make a short walk down the beach walk to find much surfing and body boarding. There is a well stocked convience store on the property as well as other shops. We bought cereal and pop tarts here for breakfast most days. Beach towels are free to check out. Staff was friendly throughout the hotel. Rooms very clean with great air conditioning. Room had a nice sized safe that will fit a laptop and various valuables.

Negatives...
Room was pretty small. We found our selves very crowded with all our luggage out. They have a dresser and closet space to hang clothes. But only staying four days, we did not utilize much of it. They have an activities desk where you can book tours and rent beach equipment and lessons. However the attendent was never around when we wanted to find info. Not sure if she is directly related to the hotel or not. It is about a 10-15min walk to waikiki, 2 paths street or a nice beach walk. At night this walk can be bit daunting do to the homeless folks who set up camp in the park or live out of their cars along the street. We did not have any problems but you were definetly on alert.

Conclusion....
This is a very japanese hotel. Reflective of room size and various policies and of course clientel. Great hotel for middle age and older couples. Away from the hustle of waikik but with in walking distance to all the action. Overall we enjoyed our stay, as we are in our thirties and like to be active but have a nice retreat at the end of the day.

A note about oahu. Most activities close around 5pm. If you are a late riser. You wont get half the stuff on you list done.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.