We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Dirty Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3253 North Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #65 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Dirty Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The location is perfect for a quick get away, especially for us since we have booked for tours that picks us up early and drops us off late so technically, we just sleep in the hotel. The beds were very comfortable and we had an early check in thank you to the nice front desk agent who greeted us happy anniversary too.. However, the bath mats were dirty, you could see shoe marks there from previous guests, the shower curtains were moldy and there was a spot in there that i would rather not say what i think it is, the bath tub were painted white and there was a very prominent broken tiles. The bathroom is were you try to freshen up and clean your self, if you see the bathroom is dirty it doesnt feel right at all. The tv/microwave area needs dusting as when i opened the cabinet, there were dust all over.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha icyorange,

Thank you for your most recent stay at the Best Western the Plaza Hotel. Both the staff and maangement are appreciative of your choice to stay with us.

We would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with our bathrooms. This is not the standard we set here at the hotel and the issue has been addressed to ensure this does not occur again.

As you mentioned, we have a great location and staff to assist our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    169
    168
    77
    60
See reviews for
145
178
60
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

convenient to the airport. room was well kept with fridge and microwave. easy airport shuttle the restaurant was closed for that day but they offered a shuttle to their sister hotel's restaurant it wasnt noisy. we stayed on the 11th floor and were able to see airport

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel isn't bad or good. It's away from downtown and doesn't really have anything to do around the hotel. It's decent if you are working on joint base Pearl Harbor Hickam since the drive time is short and you don't have to worry to much about traffic. One good thing is that they allow pets. Down side is that your next to the highway and I could hear the traffic from my room. I do like hotels that provide free internet which this one did. The continental breakfast was ok, you get what you pay for

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I realize this is Honolulu, and there are military families going in & out of here all the time, but...some paint would go a long way in keeping up this place. I was appalled at all the rust in the shower/tub area--it obviously has been there for a long time, and the fixtures need to be replaced. The painted-over wallpaper was bubbling all around the room; the doors to the hallway and to the bathroom did not fit well (especially the bathroom door); let's just say that the entire area was SO tired. We paid plenty for this room, plus an additional $25 to park, and I would call this a ripoff. Would we ever stay there again? No way. We chose this due to its proximity to the airport, as it was a one-night layover. We have stayed in many Best Westerns over the years, and this was the worst. I will say, however, that the staff was pleasant to us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Aloha PSmama,

Thank you for selecting the Best Western the Plaza Hotel. After reading your review, I would like to extend our sincere apologies we were not able to meet your expectations.

The description and pictures you posted of the bathroom is not the standard we set here at the hotel and so we would like to apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. We are looking to renovate our facilities and so look forward to you reconsidering us in the future.

Thank you for your patronage and for your review.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We picked this hotel thinking it was close to the airport and we'd be better off catching our plane from there rather than Waikiki. It was badly placed in the opposite direction of the airport: We wound up going out of our way instead. Geared for cost and/or location to airport we found it not to be as clean as it might have been and we got a little bit of the cold shoulder treatment for some reason.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We ended up at this hotel due to us needing a last minute place to stay. In Hawaii you have only two choices it seems, expensive resort or dive. There are no hotels along the highways as there are on the mainland, due diligence is required for picking a place to stay in Honolulu. Anyway, we drove back to the airport to stay at this hotel because another hotel we chose in Waikiki turned out to be one of the dives I spoke of. This hotel was clean, location was great for basing out of and it was reasonable considering Hawaii hotel prices. We used AAA discount and the room was $109 plus taxes. Parking was $25 a day, self park, in and out privileges. In Waikiki beach, parking at the hotels cost $30 a day, valet only. This hotel is noisy due to the road, but it turns in to white noise after a while. It had a microwave and small fridge. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, it is outdated somewhat, but clean. One tip is to eat before you get near the airport. There was only a BBQ place open near the hotel when we finally checked in and I cannot recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Older, drab, hotel near the airport. If you are there because your airplane was pouting and you needed somewhere close for the night I guess it works since that is why we were there. If you need an intermediate to long-term work place near the airport, it must work since that demographic seemed to be well-represented. But, if you are thinking this is a great place for a vacation and think hanging out at the pool all day is the way to go; then you are in the wrong place. Get away from the freeway. Go to the beach hotel, or better yet an out-island.

The room was clean, the water was hot, and the carpet was new. The furniture was the standard motel formica. The only real problem was the thermostat just seemed to be soething that hung on the wall and had no bearing on the room temperature. Would have been great if there were real blankets on the bed but it was cold without them.

Worst of all Byron's Drive-in is gone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel

Address: 3253 North Nimitz Highway, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Honolulu
BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.