We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is the champion!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Champion Malasadas

Champion Malasadas
1926 S Beretania St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96826-1308
808-947-8778
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #616 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Restaurant details
Hughesville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Is the champion!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Lived there for many years and always went to Leonard's - store front or convenient truck in a Pearl City. When visiting after moving, always went to Leonard's until a friend recommended Champions. Champions is a lighter crust, no crazy tourist line, always hot (like Leonard's too) and has a breakfast plate that I wish we would have tried. The only thing Leonard's had over Champions is the cinnamon and sugar version.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Malasadas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have never had a Malasada until I started reading about from other travelers. I decided to give it a try. We got there as they were closing the door, the lady decided to open the door just a bit for us. Well, more people came by and very soon the place was crowded. Of course I bought one of each flavor.They were really good. I do not know what other places taste like but I am sold for this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Malasadas without the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Small unpretentious shop which serves great addictive malasadas but unlike the famous Leonards there is no long queue !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good plain ones...filling variety tasted a bit fake.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The plain malasadas are really really good. Not too greasy. The custard filled and the chocolate filled were not that great. They tasted artificial. The chocolate didn't taste like natural chocolate. They probably use a pre-made powder pudding or something. I wouldn't get the filled ones again. Surprisingly, this fried dough didn't give me a stomach ache as some do. That must be a good sign. I gave it three stars because I ordered the filled ones and only tasted my husband's plain one. I wish I would have ordered those.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The best Malasadas in Oahu (way better than Leonard's Bakery)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This place is much better than Leonard's Bakery and there is no tourist line. The locals are happy to come here because it tastes so much better. I came here last month and came back a few time before leaving. The staff are very nice and they will talk to you.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champion Malasadas also viewed

 
Sunset Beach, Oahu
 

Been to Champion Malasadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champion Malasadas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.