We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but takes advantage of customers with inflated prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel to your Saves list
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Dallas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but takes advantage of customers with inflated prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in September 2010, and wrote a review at that time. I again stayed in this hotel in room 612 in July of 2011. And, my opinion is basically the same. There are good and bad points to this hotel.

We had requested room 812 where we stayed last trip. However, the hotel did not accomodate that request, and moved us two floors lower. Basically the same exact room, so not sure why our request could not be granted...but, oh well...same great view.

With investment, this could be a premiere property. The beautiful San Souci beach is one of the best in Waikiki. Being away from the hustle and bustle of the main strip is a plus, but being just a short walk from that action, is also a plus. The rooms are clean. There are some minor updates done to the rooms, but they are still very dated. Our bathroom this time had pink and green wall paper, a gold-colored flush knob on the toilet, yet other fixtures were chrome. So, the place needs some TLC and cohesiveness. The shower did not have much pressure, yet the tub still drained slowly. But, still we had an amazing view of the ocean, so who spends their time staring at the dated wallpaper anyway?

Last time I commented about how quiet my room was. This time, not so much. When our neighbors had their t.v. on, it sounded like it was coming from our room! Luckily, they turned it off by 10, and we did not hear any other sounds.

The guy that checked us in was friendly, helpful and had a smile on his face. Our maid the same. However, all other staff we came in contact with, barely made eye contact, or could produce a smile. No one was rude, yet very few were overly pleasant.

Again, we faced homeless people in the park. This time, two begged for money. But, we never felt threatened.

On, July 4th, they ran out of beach towels... minor inconvenience.

Ate at the hotel's Miyako restaurant...again, fantastic food and service. Yet, the place still looks like a cheap Chinese Restaurant off of the interstate, (albeit, with a beautiful view of the ocean),

The thing that got me the most this time, was when I started comparing prices. We had Mai-Tai's at the hotel's bar. $11.00 per drink! That's right, $11.00!!! Yet, when we had Mai-Tai's at Dukes Canoe Club, they were $7.50. At Hula's $5.00!

We bought a 750ML bottle of Sky Vodka at an ABC store...it was $17.95. However, at the hotel's convenience store, this same 750ML bottle was $22.95! One banana, they sold for .79cents. One banana!

So, it seems the hotel is taking advantage of the fact that you are so far from other facilities, so they gouge you on their prices...because they know it is a 10 minute walk for you to buy elsewhere. While this may be the capitalist way, because there is no near competition, it seems wrong to gouge your customers choosing to stay in your hotel. I met a local, who referred to the hotel's convenience store as "shopping at Tiffany's" because their prices are so inflated!

Anyway, after 5 trips to Honolulu and looking for a hotel with an ocean view room.... this is still the best hotel I can find at this price range. Unless research or suggestions come up with other viable alternatives, I will return again to this hotel upon my next trip.

Tip for next trip: Avoid the convenience store, and make a trip to Safeway to stock up on toiletries, snacks and drinks. Do not patronize the hotel bar, as their prices are inflated. Forget about the appearance of the room and homeless people, and focus on the beauty of the ocean! So, the front desk does not make eye contact, or smile...as long as they are not rude...who cares...you are in Hawaii afterall!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    245
    68
    39
    14
See reviews for
84
316
46
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The New Otani Kaimana is a great hotel in a great spot with reasonable rates in an otherwise expensive city. It's just a short walk to the strip in Waikiki but far enough away that you don't feel like you're in the city. The hotel is an older building that's been renovated so the rooms are a little small but they're clean and comfortable with great built in storage and spacious lanais. It's not a luxury property but it's got a boutique atmosphere with nice amenities and who needs a pool with the beach just out your door? The restaurant and lounge serve great food and drinks, we were able to sit in the lounge and order from the full restaurant menu. Kaimana (Sans souci) beach is right out front and it's a lovely beach; small and off the beaten path, it attracts both tourists and locals who go out for morning and evening swims. The hotel provides complimentary beach mats and towels and the Friday night fireworks display in Honolulu is spectacular viewed from the beach. There's a laundry facility on-site, the building boasts two fast elevators and the staff are friendly and responsive. Parking is valet only, there is metered parking across the street at the park but we opted for the convenient valet at $20/day which is actually a good deal on the island. The stroll down the beach walk along the water to Waikiki passes by one of the local parks, a beautifully kept park where locals barbecue and sunbathe. Other reviewers mentioned homeless people in the park and there is a small contingent of them but we always felt comfortable. I'd be cautious walking through most any park at night and this was no exception, however, walking by the park on either the beach or street side at all hours felt safe, with lots of people always out and about and walking around too. The New Otani Kaimana is close to Diamond Head and easy to navigate to other destinations on the same side of the island. Overall, the hotel is a great deal, especially if you book in advance, we'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Book in advance for good deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed here in December for our wedding and absolutely loved it. The beach out the front is nice and quiet compared to the busier Waikiki options which are just a short walk away if you really want it.. Great garden restaurant. Our suite gave us both ocean, city and mountain views.

Would love to go back to Oahu and would have no problems staying at the New Otani again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Great location for our needs. Walking distance to all of Waikiki. Kaimana Beach was very nice....not as crowded as Waikiki. Nice public park adjacent to hotel.
Some rooms are in dire need of updating. Oceanview rooms were nicely appointed but rooms on the other side were definitely not! We were with a large group & everyone paid the same room rate....

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon. Fantastic quiet location off the strip but still a ten minute walk to everything. The hotel is beachfront and has gorgeous views of diamond head. Great staff, clean rooms. The only negative I could think of is that the decor is outdated, but we didn't spend our time in the room. The restaurant Miyako was astounding and the service was impeccable. If you stay at the hotel, make sure you go to the Japanese restaurant and get the prix fixe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is a very good choice for a hotel near Waikiki, but away from the congestion, and near Diamond Head. We were just a few stories up, with palm trees at the window, with a Waikiki view. We were pleased. You can walk past the adjacent park into Waikiki for dinner, shopping, etc. There is another very large park across the road from the hotel. It's all actually more lovely than I expected.

With that said, some cons are as follows. The hotel needs renovation, which I think is now underway. Our room was comfortable enough, but needed updating. The bathroom toilet had a slatted door, ok but not necessarily private. (Housekeeping was good, though, with a tiny orchid placed on each pillow for turn-down service.) There is a lounge and restaurant adjacent to the lobby; the restaurant is ocean-front. We considered eating there once but turned away due to the extremely loud live music there--just way too much.

More pros: The concierge and those at the lobby desk were helpful. Valet parking is expensive, but valets were quick and helpful. There are two washing machines and two dryers on ground level outside the hotel, which is a great idea if you want to pack lightly and wash clothes on your own. There is a store there also that sells very high quality beachwear. There is also a hair salon.

If you want to find an inexpensive and local place to eat, try driving down Monsarrat Avenue. There are several sandwich places there, as well as a Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf. Bogart's eatery--very casual and hip--has breakfast and lunch selections. If you need a walk-in haircut (for male and female), try Paul's Professional Barber, on Monsarrat Ave., also.

I would recommend. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the kind of room and view you'd like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

This hotel is looked on the other side of the park that boarders Waikiki. The noise and tourist craziness of Waikiki is left behind, yet all is within walking distance. The service was great and the staff very friendly. We paid for a Diamond Head view room which includes a view of the parking lot...hmmm. Wouldn't bother to do that again. We had friends in a "moderate" room. Their balcony overlooked the park and their room was larger than ours. We'd definitely choose that room instead. Our room also had slow drains in the sink and tub. One downside to the hotel is the parking is valet only to the tune of $20 a night.

Room Tip: Reserve a "moderate" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.