We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm & beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Surf into Summer Package
Ranked #32 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm & beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

As a former resident of Honolulu I always return to the Kaimana. It is located at the foot of Diamond Head across from Kapiolani Park not in the midst of overbuilt & noisy Waikiki. Yes, they do charge a parking fee because the excellent attendants must constantly rearrange parking due to limited space. This was always done with speed and a smile. My room faced the ocean and insured I could simply listen to the sound of the waves from my lanai not gridlock traffic.

Room Tip: I chose one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    226
    67
    35
    15
See reviews for
75
287
42
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

What a great little Hotel, off of Waikiki. Everyone very pleasant. Rooms very clean, updated with fabulous ocean views. It is right on Waikiki Beach, but yet out of the hustle and bustle. Loved that it is right across from Kapiolani Park, if I wanted to run.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Clean,quiet, inexpensive and the staff are great. The location off the property is off the beaten path. I hear the rooms were recently upgraded. Check out the second floor Japanese Restaurant, which features fantastic food and drinks. Down in the main, airy lobby, you can order a bottle of Kona brew and an appetizer of sashimi all for about $18. Fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for the value room with the Diamond Head view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel on Oahu from September 23-28, 2012. This was the second leg of our vacation, and the third hotel we stayed at in Hawaii. The hotel is in a great location, right on the beach and next to the Kapiolani Park on the south side of Waikiki. The hotel is also located within walking distance of the Honolulu Aquarium, the Honolulu Zoo, the Waikiki strip, and Diamond Head Crater. The location was ideal for getting around the Honolulu/Waikiki area, as we were on mopeds most of the time. The park next door did house some vagrants and vagabonds, but we never felt unsafe. The location gets 5 stars from me, but that is the best part of the hotel.

Our room was in the diamond head wing, which claims to have been recently upgraded/redone, but it didn't feel like it. The room size was average, and had good amenities like a microwave, fridge, and sink. The bathroom was ok. A large vanity area separate from the toilet and shower. The shower was meek at best though. Very little water pressure, and whenever another guest in your wing flushed, the water temperature changed dramatically. The room was mostly clean, but we did have a lot of tiny ants by the front door and in the kitchen area. Big turn-off. Overall I would give the room about two out of five stars.

The staff was very friendly and accommadating, and we got beach towels and mats every day. They also were very knowledgable about the area, and informed us of a few great hot spots to visit. There is barley any parking (read: no parking) at the hotel unless you want to valet for 23$ per night. There is a park next door and across the streer that you can park your vehicles at, but it is very crowded during the day, and even spots fill up quick at night. There are also a few shops/businesses located on hotel grounds, but they were pricy. The on-site restaurant also looked very nice, but was very pricy (around 80$ a person for a decent dinner).

Overall, this was the better of the two hotels we stayed at while in Oahu, but I probably will stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: I would probably spring for a room in the regular part of the hotel, and not the diamond head wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights in the Diamond Head view room and enjoyed it. Pros and cons:
Pros:
Air con good
Bed very comfortable
Balcony with view
Staff very friendly
Quiet location
Cons:
Wifi non existent
This is a good hotel if you get a good deal. I would not pay posted rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is located right on the beach (San Souci); no roads to cross! It is a 10 minute walk from the the "Waikiki strip" through Kapiolani Park and is a pleasant walk. We stayed in a "Diamond Head" view room which was comfortable and clean but could use a renovation. I understand that some rooms have been renovated. The Hau Tree Lanai restaurant is fabulous both for the quality of food and the view of the beach and ocean. This is the second time I have stayed there and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

For the most part, I have enjoyed the 4 days staying at the New Otani Kaimana. Of particular importance, was the awesome view from our corner room and San Souci beach just outside the hotel. By far, these were the two aspects worth paying for. The 15 minute walk from the hotel to Waikiki and back, just to get coffee, food, etc, can be a pain though.

However, I must say the thing I found most annoying about the hotel was the poor customer service. Having just stayed 4 days earlier at the Modern Hotel at the opposite end of Waikiki, the lack of customer service at the New Otani Kaimana becomes apparent. Franky, the customer service at Teddy's Bigger Burgers was way better.

For instance, I did not have my phone with me, so I asked the front desk if they could tell me what the weather was like in Waimea Bay - I was told they did not know. They did not even bother to Google it.

Today, I asked if the lounge had a Happy Hour and was told yes, from 2-4 pm. Then, when we showed up at that time and inquired about the Happy Hour, the bartender just shook his head and said not for about 5 years. I stated that a lady at the hotel had told me there was one and he flippantly said "who, the cashier". He was completely dismissive and that is not a way to treat guests.

On other item that seems to be guest unfriendly, is the fact that while there is free internet from your room, in order to print your boarding passes, you must use the front lobby computer for a fee of $5 minimum, plus .75 per page to print. What the hell? Isn't the point to be guest friendly and make our stay easier?

FYI, I called the Modern Hotel where I had just stayed a few days prior, to thank again the manager for her help while there. In doing so, I complained about this incident and she told me I could come by and print my boarding passes there, if I needed to. Now that is customer service!

To be clear, the New Otani Kaimana hotel has a great view of Waikiki, if you get the right room. The beach right outside the hotel is also great, and has an overall calmer environment. However, there are better hotels for less, and they will make your vacation stay with them feel like it matters.

Room Tip: Get a newly renovated Ocean Front Waikiki Deluxe Corner room. The view from this room will be the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.